R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2010, 07:01 AM   #1396
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
there is no option, just use mode 2 or 3 or whatever and unplug the sensor lead, that's it
And.....How do I add 30 the timing? in sensorless
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:03 AM   #1397
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 88
Default

Hello,

Someone knows a good place for buy GM Racing products?

Thanks.
__________________
*LAF Painting*
february is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:30 AM   #1398
Tech Apprentice
 
Graham Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by february View Post
Hello,

Someone knows a good place for buy GM Racing products?

Thanks.
Schumacher Direct, www.racing-cars.com
__________________
Team Schumacher UK - GM Racing - TIR - Boultspeed RC Paint
Graham Kenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:31 AM   #1399
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South-East London
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
The 75 is about the same pricewise as the gen90 is.

It's not half the size of a 120/90 but it's a few millimeters shorter

for 60 meters straightaway go for 4 - 4.5 gearing. 5.5 would be absolutely undergeared

and just use mode9
Martin,

Thanks for the advice and the info on the GM75... I'll give it a go....

Cheers,
Tristan
CouldbeFaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:16 AM   #1400
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MChandler View Post
Open up the software V 1.6.3/ top left click on version/ make sure selected correct version

cheers ...
__________________
... wyrd bi ful rd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:20 AM   #1401
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Happy to help you guys


Hi Martin

I asked you this a week ago what settings would be the best for Slippery wood floor (20m straight) quite tight track very low grip.

13.5 Stock Touring

You said : Use Mode 9 gear aprox 5.8. and if motor still cold advance the timing.

after speaking with another GM runner he said Mode 9 could be to powerful

what do you think?

help much appreciated as always

matt
MChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:26 AM   #1402
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Thumbs up

[QUOTE=Martin Hofer;7168498

for Gm motors, use 110C, for Graupner (silver 13.5/17.5) use 127 and for LRP X12 (if you are forced to run it as it is not really fast *G*) 115C

[/QUOTE]

Martin, i have just set the slider 'cut off temperature motor' in the Protection/Programming tab to 110 for my GM13.5. (AS Tool 1.6.3)

How does this relate to the slider above it 'Shutdown Temp'? (this is set at 100) is that for the motor also? (the manual isnt very clear)

For Ade's Novak we have set to 110 also.

Sorry for the questions, i want to get this bit right!
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk

Last edited by Toblerone; 03-24-2010 at 01:29 AM.
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:27 AM   #1403
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the actual question is, is there a " too powerfull" in stock racing or just a "not good enough car to go with it"? :-) mode 9


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post
Martin, i have just set the slider 'cut off temperature motor' in the Protection/Programming tab to 110 for my GM13.5. (AS Tool 1.6.3)

How does this relate to the slider above it 'Shutdown Temp'? (this is set at 100) is that for the motor also? (the manual isnt very clear)

For Ade's Novak we have set to 110 also.

Sorry for the questions, i want to get this bit right!

shutdown temp = speedo!

as for motor temp, use 110 for a start , push the button after the run so the speedo saves the temperature, measure the motor can temp, then read out the data and see what temperature the speedo measured.

according to that comparision, change the motor temperature slider to a value where you get the desired motor can temperature.

for example:

can temp after a 7 minute run: 68C (obviously too cold)
temp measured by speedo: 108C (limit set to 110)

108 - 68 = 40 difference

desired can temp = 80C

80+ 40 = 120 -> set limit to 120, do a run and check temp again.

if it's fine then your done with testing, if the motor temp has not changed, you can gear harder to get more power.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:37 AM   #1404
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Thumbs up

Thanks Martin, excellent advice as always!
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:29 AM   #1405
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Hi, I am looking to put a gm120 gen1 into my gt car (7.2) as was wondering if anyone has any settings for it that have worked in the 12th or gt's or is it a case of just running mode 6 etc (10.5 motor) also any other changes I would need to make.

Cheers in advance
James
Jamesalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 06:04 AM   #1406
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Question about Fixed Timing on the AS 1.6.3,

When set to 20 in fixed timing, also if the timing on the motor is set to 5 degrees will that mean overall timing to be 25 degrees. Does the GM 120 v2 11.1 use Dynamic Timing in Switchpoint mode?

