Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 02-19-2009, 03:44 PM
  #4471  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quality gear, I use an ERG-VZ for throttle on my nitro car and it's the best servo I've ever had. Overkill for EP though

Looks like I've got a big day of building ahead of me, a spare set of shocks just landed along with an LRP SPX Stock Spec and Novak 10.5. The receiver wire on the SPX is about a mile long, this simply wont work!
CraigM is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 04:09 PM
  #4472  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
bigkoitat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 6 (88%+)
Default

I run the 94758Z Servo in both my cars, VERY FAST!!! I like it but others that have drove my cars say it's too twitchy, but it's not there car
bigkoitat is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:11 PM
  #4473  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Ball diff in a 416 front end?

Is anyone using a ball diff in front on their 416?
Liquidlogic is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:59 PM
  #4474  
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

Originally Posted by nilsmedson View Post
Do any of you guys know (for a fact) which Sanwa/Airtronics servo that Marc Rhienard is using in his 416WE car?

Sanwa erg wg and some times rz
Just out of curiosity, how did you come about this information?
Moreover, do you know what the Airtronics model number equivalent would be?

Thanks, Chris
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:47 PM
  #4475  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

We were posting pics a few pages back, here's my 416 without the lid and with new electronics in. I just need to black out the wires and mount the tx now


CraigM is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:14 PM
  #4476  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Why no heatsink on the SPX? I have a very similar setup - TRF416, SMC 5000 Lipo, offset tray, LRP SPX Stock Spec and LRP 10.5 Stock Spec, but I just ditched all of my Novak stuff for LRP.

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
We were posting pics a few pages back, here's my 416 without the lid and with new electronics in. I just need to black out the wires and mount the tx now


miccal is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:51 PM
  #4477  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by miccal View Post
Why no heatsink on the SPX? I have a very similar setup - TRF416, SMC 5000 Lipo, offset tray, LRP SPX Stock Spec and LRP 10.5 Stock Spec, but I just ditched all of my Novak stuff for LRP.
I doubt it will be needed for 10.5, I might put it on just to add a bit more weight on that side which is way light now I've ditched the LRP motor fan and TC spec speedo with fan. I've got the 10.5 stock spec too but I've been told the novak is by far the best. Nothing wrong with the LRP though.

oh and err, I've ordered the blue ring for the novak motor
CraigM is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:59 AM
  #4478  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I doubt it will be needed for 10.5, I might put it on just to add a bit more weight on that side which is way light now I've ditched the LRP motor fan and TC spec speedo with fan. I've got the 10.5 stock spec too but I've been told the novak is by far the best. Nothing wrong with the LRP though.

oh and err, I've ordered the blue ring for the novak motor
have you tried opening up an LRP based esc to shorten the wires? curious to see how easy/hard it is to do so i can shorten the wires without having a crimping tool.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:05 AM
  #4479  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,556
Default

Why do you need to offsets the Lipo pack outwards?
dameetz is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:42 AM
  #4480  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
We were posting pics a few pages back, here's my 416 without the lid and with new electronics in. I just need to black out the wires and mount the tx now


I miss 10.5 .
Just a friendly word of precaution.
You need to tuck in that sensor lead. Its going to get yoinked!
That wouldn't be a good thing either, trust me!

The battery is offset like that to balance the chassis out . When its in the regular spot it takes more weight to ballence. Personally I like mine in the correct spot. They are also slowing down the polar moment. The Thunder Power 5000mah 40 c pack fits right in there. I perfer to keep my electronics protected instead of hanging the battery and wires out where they can get dammaged.
John St.Amant is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 07:56 AM
  #4481  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to give an update, I have been fighting an off power oversteering problem since I got this car. I tried all kinds of setup changes, springs, camber, ride height, swaybars, weight position, nothing seemed to help. The other day while messing with the settings on my esc I noticed the drag brake was up kinda high. I turned the drag brake down and all the oversteering problems went away. So I doubt anybody else is as bad as I am, but I thought I would put it out there as I saw a few other guys were having that same oversteer problem as me.
JCarr is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 08:51 AM
  #4482  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JCarr View Post
Just wanted to give an update, I have been fighting an off power oversteering problem since I got this car. I tried all kinds of setup changes, springs, camber, ride height, swaybars, weight position, nothing seemed to help. The other day while messing with the settings on my esc I noticed the drag brake was up kinda high. I turned the drag brake down and all the oversteering problems went away. So I doubt anybody else is as bad as I am, but I thought I would put it out there as I saw a few other guys were having that same oversteer problem as me.
Your not alone Bro...
John St.Amant is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 09:51 AM
  #4483  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
have you tried opening up an LRP based esc to shorten the wires? curious to see how easy/hard it is to do so i can shorten the wires without having a crimping tool.
It's one of the easier ones to do actually. Luckily the circuit board is 2 pieces, an upper and lower piece that just plug together, the wires are on the lower half so you can just unplug it and solder onto it without anything in the way.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:10 AM
  #4484  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy Caster View Post
It's one of the easier ones to do actually. Luckily the circuit board is 2 pieces, an upper and lower piece that just plug together, the wires are on the lower half so you can just unplug it and solder onto it without anything in the way.
sweet. thanks dude. now i dont have to buy a crimping tool.

now i wonder if the KO BMC is just as easy.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 02:08 PM
  #4485  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

The offset lipo tray helps with weight balance. I have the offset lipo tray and use SMC 5000 Lipos, Futaba s9551 servo, Futaba R303FHS synthesized FM receiver, SPX stock spec, LRP 10.5 stock spec with the big LRP fan, and my transponder mounted above the servo and my car has perfect left/right balance and weighs exactly 1500 g with no extra weight.

Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Why do you need to offsets the Lipo pack outwards?
Originally Posted by John St.Amant View Post

The battery is offset like that to balance the chassis out .
miccal is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.