R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2009, 09:58 AM   #511
Tech Regular
 
Kajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so if I change modes with sender, all data stays in memory and all settings take effect on another mode. When I change mode with PC, I copy mode from one memory bank to another,but some things don't change like no reverse?
__________________
XXX-S G+, XXX-S, TRF 415MS, SCTE 2.0, SCTE TLD, Kyosho DRX VE
Kajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:08 AM   #512
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

switching modes with tx: modes remain unchanged, you just switch modes

switching with pc: you COPY one mode into another and thus changed the original modes programming (i.e. if you copy a mod. mode into a stock mode you erase the stock specific parts)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:38 PM   #513
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 89
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to afonsospt
Default

Thanks a lot Martin.
Awesome information.
afonsospt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:44 AM   #514
Tech Regular
 
alan1467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 352
Default

HI Martin

I sent my GM100 to GM for repair just before the Christmas holidays but I've not heard anyting from them after the letter saying they had received it. Can you check?

thanks

Alan Harland (in the UK)
__________________
Tamiya TRF - Tekin
F104W Pro - CRC Gen X10
alan1467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:42 AM   #515
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it's pretty hard for me to check such things

I guess the best wouldbe to just call GM an ask the service technician
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:55 PM   #516
Tech Regular
 
Kajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hello Martin,
I just started to think, that I may misunderstand the way new GM software works. So it seems that now all 8 modes are kind of preset memories, where I can copy my own settings with pc? I choose one mode with tx, then I can copy it with pc to another mode like people do with mode 8 to mode 3?
__________________
XXX-S G+, XXX-S, TRF 415MS, SCTE 2.0, SCTE TLD, Kyosho DRX VE
Kajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:48 PM   #517
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Hello,

I was wondering where i can buy GM ESC's from online??

And locally here in Australia??

thanks
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:45 PM   #518
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Every mode is different in programming.
i.e.

Mode 1,2&3 are programmed for modified

4,5 are for "bashing" -> reverse ...

6,7&8 are meant for Stock racing

They all differ in their background programm

This program cannot be copied!

What you can copy is the changeable values you find in the pc Software

- standard settings
-advanced settings

But what you don't See is that there are a few 'developers only' values who i.e. have influence on timing in Stock modes.

When you now change modes via pc, you copy standard, advanced and dev. Values!

This is why you should never switch modes via pc, unless me or ralf specificly tell you to.

I hope you understood now.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 11:15 PM   #519
Tech Regular
 
Kajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, now I fully understand finally Things with copying modes with pc on GM forum messed a little bit in my head, but you did it back
Can you tell me is it worth to change Genius 95 with additional heatsink for Genius 120 for the summer time or the difference will not be amazing in temperatures and punch? Which of esc from "old" line did you use and how do you compare them to new ones? Of course old with new software. Anyway, thanks a lot for help, you have more explanation capabilities than Ralf
__________________
XXX-S G+, XXX-S, TRF 415MS, SCTE 2.0, SCTE TLD, Kyosho DRX VE
Kajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 02:49 AM   #520
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I used to use a genius 95 with top heatsink and sometimes a little 25mm muchmore fan

the new escs are smaller and feel a little different ... more precise .. hard to explain

but the 95 is still a great ESC
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:34 PM   #521
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Hi ,

I recently bought a GM 6t ( wich is aparently = to a 3t ) and i would like to know the gearing form flowing track to tight track .
Is this motor able to keep up with the mod drivers who use a 3.5 nosram ?
I will be runing 5 cell mod with this motor and i just would like to know the gearings and if its posible to keep up with a NOSRAM 3.5 ?
Also , is this motor sensored or sensorless.

Thanks for any help .
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:46 PM   #522
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

a 7T is pretty similar to a nosram 3.5

6T is quite a bit faster

gearing is correct, when the motor reaches a temp of around 80C

on a large outdoortrack you will find to run gearings down to 6.5-7.5

generally the longer you gear, the faster it gets and the more punch out of the corners it has

indoors you will want to run between 7.8 - 8.5 depending on tracksize
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:14 PM   #523
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
a 7T is pretty similar to a nosram 3.5

6T is quite a bit faster

gearing is correct, when the motor reaches a temp of around 80C

on a large outdoortrack you will find to run gearings down to 6.5-7.5

generally the longer you gear, the faster it gets and the more punch out of the corners it has

indoors you will want to run between 7.8 - 8.5 depending on tracksize
Thanks for the reply , but is the motor sensored or sensorless ?
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:36 PM   #524
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it's sensored but with the GM Esc we never use sensors ...
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:41 PM   #525
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
it's sensored but with the GM Esc we never use sensors ...
So it is sensored so i can use it with my novak GTB , am i right ?
WHy do you use it sensorless with the GM ESC ?
Will my 6t performe well beigh sensored and used with a GTB instead of a GM ESC ?
Also , as i can see , the nosram 3.5 has 600 watts and this GM 6t has 400 watts , will the runtime be longer on the GM motor as its less powerfull .

Last edited by cyclone speed; 01-27-2009 at 02:23 PM.
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net