R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2009, 10:57 AM   #856
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
can you tell me which firmware version you got? (when you read out the esc, the white log box opens, after 38 values have been received, the firmware version will be displayed in the top left of the white box)
37) Firmware : 47; TimeDiff : 0.1279 s

Best Regards

Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 11:27 AM   #857
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

have you read the stock how-to?
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 11:34 AM   #858
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Robert, I have to confess myself that when i first switched to GM, the breaking did feel very strange, but i'm not sure the same as you describe. for me, I have to run a lot of initial break (40 usually, but have gone as high as 45) and initially I had to run with some autobreak - 10 I think. I don't run that any more though.

It does sound a little strange, but i do wonder if it's just "different". Has it always been this way since you had the ESC.

I'm not an expert on the firmware versions, 4.7 has now been improved, but i think it was ok. I'm sure i have seen some of the UK guys have this on their speedos with no obvious issues - but then we are generally running mod and sensorless, and that does change the breaking for sure. Martin will know more about the firmware changes.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 12:55 PM   #859
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
have you read the stock how-to?
Yes, it's almoste underneed my pillow ;-).
I've tried several things, from a modified mode (1) to a Stock Mode (8), To copying 8 in 3 and 6 in 3, but the braking is the same horrible fact. It's not the feeling that is my problem, its the bigger amount of time (this is a lot more than the Nosram, like said before) that I'm worried about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
Robert, I have to confess myself that when i first switched to GM, the breaking did feel very strange, but i'm not sure the same as you describe. for me, I have to run a lot of initial break (40 usually, but have gone as high as 45) and initially I had to run with some autobreak - 10 I think. I don't run that any more though.

It does sound a little strange, but i do wonder if it's just "different". Has it always been this way since you had the ESC.

I'm not an expert on the firmware versions, 4.7 has now been improved, but i think it was ok. I'm sure i have seen some of the UK guys have this on their speedos with no obvious issues - but then we are generally running mod and sensorless, and that does change the breaking for sure. Martin will know more about the firmware changes.
I can understand what you mean. And I'm for sure it's different, that doesn't matter for me. But I can not understand that with all the Transmitter ratings at 100 (not 150), and the software at Max Brake 100, Full Brake 100, and Initial brake 40, that I Need to brake for about 25 meter's with a GM speedo, and have blocked wheels at the end of the "brake session" and with the Nosram just 5 meters of braking and only when I slam the brakes realy hard I've got blocking wheels. Is My speedo broke, or am I doing something wrong? Are there maybe more Transmitter EPA's and settings that the Speedo listens to, or something like that?

Is there some test orso that can be done by Graupner when I send my speedo back? (and maybe give it new wires XD )

Best Regards,
Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 01:20 PM   #860
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

As one test with your radio, I would suggest setting your esc/car up to a brand new and un-used profile if you still have one. I have had some strange issues with just one profile on my radio (also KO) before. I only had it once, but it is worth trying.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:13 PM   #861
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert_K View Post
Yes, it's almoste underneed my pillow ;-).
I've tried several things, from a modified mode (1) to a Stock Mode (8), To copying 8 in 3 and 6 in 3, but the braking is the same horrible fact. It's not the feeling that is my problem, its the bigger amount of time (this is a lot more than the Nosram, like said before) that I'm worried about.



I can understand what you mean. And I'm for sure it's different, that doesn't matter for me. But I can not understand that with all the Transmitter ratings at 100 (not 150), and the software at Max Brake 100, Full Brake 100, and Initial brake 40, that I Need to brake for about 25 meter's with a GM speedo, and have blocked wheels at the end of the "brake session" and with the Nosram just 5 meters of braking and only when I slam the brakes realy hard I've got blocking wheels. Is My speedo broke, or am I doing something wrong? Are there maybe more Transmitter EPA's and settings that the Speedo listens to, or something like that?

Is there some test orso that can be done by Graupner when I send my speedo back? (and maybe give it new wires XD )

Best Regards,
Robert
could you send me your current esc profile of whatever mode you are using (mode 3 I guess)?

you can save it after reading out the ESC with the PC software, then click file and save .gda

[email protected] (email / msn)

I'm sure we can get rid of your issues easily, usually GM got the hardest brakes you can have ...
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 07:30 AM   #862
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Hi Martin
Could you tell me how to do a factory re-set please.
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 11:43 AM   #863
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Go into the mode picking process, do full throttle, then full brake, then push and hold the set button untill the esc beeps. It will beep different to the regular beeping when you pick modes as regular
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:40 PM   #864
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
Go into the mode picking process, do full throttle, then full brake, then push and hold the set button untill the esc beeps. It will beep different to the regular beeping when you pick modes as regular
Many thanks, and touch wood it seems to have sorted the delay to
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 10:16 AM   #865
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Martin,

nice pics at your site from wet race

How you prepare GM's esc for wet race?
Any tip?

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 02:53 AM   #866
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys

I'm hoping for a little gearing advice please

I'm running a TRF 416 WE TC indoors on rubber tyres
GM 10.5 and GM 120 speedo set as per the "stock how to"

The track is quite technical but with a 100+ foot straight

could you give me a starting point please?

Cheers

Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:27 AM   #867
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

good starting point is about 6.0 to 6.3
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:36 AM   #868
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

where can i find some setings tips for the extra timing or turbo funtion
i run now 8in3 or 6in3 but i need som extra power at the strait
had a good setting from a team driver with loads of power.
but did by accident a factory reset
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:50 AM   #869
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Martin,

nice pics at your site from wet race

How you prepare GM's esc for wet race?
Any tip?

Regards!
m.
use the fingers of a latex glove and some blue-tack / serpent cleaning gum

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
where can i find some setings tips for the extra timing or turbo funtion
i run now 8in3 or 6in3 but i need som extra power at the strait
had a good setting from a team driver with loads of power.
but did by accident a factory reset
6 in 3 is about as fast as it gets if done properly according to the stock how-to
there are no special teamdrivers settings whatsoever

if you lack topend just gear longer ....
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 02:21 PM   #870
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK, Bedfordshire
Posts: 47
Default

Hi Martin, I am running a GM 6.5t with 12.5mm rotor and Lipo on a GM90 esc. The software version is 4.8 and there are people saying that the later software versions give more performance and a better feel. Is this true and if so what version should I upgrade to and how can I do this.
I am currently running in mode 8 over 3.

Many Thanks

Paul
blue247carz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net