R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2010, 05:45 AM   #1261
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

@chinaman,
have you tried martin's 13.5 setup file?
post#993 of this thread.
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:38 AM   #1262
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomracing View Post
@chinaman,
have you tried martin's 13.5 setup file?
post#993 of this thread.
I have a copy of that setup. But it is for version 7.2 and I have the 7.0 version. Have not actually try it out to see if it works. But have contacted GM Germany and they will upgrade my firmware to 7.2 if I send it in.
__________________
... wyrd bi ful rd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:36 AM   #1263
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

use factory set mode 8, or the program I uploaded.

You are aiming for a gearing between 5.0 and 5.8 ish indoors
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 01:02 PM   #1264
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Hi Martin, can you please give few comments about my post #1259
Tilky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:54 AM   #1265
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I know most of you use the setting guide by demon racing but there are MAJOR!! mistakes in that I want to correct right now:

Set the Minimale Timingzeit to no lower than 6 and no highr than 12. (Higher will apply timing too slowly and below 6 may cause malfunction. 8 to 10 is safe range)

wrong, 8 is what I use to make sure it doesn't kick in. What minimal timingzeit does is limit the rpm by reducing timing at certain points.
This can provide a much cooler running if you set it to like 25 for 13.5T u use regular timing till a certain rpm and at the end of the straightaway where the motor overrevs and gets hot timing gets reduced and the motor keeps cooler and also more consistant throughout the run.

Set the Misc reserved to 200 for maximum advanced timin and maximum brakes.

wrong, set it to 17 for modified, 81 or 89 for stockracing (or 17 if you use a powercurve)

Set reserved 3 to 100. Setting lower will give more power but may damage speed control.

wrong, reserved 3 is functionless. any effect is imagination and thus there's no point in changing that value

Set the switching point RPM to suit the motor and size of track. 15000 for 13.5T and 16500 for 10.5T

To find out which switchpoint is best for your motor, unplug the sensorwire, do full throttle, turn off the speedo, read out data and see what rpm the speedo shows.
switchpoint should be half of that.

softstart...

we tested a lot and 50 works best

Pull full brake: : beep (program2)
Push full throttle: : beep
Brake: : beep
Throttle: : beep
Brake: : beep
Throttle: : beeps
Brake: : beep (program 8)

return lever to neutral

Wait 5 seconds
Turn off speedo (unplug)
Turn speedo back on.


don't return lever to neutral but hold the last position to make sure transmitter values get saved properly
wait untill speedo beeps
you don't have to turn the speedo off but you can

Check:
High revs at full throttle. This will be a speed jump at full stick travel. You may have to adjust the high point on some transmitters to 110 to make sure the full throttle speed change works all the time)


never turn up the highpoint to anything higher than 100

full throttle timing kicks in early enough. There is no need to turn up EPA unless you messed up the programming but for stock racing

I don't recomment Res2 = 16 anyway



as for the 10.5 motors, 97305 is available
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:59 AM   #1266
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
I know most of you use the setting guide by demon racing but there are MAJOR!! mistakes in that I want to correct right now:

Set the Minimale Timingzeit to no lower than 6 and no highr than 12. (Higher will apply timing too slowly and below 6 may cause malfunction. 8 to 10 is safe range)

wrong, 8 is what I use to make sure it doesn't kick in. What minimal timingzeit does is limit the rpm by reducing timing at certain points.
This can provide a much cooler running if you set it to like 25 for 13.5T u use regular timing till a certain rpm and at the end of the straightaway where the motor overrevs and gets hot timing gets reduced and the motor keeps cooler and also more consistant throughout the run.

Set the Misc reserved to 200 for maximum advanced timin and maximum brakes.

wrong, set it to 17 for modified, 81 or 89 for stockracing (or 17 if you use a powercurve)

Set reserved 3 to 100. Setting lower will give more power but may damage speed control.

wrong, reserved 3 is functionless. any effect is imagination and thus there's no point in changing that value

Set the switching point RPM to suit the motor and size of track. 15000 for 13.5T and 16500 for 10.5T

To find out which switchpoint is best for your motor, unplug the sensorwire, do full throttle, turn off the speedo, read out data and see what rpm the speedo shows.
switchpoint should be half of that.

softstart...

we tested a lot and 50 works best

Pull full brake: : beep (program2)
Push full throttle: : beep
Brake: : beep
Throttle: : beep
Brake: : beep
Throttle: : beeps
Brake: : beep (program 8)

return lever to neutral

Wait 5 seconds
Turn off speedo (unplug)
Turn speedo back on.


don't return lever to neutral but hold the last position to make sure transmitter values get saved properly
wait untill speedo beeps
you don't have to turn the speedo off but you can

Check:
High revs at full throttle. This will be a speed jump at full stick travel. You may have to adjust the high point on some transmitters to 110 to make sure the full throttle speed change works all the time)


never turn up the highpoint to anything higher than 100

full throttle timing kicks in early enough. There is no need to turn up EPA unless you messed up the programming but for stock racing

I don't recomment Res2 = 16 anyway



as for the 10.5 motors, 97305 is available
Great, Thanks a lot, Martin!
caferacer161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:15 PM   #1267
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks a lot!!!
that realy clears much!

