R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 11:04 PM   #61
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

different motor/magnet combinations:

if you put a 12mm mag into a 3,5T and then put it in a 7T delta you will recognize that it spins totally different.

i have posted the list of which mag usually is best in that specific motor.
the 12mm mag basicly saves quite a bit of energie but only if you drive smooth. It rolls more but this helps you only if you let it roll.

if u use a 3,5T and want more torque gear it longer (yes right).
on 1:8 tracks we use gearings between 7,2 - 6,7 - 8

on normal size tracks maybe 7,5 - 8,2

indoors i use 8,5 - 10
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:11 AM   #62
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Which version of the PC Setup Software should I use?

Are there any recommended settings for conserving energy when running 5 cell?
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:21 AM   #63
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Use the newer one.

Regarding program. Here's what i use atm:

softgas 100
amplimit 200
turbo 1
frequency 1
switch0
abs0
autobrake 0
autorun 0
startamp 130
minbrake 20
maxbrake 92
fullbrake 92
reserved 22 (sometimes 23)

it is very precise on throttle input. super direct with LOADS of punch
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 04:10 AM   #64
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,
I have been having some trouble with my GM Genius 95 (I think it's the old one). It has been cogging very badly lately, I'm running a Novak 3.5 with the sensors plugged in. I've got three GM caps in parallel soldered to it.
My settings are: AUTOBRK 0%
BRAKEMAX 100%
FULLBRAKE 100%
MAXREVERSE 0%
ABS off
AUTOGAS 0
SOFGAS 0.25s
TIMING 30 degrees
RPM LIMIT 90000
AMPLIMIT 140A
START AMP 200A
TURBO 2A
POWERCURVE linear
BRAKEMIN 0%
RESERVED 6
FREQUENCY 0
The speedo has had quite a bit of use, is there any chance the caps may be a bit old and cause this cogging. If not what else would cause this (I’ve ran the same motor with another speedo and it ran fine, I also tried a different turn motor on the GM 95 and the problem persisted)
Thanks, Drew.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:54 AM   #65
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it mayhappen, that one of the wires of the caps burn through and causes cogging. replace/resolder them caps should solve that problem. also you can make a new radio setup
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 04:08 PM   #66
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
it mayhappen, that one of the wires of the caps burn through and causes cogging. replace/resolder them caps should solve that problem. also you can make a new radio setup
Hi Martin,
I have checked the caps and all of the wires are fine, I will try new caps next weekend. I'm running a spektrum system with a cap on the reciever so i doubt thats where the problem would be coming from.
Thanks, Drew.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:34 PM   #67
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 444
Default

I have a heat sink attached to the short side of the speedo. Is it possible to remove it? Itīs attached by Mr. Helbing himself...
__________________
Xray - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:40 PM   #68
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

of course you can remove it.

but you have to think about a way to close the case as to attach the heatsink, part of the plastic case has to be removed. you can either order a new case or close it on any other way

to remove the heatsink first remove the 2 screws that hold the heatsink in place, then you can "brake" it off as it is additionaly glued together.

hope this helps you.

cheers.

martin
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 03:54 PM   #69
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

So what are the pros and cons of the delta wrap?
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:32 PM   #70
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 89
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to afonsospt
Default

Hi,

I have Gm Genius95 and evo3 4,5T motor.
Im not sure about lipo cutoff.I think it cuts at 57/80 of the initial charge,which gives aprox 6,0v if I start with a 100% full pack.
My concern is it safe to use a 80-85% charge lipo pack and have cutoff at 6v?or safe cutoff is only for a full charge pack?
Thanks
afonsospt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 02:45 AM   #71
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
of course you can remove it.

but you have to think about a way to close the case as to attach the heatsink, part of the plastic case has to be removed. you can either order a new case or close it on any other way

to remove the heatsink first remove the 2 screws that hold the heatsink in place, then you can "brake" it off as it is additionaly glued together.

hope this helps you.

cheers.

martin
Great!
Why do the gap need to be closed? Isnīt it better cooling if itīs open?

Can I close it with a piece of lexan?
__________________
Xray - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:47 AM   #72
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

About GM brushless motors, whatīs is the diference in run time, and final speed, and torque if you move the end bel from position B to C?

Why they say if you use other speed control you should set it at C position ?
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:54 AM   #73
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,309
Default

between GM and Novak BL which one is faster???
__________________
SABRE S4 by TOP RACING....
t4m1y4niac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 10:36 AM   #74
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Nuno, that will give more run time, but i think a little less RPM. It's all down to the way that the ESC "fires" the coils. The GM is different to LRP in this way. I have heard it described as "internal timing".

I always run mid C (as instructions) when running 3.5 and LRP speedo.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:06 AM   #75
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 444
Default

If you run sensorless Iīve heard that it doesnīt matter wich position you put the endbell at?
__________________
Xray - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net