Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 12-10-2008, 03:51 PM
  #3631  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KoE View Post
ain't that always right love tamiya marketing strategies!!!
All the top companies are like that. They have to do it to stay competitive. For companies (like Kyosho) that don't release a new car every year, their team drivers run custom prototypes...
94eg! is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:21 PM
  #3632  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

The attachments below are the standard setups for the TRF416 and the TRF416WE straight from the manuals, I thought I would share them.

Last edited by miccal; 06-09-2014 at 05:16 PM.
miccal is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:55 PM
  #3633  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Just about to complete the build of my new 416WE. Switching to it from my TC5R which I ran for 1 season.

Only one minor issue so far, binding suspension arms but nothing that some sanding can't fix.

Apart from that the quality of the kit has improved a great deal since I last built a high end Tamiya kit (original 415). There is virtually no slop in the steering which is nice.
itchynads is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:04 PM
  #3634  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

dumb question but does the 416 share the same body post hole arrangement as the 415/05MS/EVO/etc ??? thx

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:17 PM
  #3635  
Tech Regular
 
HI_808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 359
Default

Yes, they have the same mounting holes. I sometimes switch the bodies on my TRF416 and my TA05MS.
HI_808 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:14 PM
  #3636  
Tech Regular
 
quantum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 380
Default

tamiya parts, hard to get in america??? but... don't they have a major distribution center/warehouse? and with an extensive web site?
something doesn't sound right!

speedtechrc.com
ampdraw
ultimate hobbies

aren't these good sources?
quantum is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:21 PM
  #3637  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by quantum View Post
tamiya parts, hard to get in america??? but... don't they have a major distribution center/warehouse? and with an extensive web site?
something doesn't sound right!

speedtechrc.com
ampdraw
ultimate hobbies

aren't these good sources?
You you are right. I hate it when people say stuff like parts are hard to get just because you can't walk into any hobbyshop and walk out with what they need. Truth is if there is a US distributor for that brand you can get parts on the way to you that very day. They are just a phone call or web order away.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:36 PM
  #3638  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,531
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AdrianM View Post
You you are right. I hate it when people say stuff like parts are hard to get just because you can't walk into any hobbyshop and walk out with what they need. Truth is if there is a US distributor for that brand you can get parts on the way to you that very day. They are just a phone call or web order away.
You are very wrong on this one bro............
STLNLST is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:45 PM
  #3639  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
You are very wrong on this one bro............
Well, maybe Yokomo Race Sedan stuff is hard to get...lol
...but Tamiya? I have buds with 416's and they can guet stuff no problem. Usually direct from Tam USA.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:50 PM
  #3640  
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Originally Posted by AdrianM View Post
Well, maybe Yokomo Race Sedan stuff is hard to get...lol
...but Tamiya? I have buds with 416's and they can guet stuff no problem. Usually direct from Tam USA.
It's very expensive from TamiyaUSA. :-(

Those other shops are okay, but I've not once managed to get everything I need from one place. In contrast, RCMarket, RCMart, eTamiya and many others nearly always have all the parts I need, including many of the aftermarket parts. It's a bit more for shipping, though, and can take a lot longer depending on how things go in customs. Plus, needing to sign for my packages during work hours usually means I end up going to the post office to pick up my stuff.

It's not an impossible situation, but it is unfortunate. You'd think, with the growing popularity of rubber tire racing in the US, more hobby shops would stock parts for the popular kits, especially one like the 416 which has basically won every single major race in the last year, including, oh, the worlds.
Adam? is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:19 PM
  #3641  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,531
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AdrianM View Post
Well, maybe Yokomo Race Sedan stuff is hard to get...lol
...but Tamiya? I have buds with 416's and they can guet stuff no problem. Usually direct from Tam USA.
Tamiya is no problem. I was refering to HB USA.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 01:19 AM
  #3642  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 279
Default

About to order the 416WE kit.

Which few additional susp blocks shall I order with the kit? Knowing the kit come with 1C/1C & XA/1F. Planning to order 1E to replace the 1F for the rear.

Kindly advised if its is necessary to buy the extras 1D/1D for the front & 1XB/1D for the rear.

TKS.
MIKA is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:15 AM
  #3643  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MIKA View Post
Kindly advised if its is necessary to buy the extras 1D/1D for the front & 1XB/1D for the rear
Not if you're running on asphalt. I haven't changed my car from C/C XA/E since I put these blocks on, and I've got them all... money well spent
CraigM is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:42 AM
  #3644  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Team Driver also 1A 1A or 1B 1B
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:23 PM
  #3645  
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

I've been struggling a bit (13.5, rubber tire, carpet) with a spool and one-way being too aggressive (for different reasons) and a diff being too soft out of the turns. I decided to try a spool with a center one-way, and it felt really good. Kind of like a very mild one-way... or a very mild spool. Hard to explain really.

So, is this configuration unheard of? I never really quite understood the point of a center one-way to begin with, but figured I'd pick one up to see how it felt with a diff. I was surprised it felt any different than a regular one-way (when combined with a spool) to be honest, but it definitely did.
Adam? is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.