One more question:
Your program, several pages ago, for 13.5 LiPo.
Should i set mode 2 by transmitter and then modify it with PC, or i can set mode 3 or 8 by transmitter and then copy to mode 2 by PC?

Last edited by Tilky; 02-18-2010 at 02:33 PM.
Tilky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:56 AM   #1268
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

With firmware 7x there are no base values so u can upload it to any profile on the speedo.
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:57 AM   #1269
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi Martin

A few questions to help me get started..

In new Genius 120 there are a lot of features. Particularly the new timing options.

If I use a power program these are fixed timing programs? If so, which variables are deactivated (1+2, switchpoint?), and which remain active (max timing, fixed timing)?

The function 'variables abhngiges Timing'...very interesting! does this mean that the timing is controlled by stick position only? Which settings are deactivated?

At the moment I cannot get the telemetry to work, I'm getting false values for motor temp and battery voltage.

Thanks in advance
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:59 AM   #1270
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

I think for the telemetry you must press the set button once so the speed controller saves the values and then read out the controller to the computer.
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 02:34 AM   #1271
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Indeed, yes. I use this button also to switch on/off by selecting 5 on the software. You can then remove the switch and join the wires together. One less item to install/worry about, and the data is always saved, at least this works with my FW7.2.

When you've finished the race hold full brake for 16 seconds and it will switch your car off remotely..which is very cool.

I'm getting the rev/speed/current data as usual on the FW10.2 but zero for motor temp and 0.63-0.71v on battery voltage.

I'm wondering if its a matter of calibration because there are sliders for this as well..?
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:19 AM   #1272
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default New 1.6 software

Hi Martin

Im new to GM and have been running a new version 2, 90 speedo with software 1.6, Firmware 10 today.

Can i ask please,

In general is mode 8 (high additional timing) a fast, safe and good starting point for 13.5?

I see that this mode allows up to 60 degrees of total timing!! I assume its not wise to have any additional timing set on the motor!?

Also in the software is the total timing set via the 'max timing' slider and/or the drop down menu - 'timing with sensors'

minimal timingzeit is set to 8 automatically in mode 8. Is this incorrect and should be nearer 25?

and finally, can you explain the Turbo setting to me as im unsure if this is similar to max timing, or an inital full throttle boost?

Sorry for all the questions!! Thanks T
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:44 AM   #1273
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

I have been running my car today with the new speed controller and 13.5 i was running an old x11 lrp 13.5 motor and had good speed all day. I was using firmware version 11 which is available on the gm website. there is also a stock profile bundled in with the download for the new firmware and i was using this setting and thaught it was good. It lacked a bit of bottom end grunt but i think this was due to the motor. I was geared at 6.1 on a small/medium carpet track. http://www.gm-racing.de/rwdownload/?url=&dlid=138
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 01:24 PM   #1274
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_S View Post
I have been running my car today with the new speed controller and 13.5 i was running an old x11 lrp 13.5 motor and had good speed all day. I was using firmware version 11 which is available on the gm website. there is also a stock profile bundled in with the download for the new firmware and i was using this setting and thaught it was good. It lacked a bit of bottom end grunt but i think this was due to the motor. I was geared at 6.1 on a small/medium carpet track. http://www.gm-
racing.de/rwdownload/?url=&dlid=138

Hi John i just did all of the above thanks!
One question, the car does sound a lot better now, but seems to stutter at full throttle/when timing advance happens (on my workbench)
What is your car like and is it ok underload on the track?

Perhaps some one can explain the 'variable dependence timing' is it related to this?

Cheers
T
__________________
_____________________
"To finish first, first i must finish!"
www.mkrctc.org.uk
www.akularacing.co.uk
Toblerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 05:22 PM   #1275
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toblerone View Post
Hi John i just did all of the above thanks!
One question, the car does sound a lot better now, but seems to stutter at full throttle/when timing advance happens (on my workbench)
What is your car like and is it ok underload on the track?

Perhaps some one can explain the 'variable dependence timing' is it related to this?

Cheers
T
Mine does this too, its normal, its to stop you blowing up the magnets at high revs on the bench, it'll be fine under race conditions.
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net