R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2007, 09:59 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Default help w/ novak esc

I am having trouble w/ glitching on my Novak brushless system. Mostly stuttering, hesitation. Sometimes weak braking, or glitchy steering. I have swapped all the radio gear: different transmitter, receiver, crystals, brand new battery pack in the car [Nimh 3300], new alkalines in transmitter, etc.
It does the same stuff with any combination of gear that I have tried.

I have sent this system in and exchanged it for a brand new upgrade and it does the same thing as the last one did.

My other cars run fine with the same radio gear, but when I put the Novak system in the vehicle it goes nuts. I ordered the combo from Novak and they have been really cool, but I can't make the thing work. Is there some trick to routing the wires or something that just makes mine not run??????? Must I use deans plugs, or shorten the wires, or paint myself blue and dance around the sacrificial bonfire?????

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!
swannco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 10:22 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swannco View Post
I am having trouble w/ glitching on my Novak brushless system. Mostly stuttering, hesitation. Sometimes weak braking, or glitchy steering. I have swapped all the radio gear: different transmitter, receiver, crystals, brand new battery pack in the car [Nimh 3300], new alkalines in transmitter, etc.
It does the same stuff with any combination of gear that I have tried.

I have sent this system in and exchanged it for a brand new upgrade and it does the same thing as the last one did.

My other cars run fine with the same radio gear, but when I put the Novak system in the vehicle it goes nuts. I ordered the combo from Novak and they have been really cool, but I can't make the thing work. Is there some trick to routing the wires or something that just makes mine not run??????? Must I use deans plugs, or shorten the wires, or paint myself blue and dance around the sacrificial bonfire?????

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If the system has been switched out with a new one and it works in your other cars then I'd look into the car it's glitching in. Are wire's rubbing somewhere, bad graphite (I've had that happen before) There's gotta be something small that you may be over looking. I hope you find it.....and find it soon.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:07 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Another factor could be which motor you're using, & which rotor it has in it. Some combos(even a 13.5 with the original bonded rotor) can put a SERIOUS amp draw on the system, & can put enough stress on the battery that it simply can't supply enough volts to keep the BEC running properly, which causes the glitching(it can especially happen with receivers that need alot of current, like the Spektrum 2.4GHz ones for example, & strong servos can also stress the BEC). Soemthing you might try is buying what we used to call a "Stutter Stopper", basically a capacitor that plugs directly into the reciever & takes power from the BEC & stores it, & when the voltage from the ESC drops, the capacitor discharges & keeps the voltage level up for a moment which keeps the receiver working properly. Spektrum, Novak & others now sell them, & you can get one for about $10 or so, don't know for sure it'll cure everything, but it should at least help. And if that doesn't work, then you might need to consider upgrading your batteries(maybe they just can't keep up with the current demands, but newer cell designs have lower resistance & can supply a LOT of current, as well as them having better voltage to boot)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:49 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Default

thanks for the ideas guys, i'll check. i have the 8.5 brushless w/ sintered rotor and i was wondering if there just wasn't enough juice with the battery to power it. i've checked all the wires for rubs or cracks and stuff, but don't see anything. i was wondering about shielding the wires or rerouting them???

I will ask at my LHS for a stutter stopper. where does it plug in? the only free spot on my JR receiver is for the battery. throttle and steering are used.

Not to sound dumb, but what is BEC?
swannco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:56 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Battery Eliminator Circuitry

do a search for " novak glitch buster " its a capacitor

tower has them

yes you plug it straight into any free channel or the battery slot of the reciever.

just make sure you dont plug it in the wrong way around as it can blow the capacitor and maybe even your reciever.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:58 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
more$thanbrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sooke BC Canada
Posts: 677
Send a message via MSN to more$thanbrains
Default

