R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2007, 03:43 AM   #91
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

u notice a broken sensor right away. as it is no longer working, when using a sensor cable. this happens to all motors of that kind of brand (gm, orion, speedpassion, checkpoint ...)

u could try to resolder all solderpoints. sometimes this helps. it not -> return to factory

the timing of the motor has to be in mid c otherwise you will have a HUGE lack of runtime. Even with b to mid c it's still not perfect and you won't have as much runtime as with a matching esc but it will work

the motor comes apart quite easy. 3 screws in front 3 in the rear and it's open.


genius 100 -> 415

one of our teamdrivers races a 415 with gm brushless and uses a genius 100 atm. so it works.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 04:34 AM   #92
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mark34 Send a message via Yahoo to mark34
Default

Thanks for the quick reply Martin
many thanks
__________________
Yokomo BD
CEFX C12

Powered By Demon Batteries and GM Brushless and 2 thumbs
Mark Ashby
mark34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 05:42 AM   #93
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default Sensors

Sensors and the solder points can break through heat and vibration. You can order the Sensor part complete for the GM EVO3 motors #97243.2 to replace the damaged one yourselve.
Look at www.graupner.de under the order number of the motor at "Ersatzteile" (=spare parts) you will see all tuning parts and spare parts.

With 2894.12 you can check the sensors.

Because a broken sensor can occur at any time most of the GM-Racing drivers are running without sensor wire, sensorless.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 10:16 AM   #94
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dartford, U.K.
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks for the very prompt and informative replies. Sorry to show my ignorance, but do I take it that LRP motors differ in some way in relation to their sensor arrangement, or are they the same as all the others that you mentioned.
Again, many thanks
xraydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 10:21 AM   #95
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default

The sensor arrangement is same as all the others, like Orion, Checkpoint, Trinity and Novak. LRP does have nearly the same, but less Timing.
You can adjust the Timing on our motors and turn it a little backwards (to solder point C) for more efficiency. Some drivers do also drive it original.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 03:55 AM   #96
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dartford, U.K.
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks very much for the very informative answers - feels like the first day at school for me at the moment.
xraydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 12:33 AM   #97
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Campinas
Posts: 362
Send a message via ICQ to piorc
Default

Hey guys, please, somebody knows where i could find gm genius 100 brushless systems and evo3 motors in usa ou some on line hobby shop?
i cant buy via graupner, there just sell for germany!
tks a lot

marcelo
piorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 12:44 AM   #98
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default

Hobby Lobby does order most of the GM-Racing and Graupner products, if you order there.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 08:37 AM   #99
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

I've just got a Genius 100 and the RS232 cable. When I connect the battery to it (5 cell) with the setup cable connected it doesn't power up (or at least no LED lights up and no data is received).

It does power up if I remove the setup cable.

Is that normal behaviour?
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 08:57 AM   #100
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

to transmit or receive datas from/to the genius you have to push the setup button, then connect the esc with the batterie

you hear 6 beeps, wait until only the green led is flashing, no the esc is ready to receive datas.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 01:55 PM   #101
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default

check your 8 pins of the connector. Maybe you bended one and they do a short circuit.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:37 AM   #102
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Okay, almost there I think.

If I use the new "2894.6 PC-Testversion Genius" version of the software, I get an Error "TimeOut" whilst the receive button says "Read Data" (greyed out).

If I use the old "2894.6 Software Genius/PC" software it loads up the data it has received into the application without any errors.

Are there any known problems with the new "test" version?
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:41 AM   #103
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default

"If I use the old "2894.6 Software Genius/PC" software it loads up the data it has received into the application without any errors."

I use also this version. The other one should work, too, but I know the above one much better.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:55 AM   #104
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

The "TestVersion" has settings for sensored or sensorless motors. Does that make any difference to the controllers operation? or is it just for reference purposes?
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:58 AM   #105
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default

It's just for reference.

f.e. Timing is only adjustable for sensorless mode

For sensored motors the timing is adjusted on the sensors.
habicht is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:32 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net