R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2010, 07:53 AM   #1336
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

both Gen1 V8 (V7.2) and Gen2 V1x.x
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:01 AM   #1337
Tech Adept
 
Ritchie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 127
Exclamation

Hi i have a few questions if you please!

When running Genius 120 gen2 with fw 11 do you still use Martins stock tutorial where you copy the modes over?

Also i need some gearing for 10.5 prostock on this size track

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JS-aCYLBy5E

Thank you
Ritchie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:03 AM   #1338
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
Does anyone know where I can get part of the update lead from as it has broken.

The bit that has broken is the lead that plugs into the speed controller and the usb board (has the same pin heads each end)

Do I have to buy a complete set or is there a place that I can get one from?

Cheers in advance
I had this problem and unfortunately I could not find a part number so I bought these double ended cables

http://uk.farnell.com/harwin/m40-904...204?CMP=e-b1ef

And the 8 way connectors to go with it. Had to buy enough for 8 leads to make minimum order though. But not a problem if you can split the cost with your friends.
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:36 AM   #1339
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

Hey richie i would recmoned with firmware 11.1 to use a standard mode 9 and change the max rpm to 50k and the frequency to 4kc as martin suggests. I would try starting my gearing around 5 for that track with a gm motor. Hope this helps and aim for temps between 70 and 80
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 12:18 PM   #1340
Tech Adept
 
Ritchie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 127
Exclamation

Thanks John much appreciated!

Should i do this aswell?

'To activate the new Stocksoftware for max. Top Speed
Reserved4 = 1 must be activated. Klick value 1 (Stock high speed timing).'

Or would that be for bigger tracks?
Ritchie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 12:23 PM   #1341
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

Yes i think that was standard on mine? Remember and do a factory reset after you upgrade the firmware to initialise new the base settings
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 06:03 PM   #1342
Tech Adept
 
fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Default

I feel like I need a sensor cable, sometime the motor feel lost, a cog/hesitation?
On the pc for timing there is 7.5, 15, 30 but on the motor
there is -10 -5 0 +5 +10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post



just gear it up

Last edited by fifi; 03-15-2010 at 06:43 PM.
fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:46 AM   #1343
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fifi View Post
I feel like I need a sensor cable, sometime the motor feel lost, a cog/hesitation?
On the pc for timing there is 7.5, 15, 30 but on the motor
there is -10 -5 0 +5 +10
Hi!

Have you usb device for download data?
I need software version of your speedo.

Because if it is 4 mode, you can choose mode 3 (it is designed for modified),
and on PC set it with sensors and put limit of rpms

About timing, on pc set 30 and on engine 0. If want loose some power,
on engine set -5 or -10.

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:25 AM   #1344
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the stock turtorial is not meant for V8 / V11.1

but if you read it you will find that I wrote it's for older FW versions /Gen1 speedo



the best and easiest solution is to upgrade to 11.1, do a factory reset, pick mode 9 and not touch any of the settings

just make sure you did the factory reset properly .. that's about the most important part


running sensorless, the motor timing is functionless, all you do is to move the sensors around and with no sensor lead you can change the timing as much as you want ... it will never have any effect

send me an email and I'll help you out
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:32 AM   #1345
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Running T3 with SP V3 10.5 in mode 8...

WOW, this ESC is something else I had to move to Mode 7 which backs off the speed to be able handle the car

I admit running on a new track was not the best idea for it's first run, but very very impressed.

Ran 33 rollout mode 8 it came off at 125f NOTHING... I cannot rave enough about this speedy...

We are having another 17.5 evening at my local club this week feeling sorry for anyone who has to come up against this thing

Found the power delivery needs a little getting used too very smooth and the punch when you back off the power and then back on is amazing.

Alex
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:11 AM   #1346
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

for 17.5 use mode 9 and gear at around 5.0 indoors and 4.3 - 4.0 outdoors then it'S rocking
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:20 AM   #1347
Tech Adept
 
Ritchie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 127
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
the stock turtorial is not meant for V8 / V11.1

but if you read it you will find that I wrote it's for older FW versions /Gen1 speedo



the best and easiest solution is to upgrade to 11.1, do a factory reset, pick mode 9 and not touch any of the settings

just make sure you did the factory reset properly .. that's about the most important part
Ok fair enough when all thats done if i wanted to have a play around with a few of the settings which ones would you suggest?

The only reason i ask is that on club nights ill be running on a pretty small track and in a few months ill be doing nationals on much bigger ones.

Also in the v11 firmware faq which bit is this in the sortware?

'The power at the start is set with
Max. Timing: 0-30. Best value 12-20'

Thanks
Ritchie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:27 AM   #1348
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

none, just leave it the way it is set

mode 9 will work for every track

if it is really getting too hot (won'T happen but just in case, use mde 8)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:27 PM   #1349
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
none, just leave it the way it is set

mode 9 will work for every track

if it is really getting too hot (won'T happen but just in case, use mde 8)


Thanks for the 17.5 advice...

I was running 10.5 in mode 8 125f everytime it came off mode 9 should be warmer but not by much this seems to run very efficient.

Mode 9 is where I shall be but need to work out braking point as you get to them quicker than anything I tested.
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:58 PM   #1350
Tech Adept
 
fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Default

Yes I have the device for pc but the older one.The one you plug on the speedo and the receiver. My friend has the new one.
On the speedo older version only 4 mode can t adjust cut off for lipo.
maybe need to send it in for update the software?
I will put mode 3 with 30 timing on pc and 0 on motor.
How do I reset mode 3 once I change on pc? Pushing set after setting mode3
doesn t seem to change the value.

Do I need a sensor wire? If yes the gm with switch or lrp direct?

Thanks, for taking time to answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

Have you usb device for download data?
I need software version of your speedo.

Because if it is 4 mode, you can choose mode 3 (it is designed for modified),
and on PC set it with sensors and put limit of rpms

About timing, on pc set 30 and on engine 0. If want loose some power,
on engine set -5 or -10.

Regards!
m.
fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net