Is this setting only enabled when running in Switchpoint software?

Does anyone have advice on AMP limit? seems an old feature how does this work.


Thanks
Alex
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:49 AM   #1407
Tech Initiate
 
plummers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BERKSHIRE,ENGLAND
Posts: 22
Default timing advance not working

I have a year old gm120 speedo linked to a 13.5 gm motor.using programme 6 into 3.after couple of very heavy impacts(motor/speedo side) i have now lost my advance timing. checked the settings and cannot see anything wrong there.thought it must me the sensor wire, so i changed the wire but still nothing.checked the sensor visibly nothing wrong but havnt actually tested them.Any ideas??any helpful advice welcome..thanks plummers
plummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:53 AM   #1408
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

just got my GM90G2 and have a few questions. First off, I have not actually ran the car on the ground yet as its 4:30am and dont want to wake anyone up, plus the best place to test would be the track

1) sometimes the reset usb button doesn't retrieve info from esc to PC. Is this a common occurrence? Seems like I have to do the following a few times before it seems to work:
'fix port'
'receive data'
press usb button

the button is working cos everytime I push it the lights go off

update.....found it worked more often when you initiate 'receive data' and then connect to the esc last

2) using software AS 1.6.3 and updated esc with firmware 11.1 im a little dumbfounded with a few settings.

in particular the modes of 7 & 9. Modes 7 seems to have a more aggressive nature and 9 looks soft in comparison.

mode 7, timing with sensors 30, powercurve 7(soft tim3), fixed timing 30
mode 9, timing with sensors 0, powercurve 0(no timing) fixed timing 15

That didnt look right, so I reflashed the esc with 11.1 again and its the same settings.

Is this not correct?

I'm pretty sure before I updated to 11.1 that mode 9 looked to be the most aggressive with timing powercurve 11 or 13, not 0 as it currently looks.

I apologize if this sounds dumb as its my 1st day with the GM.
update.....reset the esc and now is fine.

How do I do a factory reset? Will the reset revert back to firmware 10?
update......figured it out now

Last edited by hacker; 03-31-2010 at 09:24 AM. Reason: all questions answered now thanks
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:11 PM   #1409
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
just got my GM90G2 and have a few questions. First off, I have not actually ran the car on the ground yet as its 4:30am and dont want to wake anyone up, plus the best place to test would be the track

1) sometimes the reset usb button doesn't retrieve info from esc to PC. Is this a common occurrence? Seems like I have to do the following a few times before it seems to work:
'fix port'
'receive data'
press usb button

the button is working cos everytime I push it the lights go off

2) using software AS 1.6.3 and updated esc with firmware 11.1 im a little dumbfounded with a few settings.

in particular the modes of 7 & 9. Modes 7 seems to have a more aggressive nature and 9 looks soft in comparison.

mode 7, timing with sensors 30, powercurve 7(soft tim3), fixed timing 30
mode 9, timing with sensors 0, powercurve 0(no timing) fixed timing 15

That didnt look right, so I reflashed the esc with 11.1 again and its the same settings.

Is this not correct?

I'm pretty sure before I updated to 11.1 that mode 9 looked to be the most aggressive with timing powercurve 11 or 13, not 0 as it currently looks.

I apologize if this sounds dumb as its my 1st day with the GM.

How do I do a factory reset? Will the reset revert back to firmware 10?
To do a factory reset (assuming you've not done one after flashing the firmware)
press the set button to go into the mode selection, then instead of moving the transmitter to change to mode 1/2/3 etc press and hold the button again until it resets.

After you flashed to 11.1, did you do a reset ? you need to do one to see the new settings in mode 9.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 02:09 PM   #1410
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

hello all
I have a GM 120 as a speed controller with firmware 7.2 is also a GM 10.5
I would like to know how the program version 1.6.3 and also what to put as gear ratio or if there is a person who has a program for a 10.5 lipo
fogarty84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net