Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Novak Millenium charger questions >

Novak Millenium charger questions

Novak Millenium charger questions

Old 05-10-2003, 03:14 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default Novak Millenium charger questions

I want to get another charger for racing so I can get my packs charged faster. I would like to get the Novak Millenium because I know it's a good charger and I would be able to get lots of help if I had questions because so many people have it. There's one problem, it's only DC. And I don't want to buy a $120 power supply for it. Getting the Millenium and Black box combo looks like a good idea but I think this Black Box is only 4.5 amps. Is this right? If I had a 4.5 volt power supply would the maximum amperage I would be able to charge at be 4.5 amps? I need to charge my packs at more than 4.5 amps so thats my only problem. Thanks in advance!
racerdx6 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 03:36 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The blackbox can only go up to 4.5amps. You will need more than that to quickly charge your 3000-3300mah packs. Investing in a good power supply like a Rivergate will be a better choice. You will be able to use it for many other things than just powering your charger. Also, if you ever decide to upgrade your charger, buy a lathe or a truer, you already have a good power supply.
elnitro is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 03:40 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

I'll probably just look for someone selling a used power supply. Or just ask for a power supply and Millenium charger for christmas, but that's a long way from now . Thanks for the help!
racerdx6 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 05:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: modesto, CA (central valley)
Posts: 109
Default

Does any one know if there is any way I can use AC power for the millenium pro. I'm in the same situation as you. I really want a millenium but don't want to have to buy a power supply.
Smartazz07 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 05:04 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Default

no, the input voltage must be 12-14 volts for most DC chargers.

Charging at 4.5 amps will take you around 40-45 mins usually for a 3000
j0n0 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 05:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: modesto, CA (central valley)
Posts: 109
Default

Do you know if there will be a AC/DC millenium pro coming out any time soon. Or an AC/DC pulsar.
Smartazz07 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 08:14 PM
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default

Originally posted by Smartazz07
Do you know if there will be a AC/DC millenium pro coming out any time soon. Or an AC/DC pulsar.

Not that i heard of. Most of the chargers that are can do mor than just charger need a power supply. REEDY makes one it is about 179.00 And it is ac/dc. It can charge,discharge,and cycle.
R C king is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 10:45 PM
  #8  
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default Try this on for size...

http://www.magicookie.com/prodigy/psupply.htm
It werked fer my Millenium Pro! Instant 19 Amp power supply, and I FOUND the computer, lol.
dux is offline  
Old 05-11-2003, 11:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default millenium questions...

I am planning on buying an old ver. millenium charger, are all the versions capable of charging the new GP 3300Nimh packs? Also, what voltage drop setting do i use? Thanks
glide 1 is offline  
Old 05-11-2003, 02:10 PM
  #10  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well,as long as it's a version 1.20 then you'll be fine(not sure about a version 1.10). I have an original(version 1.20) Millenium, & for GP3300's I've been charging at 6 amps, in NiCd Linear mode, using a volltage threshold of 9mV per cell(for a 6 cell pack, of course), & it seems to work out just right, packs takes a good charge & comes off just a tick warmer than room temperature, ready to rock But if you're more worried about overcharging, you can go as low as a 5mV threshold & it'll work ok(I first began charging mine that way, since I wasn't sure what they could take, & later settled on a 9mV setting)....
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 05-11-2003, 02:27 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have one for sale if your interested its version 1.2, charges 3300gps as well as my pulsar.
Johnnytc3 is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 03:51 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Default

i prefer my pulsar over my millenium because i never have problems with it false peaking~
j0n0 is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:14 AM
  #13  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

i have a millenium question

you know how you can send it into novak and get a upgrade. does it make a diffrence??? what does it do???

if it doesnt really do anything i wont send it in
Calvin Ng is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:20 AM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

give them a call and they will tell you what to do , if you have ver 1.2 then dont even worry about it.
johnny
Johnnytc3 is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:42 AM
  #15  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

so you dont have to bring it in?


also is it a internal thing or a external thing?

Last edited by Calvin Ng; 05-23-2003 at 11:51 AM.
Calvin Ng is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.