Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 03-24-2008, 11:47 AM
  #1726  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Did Tamiya finally release proper toe blocks for the 416, or are we still using 415 blocks? I thought I saw some new ones at RC MARKET.

Where's the spool? I've got some outdoor racing to do!
syndr0me is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 02:53 PM
  #1727  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Did Tamiya finally release proper toe blocks for the 416, or are we still using 415 blocks? I thought I saw some new ones at RC MARKET.

Where's the spool? I've got some outdoor racing to do!
The TRF416 Spool , will later release !
can't in APR onsale !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:19 PM
  #1728  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

wow, just - 10 to -40 exponential...
im running -90to -100 all the times!! sometimes i play with dual rate to about 75% but thats it. i totally like the car on straights having -90% exp. makes it really smooth and controllable... try it out sometimes, you think you have less steering but try the back straight now!
Markiempje is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:13 PM
  #1729  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Fastforward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO (USA)
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default handling

I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
Fastforward is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:39 PM
  #1730  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
CanyonCarverR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,338
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

JimmyMac, Can I get a little info on those metal peices that fit down in the battery slots?
What are they made of, lead, stainless?
Where did you get them?
I've been looking for some 3mm lead to do something similar to what you did.
Thx,
Greg
CanyonCarverR1 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:43 PM
  #1731  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CanyonCarverR1 View Post
JimmyMac, Can I get a little info on those metal peices that fit down in the battery slots?
What are they made of, lead, stainless?
Where did you get them?
I've been looking for some 3mm lead to do something similar to what you did.
Thx,
Greg
Well the base plate is stainless steel. It is made by Verndog on these forums. Look up his thread PPD something something. Or visit his website at http://www.ppdbillet.com/RC_accessories.html

The layer on top of the stainless plate is lead. It is from this guy. http://www.teamfusionracing.blogspot.com/
I'm using the #4 piece in the picture above. It is stuck together with carpet tape that I got from Target. Works great. I just ordered another PPD stainless plate to toss on my #2 lead weight. Gonna see which one gives me better balance.

Hope those links help out for whatever project you have going.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:53 AM
  #1732  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 10
Default

Is the problem on high speed corners???
If so remember - the car body is an important tuning tool
Move the body slightly forward will increase high speed stearing also trimming a little ( 1mm increments) off the rear of the wing and moving it forward also helps with high speed on power stearing....

Just a few thoughts - use it or lose it
Because-I-Can is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:45 AM
  #1733  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,379
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Markiempje View Post
wow, just - 10 to -40 exponential...
im running -90to -100 all the times!! sometimes i play with dual rate to about 75% but thats it. i totally like the car on straights having -90% exp. makes it really smooth and controllable... try it out sometimes, you think you have less steering but try the back straight now!
That sounds way too much too me. I tend to play between -10 - 20% on my Esprit3.
I tend to be able to feel when I'm running too much expo, as I much prefer a linear feel to how the steering works, than having the "nothing, nothing, lots" feel that a large amount of expo gives.
One other thing I don't like about running lots of expo is that you can't get the response back in the front end, which makes quick switchbacks difficult to drive.

Still each to their own, as long as it works well for you

Cheers
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:51 AM
  #1734  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,379
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
A few things to try, in order of what I would try first.

2mm under the outer rear link
inner most hole on the inner camber link (make the link as long as possible)
Harder front roll bar
Softer rear roll bar
lay rear shock in one hole
More rear toe in
Softer rear shock oil
less rear axle spacers

HiH
Ed

Last edited by TryHard; 03-27-2008 at 08:05 AM.
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 05:44 AM
  #1735  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
You're off power and it oversteers. Assuming mechanically everything is fine with your car, the rear becoming loose is due to the weight loading the front end which makes the front end roll causing the front tires to grip more than the rear tires. This means the front end is soft. One at a time, try moving front upper shock mount out one hole, raise the front roll center by adding a shim under the blocks or try a little heavier oil up front to keep the car from rolling too much off power.

Or you can change your driving style. I don't know where the chicane is located or how big a chicane it is, but you shouldn't be off power going through the chicane. You should decelerate in a straight line before the chicane and then power through the chicane.
Stugots is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:06 AM
  #1736  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Does Tamiya plan to release all the different toe blocks for the 416, or should I plan on picking up the 415 style and just using those? It seems like quite a while to wait for something so critical.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:58 AM
  #1737  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,379
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Does Tamiya plan to release all the different toe blocks for the 416, or should I plan on picking up the 415 style and just using those? It seems like quite a while to wait for something so critical.
To be honest, the only one you really seem to need is a D, as that is easily flipable. Oherwise the 415 ones work fine

It does seem like you can sporadicly pick up the 416 blocks. I have some on back order with RC Market at the moment, should be back in, in a few weeks.

It is a bit odd though, as you would have thought that they would bring them out sooner, but oh well
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:18 PM
  #1738  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
To be honest, the only one you really seem to need is a D, as that is easily flipable. Oherwise the 415 ones work fine

It does seem like you can sporadicly pick up the 416 blocks. I have some on back order with RC Market at the moment, should be back in, in a few weeks.

It is a bit odd though, as you would have thought that they would bring them out sooner, but oh well
What is your Order no. ?
please pm with me !
we not have this item back order !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:55 PM
  #1739  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,379
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
What is your Order no. ?
please pm with me !
we not have this item back order !
YGPM
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:30 PM
  #1740  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
YGPM
U too !
RC MARKET is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.