R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2010, 11:59 PM   #1246
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by issac51 View Post
hi just got a gm 120 with 7.2 software

can anybody tell me what the settings timing 1 and 2 do on the genius tool 1.3.6 software

sorry if this has been covered earlier but could not find the info in all the pages.

Hi!

Download data and try change it in order:
- RPM 10000
- value 110
- value 90

Some guys use 110, 110.

:-)

I know that 1st reserved on top at my esc is 88, and bottom reserved
128 (change from 128 to 254 when you touch RPM/T1/T2, after send
to ESC, ESC "lost" beep sound, but again download and change 254 to 128,
and beep sound will back to you).

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 06:42 AM   #1247
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 763
Default

I ordered my GM120 V2 this morining... I am very curious about the new software to adjust the ESC...

__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:25 PM   #1248
Tech Apprentice
 
jonny123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
Default

Martin, just got one of the new GM 10.5 motors to run with lipo. I have been running your very fast 13.5 setup with the switch point turned down to 15000 like u said... This is on the older gm 10.5 is there anything u would change on the esc settings for the new gm 10.5?

Ps the specs of the new and old motors seem to be the same but the feel of the rotor force in your hand feels alot differant.
__________________
Xray-Hudy-Ko Propo-RC DisCo Uk-Ardent Racing-Boultspeed
jonny123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:46 AM   #1249
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
Default

Hope the warrenty system from GM is ok. cos mine has just gone bang and taken a motor with it..
was fine last time i used it, I just wanted to test it to make sure car goes in a straight line before next race, and it just cogged and did nothin else.
pee vee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 12:58 AM   #1250
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Quick question.

I have a gm 90 with the old firmware how do you send it back to be reprogrammed ?
mobile chicane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:02 PM   #1251
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobile chicane1 View Post
Quick question.

I have a gm 90 with the old firmware how do you send it back to be reprogrammed ?
Send to this address and include 20 euro:

Graupner GmbH & Co. KG
Service
Henriettenstraße 94 - 96
73230 Kirchheim/Teck
Germany

Mine were back in 2/3 weeks - awesome now
_________
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:10 PM   #1252
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joost K. View Post
I ordered my GM120 V2 this morining... I am very curious about the new software to adjust the ESC...

Have you seen this?
There is a link on cmc website you can download there. It installs over the old software but still includes it which is really cool.
5 tabs (inc info and telemetry), 16 power curves, 32kHz drive freq, user firmware updateable...again Helbring is at least 1 year ahead of everyone else

http://www.cmc-versand.de/Graupner/G...r-6-97168.html
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 04:01 AM   #1253
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
... Btw, if you have USB interface, can you post downloaded data from mode 6 and mode 8? ...
Well M Abrams

I have downloaded mode 6 and 8, i have been fiddling around with mode 8 so some values may be totally out ... I have not re-set the speedo ... yet ...

I am using 2S Lipo TC medium speed track ...

-------------

Mode 6

[AddData]
Brushless=1
Sensor=1
Car=
Place=
BarCode=
Comment=15 Feb 2010
Motor=
Pinion=42
MainGear=90
InternalGearRatio=2.19
TireDiameter=65
MaxRotationSpeed=255
MaxCurrent=0


[GeniusData]
StartAmp=100
AmpLimit=200
Turbo=1
BrakeMin=20
BrakeMax=100
AutoBrake=0
FullBrake=100
ABS=0
RPMLimit=4
Polzahl=2
Frequency=3
Reserved=0
MaxReverse=100
Softgas=50
PowerCurve=0
Autogas=0
Switch=0
OnAfterUSB=1
Timing=3
TimingWith=2


[GeniusDataAdv]
Reserved1=128
Softbrake=100
FullThrottle=23894
NeutralPoint=16681
FullBrakePoint=14480
NeutralPointWidth=80
ControllerMode=32
VoltageCutOff=250
PWMStartNoSensor=128
LimStartNoSensor=30
ProgramNumber=150
AktiveDiode Mode=0
SwitchStartMode=200
DelayTimeComp=16
AktiveDiodeMaxDiff=300
AktiveDiodeMaxTime=100
AktiveDiodeMinTime=110
DeadTimeFets=205
MaxRPM=255
Firmware=70
MaxCurrent=0

