R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2010, 12:47 AM   #1276
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveonamission View Post
Mine does this too, its normal, its to stop you blowing up the magnets at high revs on the bench, it'll be fine under race conditions.
Ahh thanks Steve, thats good news! Im looking forward to its first run out with the new settings later this week.
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk

Last edited by Toblerone; 03-01-2010 at 01:11 AM.
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:45 AM   #1277
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Bro0100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post
Hi John i just did all of the above thanks!
One question, the car does sound a lot better now, but seems to stutter at full throttle/when timing advance happens (on my workbench)
What is your car like and is it ok underload on the track?

Perhaps some one can explain the 'variable dependence timing' is it related to this?

Cheers
T
This is indeed for protection of the magnets and car.
Ralf Helbing the GM designer posted it on the GM-forum when he uploaded the newest software version and firmware.
Bro0100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:32 PM   #1278
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

firmware 11.1

http://www.gm-racing.de/rwdownload/i...?url=&dlid=141

pc software to go with it

http://www.gm-racing.de/rwdownload/i...?url=&dlid=137

Notes:

the stuttering at ful throttle is normal and meant to protect the magnet as said before

do a factory reset after upgrading your speedo, so that the new values are loaded into the modes 6 to 9

power is set with fixed timing, power when start automatic is activated is set with maxtiming

values for 13.5 should be within a range of 12 - 22

gearing doesn't really matter but I suggest a range of 5.0 - 6.0 indoors and 4.0 - 5.0 outdoors

don't mess up the factory settings too much as it is not necessary to change anything really



I participated a big race the past weekend contending in Stock class against a lot of Team LRP drivers.
Those suffered of too hot motors, software issues (seems like the MK2 speedos still don'T work) and lack of power when they where able to do 7 minutes

I didn't have any temperature issue at all and was still the fastest car.

In two qualifiers I did my fastest lap in the last / second to last lap -> no fading at all

Motor temp should be between 70 and 80 on the motor can and 90 - 100 on the winding

I suggest to use mode 9

have fun
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:02 PM   #1279
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

at what outdoor temperatures or other parameters can the 120 or 90 be used without the fan on top in 13.5 class?
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:09 PM   #1280
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

just leave it

you can take the fan off for 13.5T racing

I suggest the Genius 75 anyways

It's an extremely cool speedo, about half the size of 120/90
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:24 PM   #1281
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
just leave it
I suggest the Genius 75 anyways
It's an extremely cool speedo, about half the size of 120/90
how does that 75 work with the optional heatsink and the wires on the top? they look to be compromising? or again run without heatsink and fan for 13.5 tc?
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:11 PM   #1282
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

works without heatsink
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #1283
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Thumbs up

Just ran the car with firmware 11.1 and the stock v111 settings set to a 10K rpm switching.

Motor temp didnt get above 40 deg c all night on a small indoor carpet track and the punch was awesome!

Thanks for posting the new software links Martin.

T
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:58 PM   #1284
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

40decC is too cold, advance the fixedtiming value. I uses 24 the last weekend with 13.5.
Temp should be in the 75-80 deg range and gearing 5.0 - 6.0 indoors.
Then it's really really fast

switchpoint is only used when reserved4 is set to 3. When reserved4 is set to one there is no switchpoint. I suggest that as it feels nicer
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:49 PM   #1285
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
40decC is too cold, advance the fixedtiming value. I uses 24 the last weekend with 13.5.
Then it's really really fast


It was rapid as it was so even faster will be unreal!
When you say reserved 4 Martin what slider/menu is that in the software?

Sorry im just getting used to the software!

When you say feels nicer Martin, is it more linear/smoother?
T
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk

Last edited by Toblerone; 03-03-2010 at 12:58 AM.
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:44 AM   #1286
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Hi i have just bought a GM Genius 90 2010 esc last week do i need to update the firmware or will it have the new one on it
minivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:54 AM   #1287
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minivtec View Post
Hi i have just bought a GM Genius 90 2010 esc last week do i need to update the firmware or will it have the new one on it
Plug into the PC with the Genius 1.6.1 tool and read the settings, it should tell you in the top right hand corner the firmware version.

I got mine last week and it had version 10 on from factory.
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:00 AM   #1288
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post


It was rapid as it was so even faster will be unreal!
When you say reserved 4 Martin what slider/menu is that in the software?
Its in the telemetry tab, bottom right hand corner?

Sorry im just getting used to the software!

T
use software 1.6.1 with firmware 11.1
the acceleration page has the tick boxes. for high speed timing.
if you tick this look at the result on the telemetry page. reserved4 will update itself.
what martin gives is the result in the .gd2 as a text file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minivtec View Post
Hi i have just bought a GM Genius 90 2010 esc last week do i need to update the firmware or will it have the new one on it
yes firmware v11.1 just came out with a new version yesterday!
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:03 AM   #1289
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomracing View Post
use software 1.6.1 with firmware 11.1
the acceleration page has the tick boxes. for high speed timing.
if you tick this look at the result on the telemetry page. reserved4 will update itself.
what martin gives is the result in the .gd2 as a text file.
Thanks Tom, i was not sure if you could edit the setting either via acceleration tab or on the Reserved 4 slider, will have a look at the tick boxes!

Im running 11.1 and 1.6.1
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:49 AM   #1290
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm still happy with the GM120 7.2, as I know it well, but this new firmware/software is quite different. Throttle feels totally progressive and precise. Like there's no timing switchpoint. Excellent.

Does anyone care to comment on telemetry, FW 10/11? Mine does not seem to work. I'd just like to know what is wrong.
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net