R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2007, 11:07 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default Stealth antenna

Anybody tried it before?
http://www.abchobby.com/productpage/stealthantenna.html
Could somebody tell me if it fits in spektrum receiver?
And easy to install?
Thanks!
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:14 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Why would you need one of those when you can already make a spektrum antenna short enough not to protrude the body now? I only have one car where it even sticks out of the body and I could have made it stay under but it is only about an inch or two high anyhow.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:42 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
Why would you need one of those when you can already make a spektrum antenna short enough not to protrude the body now? I only have one car where it even sticks out of the body and I could have made it stay under but it is only about an inch or two high anyhow.
Oh my bad I almost forgot it, but could somebody instruct me how do you prefer to hide your antennas to be visually sharper in the car, please?
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:27 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac853 View Post
Oh my bad I almost forgot it, but could somebody instruct me how do you prefer to hide your antennas to be visually sharper in the car, please?
check this old thread.....http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=143312
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 06:00 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rampal View Post
Thanks for you, i didn't notice this thread before.
But how about 3001, as i saw most of them with shorter wire are 3500.
Could anybody show how to put more convenient antenna tube with my
3001, please.
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:15 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

You can cut the 3500 down to the same length as the 3100. Search the forums for spektrum antenna length or something. I have cut every big spektrum I ever had and not once had a problem.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:27 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
You can cut the 3500 down to the same length as the 3100. Search the forums for spektrum antenna length or something. I have cut every big spektrum I ever had and not once had a problem.
Thanks anyway!
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 08:18 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Mac, check this picture:

this is a pro receiver.... just coil it up around and you're ready to go... I just took the precaution to keep the most antenna lenght on vertical, there is around 5mm between the antenna tip and the body....
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 09:10 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I sell these also ...
http://www.teambrood.com/catalog/pro...roducts_id=883

They are very easy to install, plus they also work great with full length AM/FM antenna wire.
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 09:44 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rampal View Post
Mac, check this picture:

this is a pro receiver.... just coil it up around and you're ready to go... I just took the precaution to keep the most antenna lenght on vertical, there is around 5mm between the antenna tip and the body....
Wow just 5mm between, maybe i will try to make on: lower deck, receiver cover or servo mount something like that, instead of upper due i am using low height body

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolas View Post
I sell these also ...
http://www.teambrood.com/catalog/pro...roducts_id=883

They are very easy to install, plus they also work great with full length AM/FM antenna wire.
Yes that i have post since the beginning, but the guys told me before not necessary to purchase it due spektrum is capable to cut wire to make an hidden antenna then i am not sure how much could be cut to still have enough range.
Well, thanks for reply.
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:47 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

perhaps this one then??

it's the same, just coil it up and keep something on vertical.... this one is an MSX antenna holder mounted on a setscrew over the servo mount....

cheers,
al
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:39 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

I just use the antenna wire full length put it in a regular antenna tube and don't make a hole in the body for it, just run it bent towards the back under the body, works great, I use futaba 2.4 but I did the same when I ran spektrum
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DX2 Antenna Serpent720 Radio and Electronics 12 12-17-2008 01:04 PM
can anyone hlp me mod my m11 antenna slowpokeRRR Electric Off-Road 4 01-16-2007 10:55 PM
JR R-1 antenna... need help please RK concept Nitro On-Road 3 06-14-2004 11:21 AM
JR R-1 antenna... need help please RK concept Electric On-Road 2 06-14-2004 06:52 AM
antenna for 3pk rc_square24 Electric On-Road 1 04-16-2004 07:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net