EDIT

he posted before me by 30 seconds /\
__________________
Xray~Titan~Ko Propo~Orion~Muchmore~Dekelz.com
T2 007 US/EU~CRC Gen-XL~MO3-Pro~NT1~Corally C10X
'73 Ford Bronco sittin on 36" swampers~ 10" lift
more$thanbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 12:04 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

check the transcap module... make sure its not dented or damaged.
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 05:22 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jsl6v8
Default

I know in my novak it mentions not putting well anything near the receiver and antena as they could cause electrical interference, so if you have your motor or ESC next to them that could possibly be your problem.
jsl6v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 11:37 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Default

i give up. i bought the novak glitch buster, no help though. i can't put the esc anywhere other than where it is. its really frustrating. there is only one place for the servo, rec, esc to go in my buggy or touring car due to space limitations. [iv'e tried this system in different cars that run fine with other motor/esc combos, and it just won't work right] i have routed the wires every way i can think of but it still glitches like hell.

i can only think of a few causes:
1. my brand new venom 3300 stick packs are all shit
-yes i bought some new ones just hoping it was a bad pack
-and they work fine in my other cars
2. my jr radio that came with this novak system [rtr losi] is not powerful enough
-then why did it come with the car and run ok for awhile
-why would the same radio/rec combo work on other cars ok
3. i'm an idiot and can't figure this out
-possible, unfortunately, but still....
4. novak brushless motors are shit
-if this is the case why are they the most acclaimed system out there and everybody except me loves them and have no problems
5. there is some secret joojoo way to route the wires that remains hidden from me
6. 3 different systems, in 3 different cars, have the same glitching problems, but only when a novak system is installed

ARRRGGGGHHHH.

i am about 2 shakes away from putting the whole system in the trash and just calling it a $300 waste of money. i've exchanged and upgraded this system 3 times and all i have to show is a nice new system that doesn't work and less money. bloody hell.
swannco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:05 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

There was a kid at the track a couple weeks ago that was having a bad glitching problem...it would work OK up close, but walk away and it would freak out and stop doing anything. It was a Spektrum/M11(pretty new)/GTB deal...we swapped out everything one at a time and nothing fixed it.

Bound my transmitter (beat-to-crap M8/Spektrum) to his car and it worked fine. It had a bad range problem for some reason...battery charged up...it was like new, but it didn't work right at all.

I'm not saying that's it, but it might be...

But hey...if you decide to dump it, toss it my way.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:18 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Have you talked to Charlie at Novak? That would be the first thing to try
You didnt buy the "spred spectrum" model did you? You mentioned crystals in your post and the spred spectrum model only works with 2.4 systems.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:32 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

have you tried replacing the transcap module?

had a similar situation before. couldn't tell though if its because i changed my radio system or the transcap module since i did everything in one go.

also, the motor might be dirty (especially the bearings). try cleaning those up as well.
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:23 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 264
Default

I've heard these problems before. It seems to be the esc is causing the problem. In Europe this is a known problem. This is the reason I bought myself a LRP brushless kit. Seems to have no interference problems at all. It may be caused by the frequence the novak kit is generating. That might influence your radio set.

Just a thought.

Last edited by Govert; 09-05-2007 at 03:41 AM.
Govert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:42 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

voodooph hit it on the head. If for some strange reason you remove things from your car after every race, eventually, one of the connections to the transcap module can break...be it from wear and tear, age or possibly heat (think of wires getting hot and eventually eroding away). This was happening to me. Not realizing why my car sputtered at low throttle, I chalked it up to an old solder joint. Upon close inspection, realizing that all joints were good, I looked to other paths of electric flow and voila, discovered that one of the "leads" that goes into the back of the transcap was broken! Simple fix, break out the 25 watt, lil bit of solder, tap tap, dry..cool then test. This should be the fix (if thats the problem.). If not, try the novak glitch buster..nothing but an additional cap that plugs into the aux in your rx...giving your car a "jolt" when needed.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:28 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

Email me a picture of your setup, we can fix it. I can fix anything....
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net