R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2010, 04:14 PM   #1306
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
when you clicked "receive data" just plug the usb wire into the speedo, no need to push the button on the wire !
Unfortunately I have to - without pushing that button transmision never starts.

That mean if I push that button it resets some data stored in esc, right?
KiiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:55 PM   #1307
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

if you click receive data and THEN! plug the wire into the speedo transmission starts automatically

if you want telemetry data, telemetry needs to be activated last tab, and you need to push the button on the speedo once shortly before switching the speedo off after the run you want telemetry data from! otherwise telemetry data won't be saved
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 01:00 AM   #1308
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post

24 is about right, but 5,5 is totally undergeared (13.5 i guess?) as that's what I use indoors!

try 4.5, then it will be much faster
Yep running a 13.5 GM Motor and will give 4.5 a try soon.

One thing we did struggle with was the brakes. I know most people say the feel is very different with the GM, but until i turned the settings up they were all most ineffective when coasting up to the line for the start of my race. The high speed stopping seemed ok though...

Whats the major difference/improvement in the 'New Brake Software' tick box?
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk

Last edited by Toblerone; 03-08-2010 at 01:22 AM. Reason: extra information
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:16 AM   #1309
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the "new brake software" is speed depending:

high speed = high brake force, low speed = low brake force

this is why, when you drive to the line and the car is really slow, brakes are soft but that's not much of an issue really

when driving, the brakes feel much nicer with that software activated as you can brake more precise
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:54 AM   #1310
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to Grindog001
Default

Hi all, i have just bought a 2009 GM 120 ver 7.2 and have set it up etc. I am just curious about this advance in timing and when you would idealy have it coming in, eg half way on the straight? Also, if it is coming in too early or late, what setting would change this please?

Also, any gearing advice on a MI4 LP running a GM 10.5 on a medium twisty track with 30 metre straight

thanks in advance

john
Grindog001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 03:05 AM   #1311
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

10.5 switchpoint should be set to approx 13000 rpm, reserved should be set to 81, timing 1 should be 80 - 100
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 03:57 AM   #1312
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Martin, do you know when will the new speedo come ot, thanks.
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 04:20 AM   #1313
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the new speedos are available for sale for quite some time already
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 04:05 PM   #1314
Tech Regular
 
part-time racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Faster than a speeding bullet
Posts: 458
Default Up-grade question

Hello all,
without going back through all the pages I would like to ask a quick question. I bought 4 months ago a gm 120 (purple case) which I was really happy with so based on this I bought a second 120 (black case) for my indoor car.

I went racing on Sunday to a new indoor club and was suprised to learn from a local racer to this other club about the new 120's and the software installed on these new units.

My question is, how do I go about getting my 1 month old and 4 month old esc upgraded to this new specification?
The difference between my car and the car running the new software was staggering!!!

Having spent 400 in 4 months, I really hope there is a solution as the National season is due to start here in the UK in 6 weeks.
part-time racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 06:08 PM   #1315
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
Hello all,
without going back through all the pages I would like to ask a quick question. I bought 4 months ago a gm 120 (purple case) which I was really happy with so based on this I bought a second 120 (black case) for my indoor car.

I went racing on Sunday to a new indoor club and was suprised to learn from a local racer to this other club about the new 120's and the software installed on these new units.

My question is, how do I go about getting my 1 month old and 4 month old esc upgraded to this new specification?
The difference between my car and the car running the new software was staggering!!!

Having spent 400 in 4 months, I really hope there is a solution as the National season is due to start here in the UK in 6 weeks.
Im sorry to say, theres nothing you can do about your Gen 1 gm 120 esc's.

The new generation 2's have a completely new processer, its not just as simple as updating there firmware, the new ones have a boot loader so now, just like the tekin you can update the firmware yourself.
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 12:47 AM   #1316
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Gm has offered firmware.v8 for the older gm120's
you can send your esc to gm and have it upgraded to a software like the v11.1 on the geniusII series. It will cost about 20euro+shipping
unfortunately no self updating for that you need the geniusII
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 03:32 AM   #1317
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Just purchased my first GM ESC

Was thinking of trying out one of the motors too..

What is the difference between Delta and star?

guessing star is a little older and Delta is a new version...


Thanks
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:41 AM   #1318
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
Just purchased my first GM ESC

Was thinking of trying out one of the motors too..

What is the difference between Delta and star?

guessing star is a little older and Delta is a new version...


Thanks
Nope.
It is solder job. Star looks like Y and delta is like triangle.

Normal engine is star, and you can read for example 5.5T.
Deltas has 8D, 6D or 7D or 12D and have more rpms then star.

If I remember right, 6D has more power then 3.5T

Stock/Pro racing is for star engines and with high value of wind, liek 10.5T.

For modified you can choose what you need

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 06:32 AM   #1319
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Lack of brakes with a gm90 using a gm 13.5 motor ( 97294 ) .

Its got the old firmware on it and I've tried the autobrake software option but it just seems to lock the wheels.

it just dosent seem to want to give me any brakes even with the new brake software

I dont know how to link my set up from the programer on here but I can email it if required.

the speedo is nice and punchy I just cant seem to get any brakes on it unless I turn on the auto brake
mobile chicane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 06:56 AM   #1320
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobile chicane1 View Post
Lack of brakes with a gm90 using a gm 13.5 motor ( 97294 ) .

Its got the old firmware on it and I've tried the autobrake software option but it just seems to lock the wheels.

it just dosent seem to want to give me any brakes even with the new brake software
Do you know value of AutoBrake and MinBrake?

If I use new software for autobrake my good option was MinBrake = 5 and AutoBrake = 2 (with AB = 5, i feel lock the wheels when car almost stop).

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net