R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2009, 01:46 AM   #631
Tech Regular
 
alan1467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_S View Post
Removing the fan shouldnt be a problem as i run 10.5 tourer with no fan and the speedos not even hot when i bring the car in. If you are at carlisle tomorow i will show you.
Thanks John

Wont be there sunday as I'm working all weekend

Aaln
__________________
Tamiya TRF - Tekin
F104W Pro - CRC Gen X10
alan1467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:09 AM   #632
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alan1467 View Post
I have a GM120 brushless speed controller that is 3 months old that the set button has stopped working on anyone else had this problem?
It unortunately is an error occuring on some little older escs caused by the button manufacturer

spray electric cleaner / wet protect into the esc and the button will work again

btw, problem solved now ... new buttonmanu.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 06:41 AM   #633
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Hi Martin !

Do you use the sensor on big track ? Like Luxemburg (EC)
And which mode do you use to have more runtime ?
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:59 AM   #634
Tech Regular
 
alan1467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
It unortunately is an error occuring on some little older escs caused by the button manufacturer

spray electric cleaner / wet protect into the esc and the button will work again

btw, problem solved now ... new buttonmanu.
sprayed with electronic cleaner and it now works perfectly

Thanks

Alan
__________________
Tamiya TRF - Tekin
F104W Pro - CRC Gen X10
alan1467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:14 AM   #635
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to canto54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu_05' View Post
Hi Martin !

Do you use the sensor on big track ? Like Luxemburg (EC)
And which mode do you use to have more runtime ?
Hi, on Luxembourg track, I run Martin's modified setup with a 6t delta and the 12mm magnet. I run sensorless and no runtime issue. I can give you the setup when I will be back to home if needed.
__________________
Robitronic Avid V2
Robitronic - Graupner - GM racing
JP Products
www.mrclongwy.fr
www.petitrc.com
canto54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 10:16 AM   #636
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I have not been to luxemburg yet but i will do some testing at the euros warmup

we will have some good settings at the euros for sure
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:20 AM   #637
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canto54 View Post
Hi, on Luxembourg track, I run Martin's modified setup with a 6t delta and the 12mm magnet. I run sensorless and no runtime issue. I can give you the setup when I will be back to home if needed.
Hi

ThX for you answer

Can you give me the Matin's modified setup ?

PS : It's Kimi
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:19 AM   #638
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Default

what is the differance between the oem version 1 and the normal genius 120.I've heard that it has something to do with the settings 9,10,and 26.

If so,can you adjust the setting your self(unlock???).Or do you have to send the esc back to gm/graupner



thanks
kc steringa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:43 AM   #639
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

total bs

the esc itself is in no point different!
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:23 PM   #640
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Default

thanx martin

now i've just got to wait till they are delivered to my lhs.
kc steringa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:36 AM   #641
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Hi,

I have recently purchase a GM Genius 120 to use mainly for 13.5t and 17.5t motors. I have done some testing and at the moment stuck on Mode 3 but modified for stock as detailed in Martin's description earlier in this thread.

The question's I have are as follows:
- Does anyone used Mode 8 for 13.5 / 17.5? If so how does the gearing compare with mode 3 and does it give an advantage?
- Does anyone use the Turbo function and what affect does it have?
- What frequency is best to use and why?

Thanks
Mad Gerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:50 AM   #642
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

moe 8 got even more timing but might make the motor fade pretty bad ...
you can also try to copy mode 6 to mode 3 which should give you little more power bottom - mid rpm

the turbo function is always left a 1A .. more feels ugly

+ it does not have any affect on stock motors anyway as the ampdraw of those is far too low

frequency 16kc always for stock (higher freq = more punch)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 04:29 AM   #643
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
moe 8 got even more timing but might make the motor fade pretty bad ...
you can also try to copy mode 6 to mode 3 which should give you little more power bottom - mid rpm

the turbo function is always left a 1A .. more feels ugly

+ it does not have any affect on stock motors anyway as the ampdraw of those is far too low

frequency 16kc always for stock (higher freq = more punch)
Thanks for the super quick reply.

- Does the frequency at 16Kc add a lot of temperature to the motor as compared with 8Kc?
- Would you always recommend 30deg of timing selected in the prog? as if this is reduced to 15deg it has a massive effect on the max RPM.
- Approximately what is the timing difference in the modes, i know you list them as follows Mode 6,7,3,8 from least to most but how much difference is there in each case?

Thanks
Mad Gerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 05:10 AM   #644
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Gerbil View Post
Thanks for the super quick reply.

- Does the frequency at 16Kc add a lot of temperature to the motor as compared with 8Kc?
no
- Would you always recommend 30deg of timing selected in the prog? as if this is reduced to 15deg it has a massive effect on the max RPM.
30/+30 must be used, otherwise the stock software background won't work
- Approximately what is the timing difference in the modes, i know you list them as follows Mode 6,7,3,8 from least to most but how much difference is there in each case?

6,7 / 3 / 8 is the order

30 / 45 / 60 degree of timing

Thanks
see above
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:04 AM   #645
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Martin

Thanks once again for the information and speed of your reply.

Some more questions:
- When a factory reset is done i guess all profiles go back to the factory settings and the unit goes back to profile 0, is this correct?
- When you alter settings in a particular mode will these changes remain on that mode if you use the transmitter to change to another mode and then go back to the original mode later on?
- What sort of max current setting should you use for 13.5 / 17.5 motors or does it not matter?
- What does soft brake do?
Mad Gerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:08 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net