R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2010, 11:15 AM   #1381
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

for some reason when I installed 1.6.1 the manual didnt work.

its working now on 1.6.3

So I assume 1.6.3 is the latest and greatest for generation 2 GM's?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 11:20 AM   #1382
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes 1.6.3 seems the newest version
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 11:27 PM   #1383
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

How do the following work together..

Fixed Timing and Max.Timing

So Fixted Timing is set to 21

and Max Timing is set to 26..


How does they effect each other? the manual is not very clear in this area.


Thanks
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:33 AM   #1384
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: argentina
Posts: 52
Default gm 120 v1 firmware 11.1

Hi martin, you tell me if this is fine, as programmed in mode 3 beeps and when I connect the PC and download data from the program I get speedo mode 2

I have a speedo GM 120 v1 and when I connect to the program as tool v 1.4.0.xx genius, I get firmware version 1.1, and when I read the data I get my speedo (37 - firmware 11) is correct that speedo would have to do is my version 1 is the beginning of 2009
manchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 11:12 AM   #1385
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Questions??

Hi Martin

I've recently got a GM 90 2010. I was running at west London today geared at 4.7 as you recommended and the speedo setup as you've described (13.5 novak ballistic std timing) the car was very very quick for around 4 mins and then got very soft. It was such a difference I wondered if I cooked the motor, so I checked the temp and was surprised to discover that it was only 55 degrees?

I spent the day going up and down gearing and taking some of the timing off the motor etc but it still happened?

Do you have any ideas as I'm confused as to what could cause this.

It was a shame as otherwise it was fantastic! Very smooth and very fast.

Thanks in advance

Ade
ade_7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 11:21 AM   #1386
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
as I know west london you will be aiming for a 4.7 gearing.

if the motor is not yet too hot and the feeling is good (that's the most important point) you can try 4.5 - 4.2
Well i had my run at West London today and 4.7 was a great starting point! (cheers Martin!)

I had a little trouble with the softstart setting. When at 50 in the software the car would pull up to the line and then not start when my start beep was called! I changed this to 60 (67ms) and it has not repeated the fault.
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 05:20 PM   #1387
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manchu View Post
Hi martin, you tell me if this is fine, as programmed in mode 3 beeps and when I connect the PC and download data from the program I get speedo mode 2

I have a speedo GM 120 v1 and when I connect to the program as tool v 1.4.0.xx genius, I get firmware version 1.1, and when I read the data I get my speedo (37 - firmware 11) is correct that speedo would have to do is my version 1 is the beginning of 2009

Dude, with GM 120 and others Version 1 (like 90/120 and "old can" like 50/95/100..) use 1.3.6. If software is < 6.0 use 1.1.5.

Then you download RIGHT data and don't mess us with 11.1 for old one ;P



good luck!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 05:41 PM   #1388
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Sensorless motors.... where is the option? in software ver 1.6.3 for GM120 II
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 04:38 AM   #1389
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
How do the following work together..

Fixed Timing and Max.Timing

So Fixted Timing is set to 21

and Max Timing is set to 26..


How does they effect each other? the manual is not very clear in this area.


Thanks
when the speedo switches to launch control, it uses the maxtiming when you reach full throttle for the first time, untill you reach neutral again, then it uses the fixed timing value, so you will start with 26 and do the run with 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by ade_7 View Post
Hi Martin

I've recently got a GM 90 2010. I was running at west London today geared at 4.7 as you recommended and the speedo setup as you've described (13.5 novak ballistic std timing) the car was very very quick for around 4 mins and then got very soft. It was such a difference I wondered if I cooked the motor, so I checked the temp and was surprised to discover that it was only 55 degrees?

I spent the day going up and down gearing and taking some of the timing off the motor etc but it still happened?

Do you have any ideas as I'm confused as to what could cause this.

It was a shame as otherwise it was fantastic! Very smooth and very fast.

Thanks in advance

Ade
I reckon there's a NTC in the novak motor. the next time you race, push the button shortly once, before switching the speedo off and then read out the speedo.
you will see a motor temperature value in the telemetry section. I reckon it will show about 95C. As you say it had 55 on the outside you could change the "maximum motor temperature" in the second tab to 130, and do a run again. then you should have about 85 on the can. which is about right.

for Gm motors, use 110C, for Graupner (silver 13.5/17.5) use 127 and for LRP X12 (if you are forced to run it as it is not really fast *G*) 115C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post
Well i had my run at West London today and 4.7 was a great starting point! (cheers Martin!)

I had a little trouble with the softstart setting. When at 50 in the software the car would pull up to the line and then not start when my start beep was called! I changed this to 60 (67ms) and it has not repeated the fault.
that's not a softstart related issue. reflash your firmware, then it should be ok. use softstart 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by higbo View Post
Sensorless motors.... where is the option? in software ver 1.6.3 for GM120 II
there is no option, just use mode 2 or 3 or whatever and unplug the sensor lead, that's it
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:12 AM   #1390
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default software 1.6.1 v's 1.6.3

why does software V 1.6.3 not have mode 9?

but 1.6.1 does have mode 0-9
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:42 AM   #1391
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Martin wich motor works better and is fastest for TC Stock(9.5), with new genius2 120 ?
Thank you
rcardoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:47 AM   #1392
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
why does software V 1.6.3 not have mode 9?

but 1.6.1 does have mode 0-9
Open up the software V 1.6.3/ top left click on version/ make sure selected correct version

MChandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:19 AM   #1393
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcardoso View Post
Martin wich motor works better and is fastest for TC Stock(9.5), with new genius2 120 ?
Thank you
use the graupner #6554 vone if you need maximum power, or gm #97299 if you need it to be nicer/easier to drive on technical tracks
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:30 AM   #1394
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Hi Martin

Thanks for the help I'll give that a go when I next run the car. Do I guess then that the speedo is pulling back the power as it thinking the motor is getting too hot?

I'd also like to say that the thing was seriously fast, when I was tracking around on my own it was so smooth that you could almost mistake it for not being that fast.

However in my heat there were some very good drivers, one of whom had a Tekin with v203. Everyone else kept saying how he destroyed them down the straight, when he came around to put a lap on me (I make too many mistakes ) he was a couple of metres behind me onto the straight and was still a couple of metres behind me at the end! If anything I'd have said a little further back but I was going too fast to really be 100% sure lol

So I'm very very impressed indeed with the speedo!

Ade
ade_7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:39 AM   #1395
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MChandler View Post
Open up the software V 1.6.3/ top left click on version/ make sure selected correct version

excellent, thanks
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net