R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2009, 04:48 AM   #841
Tech Initiate
 
Jesper Jacobsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Default Pre Euro test session video!

here is a little Euro short video of jonas Kaerup and his tamiya 416 with gm brushless...

sorry rctech will not allow me to post a direct link.

youtube and my user name is "jesperj75" should'n be too hard to find.
__________________
TEAM MORFARS.DK Associated RC8B + Novarossi PLUS 4 + Savox servoes + Merlin Fuel.
Jesper Jacobsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:06 AM   #842
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

nice vid

wheres the track ??

looks awsome
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:20 AM   #843
Tech Initiate
 
Jesper Jacobsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
nice vid

wheres the track ??

looks awsome
It's in luxemburg just outside the city itself.

tjeck lmcc dot lu
__________________
TEAM MORFARS.DK Associated RC8B + Novarossi PLUS 4 + Savox servoes + Merlin Fuel.
Jesper Jacobsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 05:11 AM   #844
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Setting's

Hello Martin,

Can you help me out as i am a noob as to the new types of esc.
I have a GM90 new type i believe and run it with a LRP X11 10.5 stock motor sensored.
Our track has a straight of about 40 meters and a rather tech part infield(look at youtube under Model Racing Midland).
At the moment i run a fdr of about 4.4 and mode 6 on the esc.
Can you help setting the esc up for me??
I have the pc interface cable allready so i can do some programming at home.
Please help as i am totally new to this kind of esc's

regards Roy
Ps Car i drive is a Team Magic E4RS 2008
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 11:33 AM   #845
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I posted a stock how-to a few pages back, have a read through it and you'll understand

when you run 10.5/lipo copy mode 8 to 3, when you run it with 5cells copy mode 6 to 3 and you are set
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:05 AM   #846
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Hey Martin, can I use the 2894.12 programer on the Genius 50 - 120 esc's for track side set up ? Will it allow me to access all the features just like with the pc ??
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:15 AM   #847
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

no, it will only allow you acces to the 17basic settings and is therefore not 100% suited for escs with the new firmware
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:39 AM   #848
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default FIRMWARE

Martin,

I see some new firmware has been released V7.2.

I am currently running v4.9 with 13.5T and Lipo, what are the main changes? And is it worth an upgrade?
Mad Gerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:50 PM   #849
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Gerbil View Post
Martin,

I see some new firmware has been released V7.2.

I am currently running v4.9 with 13.5T and Lipo, what are the main changes? And is it worth an upgrade?
--
Ralf said that:
Dear Michal,

i can't give you %.
It depends on the driving style, but up to 0.1-0.2s per lap.
--

Now you can think about it.



Regards!

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:00 PM   #850
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Hi Martin
Well I put the soft start back to the default setting as you suggested, and I also coppied 8 over 3, but I still get a delay off the start line, if anything its now worse than before, any suggestions would be helpfull please, the one thing ive not tried, is to change the sensor wire.
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 02:16 PM   #851
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

then do that ...
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 05:02 PM   #852
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

ok, will do, and if that don't work then what?
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:45 AM   #853
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

At last ETS event in Germany, GM esc was in the top or bid by LRP SPX?



no offence :-) only asking

Regards!

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 06:53 AM   #854
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Martin,

A small question. Ive been testing with the GM120, and like the power it produces. But I'm having a lot of problems with braking. It is just nog braking as it should be. Im comparing this GM120 with the Nosram Stock Spec.
I've got an old GM120 Purple version, but it has a firmware update from last 1:12 scale stock Euro's. I've also downloaded the last Program from the GM Website, and read to al lot of the pages of this topic, but can not seem te find anything.

My car is just not braking hard enough, and it has a strange curve. My transmitter (Ko Helios) is set at 100 (not 150), and I've tried several Profiles, but tested most of all with the profile 6 in 3. In the software at the tab Reserved i've tried te new brake software, the new auto brake software, and the current limit for braking to set these on and off, but all of them would not work. ABS Didn't work either. I've tried severe Factory Reset's

When I brake a full speed it does not brake hard, but just slightley, and when the car slows down it's starting to brake harder and harder, and just at the point when you want to enter a corner it block's its wheels. It just a strange curve, and even the wrong way around curve if you have the "new brake software" that should brake hard when you run fast, and brake softer when you are runnig slower, my brake is just different.
I've tried Ful Brake and Brake Max in severeal different positions fomr 80 to 100 but these didn't work, I tried to run more initial brake (40) and that seem to smoothen the curve a bit.

When I Compare this to my Nosram Speedo I need to brake just 25% of the time with my Nosram instead of my GM120. Al this running has been done in a 4WD TC with a Spool out front, at the Mach Heemstede, Apeldoorn and HFCC in Holland

Can you give me some advise to solve this problem?

My Best Regards,

Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:06 AM   #855
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert_K View Post
Martin,

A small question. Ive been testing with the GM120, and like the power it produces. But I'm having a lot of problems with braking. It is just nog braking as it should be. Im comparing this GM120 with the Nosram Stock Spec.
I've got an old GM120 Purple version, but it has a firmware update from last 1:12 scale stock Euro's. I've also downloaded the last Program from the GM Website, and read to al lot of the pages of this topic, but can not seem te find anything.

My car is just not braking hard enough, and it has a strange curve. My transmitter (Ko Helios) is set at 100 (not 150), and I've tried several Profiles, but tested most of all with the profile 6 in 3. In the software at the tab Reserved i've tried te new brake software, the new auto brake software, and the current limit for braking to set these on and off, but all of them would not work. ABS Didn't work either. I've tried severe Factory Reset's

When I brake a full speed it does not brake hard, but just slightley, and when the car slows down it's starting to brake harder and harder, and just at the point when you want to enter a corner it block's its wheels. It just a strange curve, and even the wrong way around curve if you have the "new brake software" that should brake hard when you run fast, and brake softer when you are runnig slower, my brake is just different.
I've tried Ful Brake and Brake Max in severeal different positions fomr 80 to 100 but these didn't work, I tried to run more initial brake (40) and that seem to smoothen the curve a bit.

When I Compare this to my Nosram Speedo I need to brake just 25% of the time with my Nosram instead of my GM120. Al this running has been done in a 4WD TC with a Spool out front, at the Mach Heemstede, Apeldoorn and HFCC in Holland

Can you give me some advise to solve this problem?

My Best Regards,

Robert
can you tell me which firmware version you got? (when you read out the esc, the white log box opens, after 38 values have been received, the firmware version will be displayed in the top left of the white box)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
At last ETS event in Germany, GM esc was in the top or bid by LRP SPX?



no offence :-) only asking

Regards!

m.
the 2 fastest drivers Daniel Wohlgemut and Alex Stocker used GM ESCs (Stocker used lrp on sunday though)
it was just very bad luck that they did not win the race

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
ok, will do, and if that don't work then what?
Cheers Malc
I really can't think of a cause of such a delay, as I don't know how much of a delay you mean ....

the only thinkg I can think about is that you might have messed up the ESC program ... therefore a factory reset should do
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net