R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2010, 10:06 AM   #1426
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

17.5 motors,

GM sounds good but nobody has them in stock..

Going to give a diffrent motor a go currently run SP v3 17.5

Thinking DUO or DUO 2?

Maybe Novak


What are other people using?

Alex
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:16 AM   #1427
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

GM motors are not roar legal, which are required where I race.

I've got a 13mm rotor on order which is allowed by our club rules, as well as a sp17.5v3, which is currently the motor to have at our track, so hopefully that will help with the braking issue.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:32 AM   #1428
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Someone was asking about power profiles. I don't believe those are active if you have the "stock high speed" mode selected (reserved 4=1)

As for breaking, it took me a while to get used to it. However, i ended up with initial brakes set to 40, and it feels ok to me now.

One the older ESC's, changing the mode from within the software did copy a load of background settings. I'm not sure if that is still the case.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:46 AM   #1429
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
answers in blue

Martin, why is your stock settings with powercurve 0- no timing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post
I believe the timing advance is applied in a different way and not using powercurves, but Martin will be able to answer this fully. If im correct its done using the fixed timing and Max timing sliders as well as timing 1 and 2.

I imagine he's a little busy at the LRP touring car masters at the moment!
Thanks, that makes sense now

I just realized the following are active when powercurve is set to 0.
- Timing 1 and Timing 2
- Timing according to special settings up to +30°
- Timing 1 up to max. Timing
- Timing 1 up to switching point rpm; Timing 2 up to max. Timing

it would be easier for the user if the timing selections above are 'ghosted' or not able to be selected IF powercurve is set above 0

Also, I think fixed timing is available all the time and not dependant on powercurve.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:57 AM   #1430
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

I apologize if it seems I am busting everyone's balls here, but I want to get up to speed asap. And I know martin is busy atm so I wont expect any replies for a while. My query is regarding AS software 1.6.3 for gen2 esc's.
The quotations are taken from the help menu
Quote:
#35 Fix Timing

The fix timing is adjustable between 0...30° for sensorless motor mode. For most motors 30° is used.

In sensored mode this value does reduce the standard motor timing of 30° to 0...30°.

For Sport/Stock classes use 30°

If additional timing is used then it is active from switching point rpm.
I'm not understanding the statement above of 30° to 0...30°!

if I am using a motor in sensored mode, does that mean whatever the value in fixed timing is, it will always be reduced to 0?
******
Timing: with sensors

Quote:
#9 TIMING (0-4) (only for sensorless brushless motors!)

To get the max. efficiency and the max. power, the timing can be adjusted with many functions.

In the most cases, the factory settings are the best choices.

0 = Standard timing 30°

1 = programmable additional timing up to max. Timing (limited through max. Timing)

2 = programmable additional timing (activate a lot of other timing functions)



The timing in the sensorless mode can be set and reduced with the function fixed timing.
There are 3 options for timing: with sensors
+0
+30
+max

The help is not the same as selections available.

and on top of that, it explanation is for sensorless motors, under timing: with sensors
************

Change over speed
What is it?
I'm trying to figure out what this is, so I can understand how to set timing 1 and timing 2.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:09 AM   #1431
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default 11.1

The Power curves are only in function if Timing with Sensors is set to +30°.
But in modes 7,8 & 9, the selection for 'Timing with Sensors' is 0

mode 7, power curve 5
mode 8, power curve 8
mode 9, power curve 9

so basically if I'm selecting modes 7 through to 9, and dont change any setting at all, the timing with sensors = 0, then I'm not actually running that powercurve, but will it be downgraded to powercurve 0?

Last edited by hacker; 03-27-2010 at 07:26 AM.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:29 AM   #1432
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Timing 1 and 2 are ramps (probably a bit more complicated than that). They relate mostly to the older versions. Higher numbers mean a steeper ramp. Use the checkboxes to decide which one or to use both

Switchpoint is when you go from timing 1 to timing 2 (using both) or if using timing 1 only it decides when that ramp comes in.

13.5 benefits from 2 stage timing, 10.5 is often better if using timing 1 only

Getting a perfect setting for your motor using these variables can be time consuming, gives excellent results but is quite technical

Fixed timing..if the sensor lead is plugged in it will use 0..30 or whatever you programmed it to, if you pull out the lead it will used the fixed timing value. Usually use 30.
If you use high speed timing it then becomes a different setting altogether for how much timing you want in that scenario

The variable dependent timing is intelligent timing, it gives the right amount at the right time depending on the situation, a number of variables. An intelligent speed controller. Just use the fixed timing slider to determine the amount of effect you want and use the telemetry to read motor temps. Doesn't get much easier! Use it in stock with the high speed timing. It takes the headache out of getting a good setting and will get you up speed quickly and easily

I'm sure Martin will correct me if I am wrong

Hope this helps
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:42 AM   #1433
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

The value established in the "fixed timing" Does it affect when using sensors?
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 02:42 AM   #1434
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

Hi,

Has anyone got an electronic version of the manual, cant see to find one on the net?
Cheers

Chris
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 03:50 AM   #1435
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

you can download the manual from here, its for the pre 2010 version, some if not all of the downloads include an english version.
http://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=7164

Last edited by hacker; 03-28-2010 at 04:12 AM.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 04:04 AM   #1436
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
you can download the manual from here, its for the pre 2010 version, but you might find some of it hard to read unless your german
http://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=7164
This is manual is for 7164 (old esc) the new esc is 97164
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 04:16 AM   #1437
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

yes I did say it was for the pre 2010(before 2010) version.

Cannot find the 2010 manuals anywhere, so I at least supplied a link for the old ones
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 04:30 AM   #1438
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
yes I did say it was for the pre 2010(before 2010) version.

Cannot find the 2010 manuals anywhere, so I at least supplied a link for the old ones
exactly what i was after actually
many thanks!
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:11 AM   #1439
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Martin already received the #6554 motor as you adviced and the new gm 120.
What gearing you recommend for start and with what speedo mode or configuration ?
Remember itīs for a TC, asphalt.

Thank you!

Last edited by rcardoso; 03-30-2010 at 03:41 AM.
rcardoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:23 AM   #1440
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Thumbs up 20th March 13.5 program

Hi Martin,

I ran your 13.5 setup from the GM website and i have to say it was very fast, with great punch!

Geared at 5 on a low grip track, motor can temps 58 deg (which is probably still too cold!)

One thing i struggled with was traction as the track was very low grip, this was partly down to car setup.

If i wanted to reduce the punch slightly for very low grip tracks, whats the best way of doing this?

Thanks T

P.S - reflashing the firmware and doing a factory reset sorted the non starting issue so thanks for the help on that one!!
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk

Last edited by Toblerone; 03-30-2010 at 04:31 AM.
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net