R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2009, 01:52 PM   #901
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
speedo should be switched on

as for the power lack problem

I guess you didn't do the tx setup properly or the sensor wire is broken or there is some progam mistake
I have just heard from a club member that has also the GM that he hath the same problem. He reseted it several time and changed the sensor wire.

He has already a new sensor wire but we will try to reset it tomorrow again.

thanks for the help.
I let him try an other sensor wire.
I will let you now if it worked.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 03:52 AM   #902
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

read the stock how-to and try to set it up like that
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 02:45 PM   #903
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
read the stock how-to and try to set it up like that
Problem solved.
It was his motor.
Thanks for your help. Everything is running fine again.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:39 AM   #904
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Hi all,
I have been running a 6.5 star wind with mode 8 copied over mode 3 for a while now, but this weekend I had issues with 'cogging'... sometimes it would be fine, but other times I'd need someone to push the car to get it rolling.

I factory reset the controller and tried 3 different sensor cables. It was better when running without a sensor cable sometimes.

I have two motors (both star 6.5) and this has only happened to one of them.

Any ideas on what I can check ?

When I copy 8 over 3, the only thing I change is the initial brake (put it to 40 instead of 20)

The one that has this 'cogging' problem gets hotter than the other one, and I found that I couldn't gear them the same on the same track (same car)

I had an FDR of 6.2 on the other one, but couldn't go much below 7.3 with this one. (temps 80c-85c)

Any suggestions welcome.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 05:23 AM   #905
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

sensors broken
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 05:36 AM   #906
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 106
Default

Chris,
You can get replacement sensor boards, check the Graupner site for the part No.
Also check the solder joints between the socket and the board go over them with a small iron it might fix the problem these are know to go occasionally.

Jason
jasonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:20 AM   #907
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

That's a bit disappointing as it was a brand new motor (first run was Saturday and it did it from the start)

I might have a sensor sitting around somewhere at home...

thanks for the info guys
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 04:12 AM   #908
Tech Apprentice
 
jonny123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
Default Few Cosmetic problems.

Hi martin, the sticker on my 120 is all pealing . Will i void the warrenty if i peal it off? Can you get new stickers?

Also i have the found the removable reciever wires a little weak. Especially the short black one. Its really stiff and the wires snap where it goes into the esc. Ive ordered a standard one so ill see how that goes.

Also, does the aluminium case cause interference if too close to the reciever?

Thanks in advance.

-Jonny
__________________
Xray-Hudy-Ko Propo-RC DisCo Uk-Ardent Racing-Boultspeed
jonny123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 05:56 AM   #909
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
That's a bit disappointing as it was a brand new motor (first run was Saturday and it did it from the start)

I might have a sensor sitting around somewhere at home...

thanks for the info guys
In that case it might be that the sensors are too far away from the rotor. Check the rotor is centered properly and you might need to shim the sensor board froward slightly (0.5-1mm on the 3 short screws) if the rotor is sitting close to the pinion end.

Jason
jasonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 06:37 PM   #910
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonb View Post
In that case it might be that the sensors are too far away from the rotor. Check the rotor is centered properly and you might need to shim the sensor board froward slightly (0.5-1mm on the 3 short screws) if the rotor is sitting close to the pinion end.

Jason
I did try shimming the rotor slightly towards the sensor on the day, but that didn't solve it
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:16 PM   #911
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK, Bedfordshire
Posts: 47
Default

Hey Chris what is the motor that you are having probs with?

I have probs running the X12's with GM speedo due to the amount of advanced timing already in the motors, they occasionally cog if I don't set the soft start high enough and they overheat even when undergeared.

Paul Pinkney
blue247carz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:11 PM   #912
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue247carz View Post
Hey Chris what is the motor that you are having probs with?

I have probs running the X12's with GM speedo due to the amount of advanced timing already in the motors, they occasionally cog if I don't set the soft start high enough and they overheat even when undergeared.

Paul Pinkney
Hey Paul, it was a GM 6.5 but i hadn't shimmed it correctly. I re-did it this weekend after Mr Kerswell showed me how to do it properly and it was ok after that
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:12 PM   #913
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Chris - Not sure i'd admit to that one!!!
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:54 PM   #914
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

hehe, i've still got loads to learn
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:53 PM   #915
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny123 View Post
Hi martin, the sticker on my 120 is all pealing . Will i void the warrenty if i peal it off? Can you get new stickers?

Also i have the found the removable reciever wires a little weak. Especially the short black one. Its really stiff and the wires snap where it goes into the esc. Ive ordered a standard one so ill see how that goes.

Also, does the aluminium case cause interference if too close to the reciever?

Thanks in advance.

-Jonny
no you won't void warrianty .. just rip it off (it'S the first thing to do anyway :-P)

I never experienced interference caused by the speedo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue247carz View Post
Hey Chris what is the motor that you are having probs with?

I have probs running the X12's with GM speedo due to the amount of advanced timing already in the motors, they occasionally cog if I don't set the soft start high enough and they overheat even when undergeared.

Paul Pinkney
well I tried the X12 once ... and yes it get's hot but it's designed to do so ... lrp drivers always use it with around 90 - 110 after 5 minutes ...

but if you don'T have to use the X12 why should you :-P
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net