R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2003, 12:55 PM   #31
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

do you k now how long they will last at 6.5 amps?
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 05:33 PM   #32
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

yeap on my millenium i have to set 6mv/cell (30mv/pack) bc sometimes it will fasle peak but my pulsar can peak it at 25mv/ pack

At 6.5 compared to 5 amps charging it will probably be with 20-30 secs runtime difference.
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 07:19 PM   #33
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

Duratrax makes a power supply for only like 60 or 70 bucks. I think it has a 7 amp output or something. Would this work for the Millenium pro? Could I charge at the 6 amps that I want to? One more thing, does the Millenium pro have a motor break in feature?
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 07:21 PM   #34
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

nope the millenium does not have a break in feature, you should be able to charge at 6 amps with that power supply i wouldnt push it over 6 though.
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 09:38 AM   #35
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I currently have a Novak Millenium v1.2 is it worth it to spend the extra dough to upgrade my charger to the millenium pro?

I do not need the Pit Wizard function of the charger...its just that I am wondering if it is actually a better charger as well.

Thanks!
Hammer0412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 09:38 AM   #36
MX5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 9
Default

On the original question just go to ebay search for "power supply". I've seen 12 amp supplies for 30 bucks shipped.
MX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 09:48 AM   #37
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
i didnt get it yet.
i just ordered one its comming

is there a risk screwing it up

what does the upgrade do

I don't even know what the heck you guys are talking about...the Millenium has been discontinued for over a year...

the Millenium PRO has the Mimh2 setting...you cant even set voltage threshhold on it......


calvin,don't worry..the upgraded versions have been out for a year......I have a version 2 and 3(bith purchased last year)..both are fine for GP 3300's....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 05:37 PM   #38
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

were talking about the pro
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 11:05 PM   #39
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Fastharry,

I've seen people use the "linear charge" setting on the 1.2v millenium (with threashold settings set to minimum) to charge the new GP3300 and they say it is ok (have doubts).
What i want to know is, what voltage threashold setting is recommended and if it really is ok for the packs....anyone?
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 12:16 AM   #40
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

For Nimh packs I think you want the voltage threshold setting as low as possible. Not sure about Nicd voltage threshold setting though......
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 12:22 AM   #41
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Devin
I punch my gp3300's @6.5V with 5mV or .030/6 cell pack. I get great results and peak them 5 minutes before the race and run them hot than cool after the race is over.
Novak's manual (Mill Pro) recommends that NiMH should not be repeaked after charging.
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 12:26 AM   #42
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racerdx6
For Nimh packs I think you want the voltage threshold setting as low as possible. Not sure about Nicd voltage threshold setting though......
Nicad threshold depends on your cell's characteristics... usually I run 15-18mV/cell for the older less-matched (haha) packs and 12-15mV for the newer packs in better condition.

Lower threshold voltage invites more chance of false-peaking, but that's the name of the game. Less drop = less overcharging = less damage but you want all 6 cells to have peaked too, not just 3.

I get less falsepeaks with "linear" vs "reverse pulse".
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 02:03 AM   #43
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just to help clear things up some, I do use an original Millenium(not a Pro) version 1.20, & I do use the Linear NiCd charge mode for my NiMh cells, including my packs of GP3300's. I've used everything from a 5mV per cell to a 9mV per cell threshold, & I've seen no problems that way(I've seen SMC actually recommend using a 9mV threshold, that's when I first tried it). The packs get just a bit warm, just like you'd want(not too hot & not cold) & they run just fine on track. What's also nice is that a 9mV threshold also works well for Sanyo 3000HV's(which I still have some packs of), so I don't have to change it over to do any of my NiMh packs....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 06:03 AM   #44
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
were talking about the pro

well,if we're talking about the PRO,how are you setting threshhold on a charger that doesn't use it...the only way is to use the STANDARD Ni cad settings to charge Nimh.....but that(even with the peak detection set right) is not as accurate as the NiMH2 settings that DON"T use voltage threshold to determine when the charge is done...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 06:06 AM   #45
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: Fastharry,

Quote:
Originally posted by glide 1
I've seen people use the "linear charge" setting on the 1.2v millenium (with threashold settings set to minimum) to charge the new GP3300 and they say it is ok (have doubts).
What i want to know is, what voltage threashold setting is recommended and if it really is ok for the packs....anyone?


are you talking about the PRO charger or the old one.....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TEAM NOVAK MILLENIUM PRO BATTERY CHARGER AND NOVAK BLACK BOX 4.5A POWER SUPPLY 4 SALE mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 01-17-2007 09:28 PM
WTB Novak Ionic ac/dc charger or Novak Millenium charger SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 09-11-2006 04:55 PM
Novak Millenium Pro Charger rmargiotta R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-06-2004 11:28 AM
Novak Millenium Charger ~$40.00!!!~ DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-10-2004 12:26 PM
Wanted Novak Millenium Charger Also Looking for Novak XXL 75MHZ Recievers K1WEY R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-03-2004 08:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net