-------------

Mode 8

[AddData]
Brushless=1
Sensor=1
Car=
Place=
BarCode=
Comment=3 Jan 2010
Motor=
Pinion=42
MainGear=90
InternalGearRatio=2.19
TireDiameter=65
MaxRotationSpeed=255
MaxCurrent=0


[GeniusData]
StartAmp=150
AmpLimit=100
Turbo=1
BrakeMin=30
BrakeMax=100
AutoBrake=0
FullBrake=100
ABS=0
RPMLimit=14
Polzahl=2
Frequency=3
Reserved=200
MaxReverse=100
Softgas=50
PowerCurve=0
Autogas=0
Switch=0
OnAfterUSB=0
Timing=3
TimingWith=2


[GeniusDataAdv]
Reserved1=142
Softbrake=200
FullThrottle=19026
NeutralPoint=16684
FullBrakePoint=14618
NeutralPointWidth=80
ControllerMode=128
VoltageCutOff=250
PWMStartNoSensor=128
LimStartNoSensor=30
ProgramNumber=0
AktiveDiode Mode=0
SwitchStartMode=166
DelayTimeComp=10
AktiveDiodeMaxDiff=6
AktiveDiodeMaxTime=135
AktiveDiodeMinTime=110
DeadTimeFets=100
MaxRPM=255
Firmware=70
MaxCurrent=0

-------------

So should I do a re-set? and post the values again?
__________________
... wyrd bið ful ãræd ...

Last edited by chinaman; 02-16-2010 at 04:41 AM.
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 04:31 AM   #1254
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
Have you seen this?
There is a link on cmc website you can download there. It installs over the old software but still includes it which is really cool.
5 tabs (inc info and telemetry), 16 power curves, 32kHz drive freq, user firmware updateable...again Helbring is at least 1 year ahead of everyone else

http://www.cmc-versand.de/Graupner/G...r-6-97168.html
Well, that is good I guess if you are using both the V1 & V2 speedo's but I will be using the V2 only so I guess/hope that GM has a new software download for it too. I still have the software for the V1 on my laptop also...
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 04:51 AM   #1255
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

you don't have to install it over the old version.
personally i make a new folder under /programfiles/as-soft/ for each version of the software.
the 1.5.0.9 is also on the gm-racing website under downloads->software also the software updating software is there for the GeniusII (9716x)
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:22 AM   #1256
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

The GM120 ver-4.9 work with software 14.0.25 and 1.5.0.9???
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:57 AM   #1257
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

software 1.5.0.9 works only on firmware 7.2 or above
1.4.0.25 seems to still include the older versions but i would advise to use your current genius tool software(1.1.x or 1.3.x). newer versions will only confuse and not give you additional options on your 4.9 firmware. also writing wrong data to your esc, i.e setup for different firmware, might cause damage to your esc.
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:51 AM   #1258
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does someone knows what the new function 'add adicional timing for XXX motor' is for?
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 02:19 AM   #1259
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default From Russia with love ^^

Hi Martin and M.Abramowicz
I'd like to send you greetings from russian drivers!
We are only begining to use GM speed controllers and motors, but we are already inspired buy them!
It's all started with my friend, who is visiting Germany very often. He bought first motors (GM Pro 17.5) to try them for new stock class we are going to make.
Currently we have only one stock class, 10.5t LiPo2s, and it's too fast for beginners.
So as we liked GM motors very much I read alot about GM and decided to buy Genius 120 fw7.2 for my stock motor DualSky Track&Field 10.5. It took more then one month for it to get to Russia, but finaly it was here.
Having not much expirience with programming GM speed controller, I used settings wich were published at h_ttp://demonpowerproducts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=92_144&products_id=3871
Mode 8 produced lot of heat even on free running, so I set (with transmiter) factory mode 3 and modified it as written. It produced heat also, but i set Reserved 2 to 16. (Additional timing only at full throttle), set ratio to 9.0(previously was 6.0) and whent for race.
I asked my mate to check motor temperature from time to time driving to him. Unfortunately he has not much expirience and when I understood that motor is too hot, it was too late/ It was not yet burned but i think the windings were damaged.
So for next race i set program without additional timing. I drove about one lap and understood that motor is burning.

