Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 03-11-2008, 04:12 PM
  #1621  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,378
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey all,

Just a short one from me, really busy at the moment, and after a not too succesful weekend (not the car) not really feeling like writing much

Anyway, ran the car in stock the past weekend, and used the previous setup posted, but with a spool in the front and D/C. Worked really well, loads of steering. Car worked well, but for some reason didn't seem to be carrying the corner speed as before... whether thats down to tyres (was using Vtec27's rather than 30's), or the spool scrubbing speed, who knows... could even be simply that I have been driving much faster motors recently...

Actually car was strongest in sections of the track where quick direction change was required, so that was one positive.

Finished 3rd in the B, after racing through from 7th based on my 1st rd time. Had real problems with other drivers this weekend, some cars just not letting the faster driver through, had 3 qualifies ruined because of the that.
Still, thats the last time I ever use a brushed motor in competition, and the last time I run NiMh till the summer...

Back to 10.5 for this weekend, have a few things to try out, but at the moment, I'm very happy with how the cars going. Had a few people try it this weekend, and amusing one said it was tail happy, the other said it was understeery.... and they tried it one after the other, so shows the differences in driving styles thats out there. I personally think it's spot on for me at the moment

Cheers
Ed
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X-carpet-wars-rd6.jpg  

Last edited by TryHard; 03-11-2008 at 04:37 PM.
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 05:15 PM
  #1622  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

ed,
why the 5+mm ride height, you are running stock and with roll bars on not that soft springs, im used to 4 to 4.5 on asphalt running 15 lb springs without barrs...


mark
Markiempje is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:28 PM
  #1623  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Hello Ed

I see you have a 1 mm suspension spacer on the front rear suspension mount, did you have to remove some material from the suspension mount so that the front pulley doesn't touch it? I am running the one-way and currently have 0.5 mm spacer on the front rear suspension mount, and the front pulley is almost touching the mount.
miccal is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 03:48 AM
  #1624  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,378
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

haven't removed any material from the C-Block, put I probably should. I did check it on the car, and whilst it was tight (<0.5mm clearance ), the pulley didn't touch at any point. Probably worth just taking a dremel to it in any case, just to be sure.

As for the ride height, 5mm is the minimum we could run at the event (helps prevent tearing the carpet), and as I always like to use a bit of rake in the chassis, hence the 5 and 5.5 heights.

Cheers
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 05:31 AM
  #1625  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

We also 4.5 & 5mm
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:53 AM
  #1626  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Am I read this right? The axle on 416 upright (1050bearing) is lowered 0.5mm compared with usual LWT upright (950bearing)? makes the axle height the same with MRE H0 upright (which is 0.5mm lowered compare with usual LWT)? or the lowered amont on front/rear is different??


Does lower axle causing a noticable effect on mech traction?
ttso is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:24 AM
  #1627  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

TRF running 1,2,3, at ETS

http://ets.redrc.net/
Island Losi is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 03:49 PM
  #1628  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 146
Default

Hi, Does anybody have the part number for the servo saver Jilles is using in this picture??? Not sure if its Tamiya one?

Thanks

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X-hr_jillesgroskamptrf416.jpg
Bryan D is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:38 PM
  #1629  
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Anyone have the short arms in stock, made a big order of shiny stuff recently, but they havent got the short arms in stock, tried rcmodel and rcmarket with no luck.

Any help would be appricated.
steveonamission is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:56 PM
  #1630  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 5,378
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Island Losi View Post
TRF running 1,2,3, at ETS

http://ets.redrc.net/
Awesome....

Looks like Jilles is running a setup not far off his DHI one... from what can be told in that pic. Can't quite tell if he's running parallel front arms or not.

From the pics over on redrc, looks like Viktor is running a similar one to his DHI too (No roll bars, less droop)...

Still 1,2,3 ain't a bad way too be

Oh, and the servo saver I belive is a hybrid part, I think RC Market have them in stock.

HiH
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 06:50 PM
  #1631  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Servo saver could be Hybrid, Square, or Speed. Only problem is I can't find anyone with them in stock!! I do run the Hybrid 2 piece aluminum one. But it has too much slop. So I just run the aluminum arm part with the plastic servo spindle part. But not as good as one made to be run with the plastic spindle part...
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:17 AM
  #1632  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

I have the hybrid one too, but it binds with the metal rings from the servo saver. This causes the car to tweak if you hit something or even take a hard turn...

The car came more responsive, but I'll have to figure something out... maybe the anodizing made it a bit too snug...
redbones is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 03:11 AM
  #1633  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 159
Default

[QUOTE=Bryan D;4264358]Hi, Does anybody have the part number for the servo saver Jilles is using in this picture??? Not sure if its Tamiya one?



The servo saver is from square: http://www.racingfactory.fi/shop2/ca...ils.php?p=1759

Also the wheel nuts comes from yokomo, highly recommended when using a spool.
Mr_Orange is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 04:10 AM
  #1634  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 146
Default

Thanks For all your help guys.
Bryan D is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 05:56 AM
  #1635  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by steveonamission View Post
Anyone have the short arms in stock, made a big order of shiny stuff recently, but they havent got the short arms in stock, tried rcmodel and rcmarket with no luck.

Any help would be appricated.
maybe weekend back in stock
RC MARKET is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.