R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2009, 03:15 AM   #961
Tech Apprentice
 
jeppesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 76
Default

Hi Martin

I run a Dr speed 17.5 with a genius 120 in mode 6 and 2s lipo, the track is medium with a lot of tight turns, what gearing would you start with, and how hot can i run the Dr speed motor??


Best regards
jeppesen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 08:36 AM   #962
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

suggested rollout for 10.5 Pro-Stock please using nimh batteries
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 12:27 PM   #963
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lenham, Kent, UK
Posts: 50
Default

Hi guys
I have a gm120 and 10.5 star wind motor running on carpet, rubber tyres over all ratio 7.9 and have started having a problem with the speedo.
if i get a knock or small crash the speedo looses the sensored 8/3 program and looses power, seems to go to a sensorless setting, but will re set after turning off and on again, back to full power till the next crash.
i have fitted a new sensor lead, still does it.
reset the default and re-set 8/3 still does the same
is it the speedo or may be the motor? any ideas?

Last edited by shrek54; 09-19-2009 at 12:35 AM.
shrek54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 04:02 PM   #964
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Martin!

Have you got some saved data (*.gda files) for stock/spec engines ?

Can you post it?

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:30 PM   #965
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PL
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Question about 9.5T motors. Three of this:

https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=6552
https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=97289
https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=97291

All specs are the same. Only RPM is different. So what is different in this motors? Maybe rotor?

See this one is maybe good:

https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=97266

More RPM's but it doesn't have holes so i think it's very hot.

Soo guys what motor you recommend of this four ones for 5 cells.
Thank's orzel24
__________________
-
orzel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:43 PM   #966
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orzel24 View Post
Question about 9.5T motors. Three of this:
It was written, but:
- sport blau = 12mm rotor
- sport purple = 12.5mm rotor
- pro (gray can) ~= 12.3mm rotor (for stock/spec rules)

Best ride was with sport purple or blau (new can and evo 3 rotor 12.5mm with fan).

About dr.speed: it is no good, but is cheap and you can use it for bash

Regards!
m.

ps: you are from PL, so wait for new rules for spec, about 13.5T/Lipo 2S
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 02:15 PM   #967
Tech Rookie
 
Psql's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Default

How can you see without using the PC software if you are running sensor or sensorless? Sensor wire is connected but i have some doubt if it is running with sensors. The ESC shows the sensor position when I turn the spur a little bit. If the ESC does this, it is always in sensor mode?

The last few times I read out my settings with the PC, the software says I'm running sensorless.

Running the 4.9 software with the Stock spec settings in the ESC and also have little cogging sometimes when I stand still and apply some throttle but this is normal? What I can find some pages back.
__________________
Schumacher: Cat SX, Mi2, Mi3, Mi4 Tamiya: F104 Pro, Swift M-03M XRay: M18 Pro Exotek R3
Psql is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 07:02 PM   #968
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi does anyone know the exact function and effect of timing 1 and timing 2?
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 05:11 AM   #969
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeppesen View Post
Hi Martin

I run a Dr speed 17.5 with a genius 120 in mode 6 and 2s lipo, the track is medium with a lot of tight turns, what gearing would you start with, and how hot can i run the Dr speed motor??


Best regards
about 5,5ish

for 10.5 prostock
gearing between 4.0 and 6.0 for 5cell


Your reset issue Sounds like broken Sensor pcb!

I don't do presaved gdas. If you want some I expect a gda from your speedo including your transmitter values etc. Which I then modify

easiest way to find out is, connect sEnsorwire, connect speedo to the battery, do full throttle, unplug sensorwire and do full throttle again
you need to hear a rpm difference when using a stock profile

slight cogging is normal with firmware <6.x


Timing 1 and 2 depend on so many values and explaining everything would take far too much time.
Set both to 110 and forget them! Just don't touch them anymore ...
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 05:35 AM   #970
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 478
Send a message via MSN to PMSorber
Default

Martin,

A new GM95 (12 scale) is under way from Graupner, I dont know the sw-version but they know that we run modified. We plan to combine the esc with a Corally 5.5T Red Pro on a 12 scale. As we are used to run stock and do not know the correct gear-ration for this and programming of the 95...

I was thinking about a ratio of 4 - 4.5 (a bit higher than normal) and to use mode 3. Am I going into the right direction? Any tips or tricks?
__________________
@ConSult Trading
Team Shepherd, PiraniRC, Sonic and Awesomatix BENELUX
www.team-shepherd.nl
PMSorber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:26 AM   #971
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I don't know that motor so I can't say anything about gearing therefore but you need to know that in 12th it's not about gearing but rollout!

Setupwise use regular mode 3 sensorless
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:36 AM   #972
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMSorber View Post

I was thinking about a ratio of 4 - 4.5 (a bit higher than normal) and to use mode 3. Am I going into the right direction? Any tips or tricks?
Hi!

Mode 3 with or without sensor (without working very nice).

There is some Novak suggest about rollout:
http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/b...r_gearing.html

With 5.5T start with about 30-32mm and test for speed and temp of engine

Def of rollout is simple: diameter(mm) tire x pinion x 3.14 / spur = rollout mm, for example, 44x24x3.14/94=35,27mm


Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:51 AM   #973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 478
Send a message via MSN to PMSorber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

Mode 3 with or without sensor (without working very nice).

There is some Novak suggest about rollout:
http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/b...r_gearing.html

With 5.5T start with about 30-32mm and test for speed and temp of engine

Def of rollout is simple: diameter(mm) tire x pinion x 3.14 / spur = rollout mm, for example, 44x24x3.14/94=35,27mm


Regards!
m.
Hey Abramowicz, did'nt I see you somehere on a GM forum
Regarding "without sensor"... keep timing on 30?

Thanks for the info!
__________________
@ConSult Trading
Team Shepherd, PiraniRC, Sonic and Awesomatix BENELUX
www.team-shepherd.nl
PMSorber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 08:11 AM   #974
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMSorber View Post
Hey Abramowicz, did'nt I see you somehere on a GM forum
Regarding "without sensor"... keep timing on 30?

Thanks for the info!
Yep, 30 timing, I know, it should be set like sensored but push it to ESC for
sensorless.

It is possible, but on old GM forum I ask in EN and there was more info then on new forum, but

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 11:07 AM   #975
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lenham, Kent, UK
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrek54 View Post
Hi guys
I have a gm120 and 10.5 star wind motor running on carpet, rubber tyres over all ratio 7.9 and have started having a problem with the speedo.
if i get a knock or small crash the speedo looses the sensored 8/3 program and looses power, seems to go to a sensorless setting, but will re set after turning off and on again, back to full power till the next crash.
i have fitted a new sensor lead, still does it.
reset the default and re-set 8/3 still does the same
is it the speedo or may be the motor? any ideas?
Martin you think it might be a motor sensor pcb yes
shrek54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net