As I understand, my chineese motor is not sutable to use with GM Genius and all problems i got were because it's rubbish motor , so i asked my friend to bring GM Pro 10.5 motor #97305. But unfortunately they are not avaluable at the moment, so he will bring GM Pro 10.5 #97290
Also I asked him to buy rotor with fan for that motor #97233.1

Also i'd like to note that i expirienced some issue with my KoPropo EX-10 40 MHz. I had jitter on throttle and steering when car wasmore than 5 meter away runing. tried two different receivers and several freq. but nothing helped. I took 2.4 GHz module and receiver and it became OK.

Now I have some questions
1. Are my proposals about burned motor right, or i did just wrong setup?
2. May the radio bug was caused because the motor was overloaded and produced some extra freq.? Have you tried to use GM Genius 120 with 40MHz radio system?
3. I understand that you wrote much about programming, but maybe you can make .txt file (as the one several pages before for 13.5 LiPo) with settings for the GM motor i'm going to use? (10.5t fw7.2 LiPo2s)
4. My friend is still in Germany. Maybe you can recomend some online or offline shop that store #97305 motor, so he can buy it?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Tilky; 02-16-2010 at 02:59 AM.
Tilky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 04:45 AM   #1260
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
... Btw, if you have USB interface, can you post downloaded data from mode 6 and mode 8? ...
I have just done a reset and here are the values ...

----------

mode 6

[AddData]
Brushless=1
Sensor=0
Car=
Place=
BarCode=
Comment=After reset 16 Feb 2010 standard
Motor=
Pinion=42
MainGear=90
InternalGearRatio=2.19
TireDiameter=65
MaxRotationSpeed=255
MaxCurrent=0


[GeniusData]
StartAmp=100
AmpLimit=200
Turbo=1
BrakeMin=20
BrakeMax=100
AutoBrake=0
FullBrake=100
ABS=0
RPMLimit=4
Polzahl=2
Frequency=3
Reserved=0
MaxReverse=100
Softgas=50
PowerCurve=0
Autogas=0
Switch=0
OnAfterUSB=1
Timing=3
TimingWith=2


[GeniusDataAdv]
Reserved1=128
Softbrake=100
FullThrottle=18454
NeutralPoint=16681
FullBrakePoint=14723
NeutralPointWidth=80
ControllerMode=32
VoltageCutOff=250
PWMStartNoSensor=128
LimStartNoSensor=30
ProgramNumber=150
AktiveDiode Mode=0
SwitchStartMode=200
DelayTimeComp=16
AktiveDiodeMaxDiff=300
AktiveDiodeMaxTime=100
AktiveDiodeMinTime=110
DeadTimeFets=205
MaxRPM=255
Firmware=70
MaxCurrent=0

----------

mode 8

[AddData]
Brushless=1
Sensor=1
Car=
Place=
BarCode=
Comment=Post Reset 15 Feb 2010 Standard
Motor=
Pinion=42
MainGear=90
InternalGearRatio=2.19
TireDiameter=65
MaxRotationSpeed=255
MaxCurrent=0


[GeniusData]
StartAmp=100
AmpLimit=200
Turbo=1
BrakeMin=20
BrakeMax=100
AutoBrake=0
FullBrake=100
ABS=0
RPMLimit=4
Polzahl=2
Frequency=3
Reserved=0
MaxReverse=100
Softgas=50
PowerCurve=2
Autogas=0
Switch=0
OnAfterUSB=1
Timing=3
TimingWith=2


[GeniusDataAdv]
Reserved1=128
Softbrake=100
FullThrottle=18689
NeutralPoint=16681
FullBrakePoint=14759
NeutralPointWidth=80
ControllerMode=128
VoltageCutOff=250
PWMStartNoSensor=128
LimStartNoSensor=30
ProgramNumber=150
AktiveDiode Mode=0
SwitchStartMode=250
DelayTimeComp=16
AktiveDiodeMaxDiff=300
AktiveDiodeMaxTime=100
AktiveDiodeMinTime=110
DeadTimeFets=205
MaxRPM=255
Firmware=70
MaxCurrent=0

----------

Hope you or Martin can advise what values to change for 13.5T TC medium sized track outdoor asphalt Lipo

Cheers
__________________
... wyrd bið ful ãræd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net