R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2008, 12:48 PM   #466
MSB
Tech Adept
 
MSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 191
Send a message via Yahoo to MSB
Default

Hi Martin,

I send you a PM some days ago, not quite sure if you received.
__________________
cheers
Miguel S. Braga
MSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 01:12 PM   #467
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,106
Default

thanks Mr Hofer ! I sent you an email. NO, two emails.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:03 AM   #468
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Hi there,

I've just bought the GM120 esc and it looks really nice. I never saw so thick PCB board, neither a esc in which both the top/bottom FETs are directly attached to the heatsink. Great work done here!

However the motor cables seem to be too thin... Won't they cause too much voltage drop at high currents?

I'm going to use this esc with a LRP X11 9.5T motor not using the sensor cable with a LiPo battery. Do I need to add additional caps to the esc?

I have one cap, 5600uF but only 10V, which I can add. As I'm only going to use 2s LiPo, 10V should be safe, right?

Will this configuration work Ok with the LRP motor?

0) Receive First Byte11/5/2008 1:45:19 PM
1) AMP Limit : 250; TimeDiff : 0.1464 s
2) Turbo : 9; TimeDiff : 0.1083 s
3) BrakeMin : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1289 s
4) BrakeMax : 80; TimeDiff : 0.1463 s
5) Start Amp : 120; TimeDiff : 0.1108 s
6) Auto Brake : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1468 s
7) Frequency : 1; TimeDiff : 0.1108 s
8) PowerCurve : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1291 s
9) Autogas : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1270 s
10) FullBrake : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1280 s
11) MaxReverse : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1282 s
12) Switch : 134; TimeDiff : 0.1272 s
13) ABS : 1; TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
14) RPMLimit : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1274 s
15) Reserved : 50; TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
16) Timing : 19; TimeDiff : 0.1454 s
17) Softgas : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1080 s
18) Reserved1 : 128; TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
19) Softbrake : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1271 s
20) FullThrottle : 89 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
20) FullThrottle : 16 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1266 s
20) FullThrottle : 22800; TimeDiff : 0.1266 s
21) NeutralPoint : 63 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1216 s
21) NeutralPoint : 172 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
21) NeutralPoint : 16300; TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 39 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1197 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 16 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1249 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 10000; TimeDiff : 0.1249 s
23) Neutral Point Width : 80; TimeDiff : 0.1198 s
24) Controller Mode : 32; TimeDiff : 0.1246 s
25) VoltageCutOff : 250; TimeDiff : 0.1253 s
26) PWMStartNoSensor : 128; TimeDiff : 0.1229 s
27) LimStartNoSensor [A] : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1387 s
28) ProgramNumber : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1175 s
29) Aktive Diode Mode : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1450 s
30) Switch StartMode : 143; TimeDiff : 0.1279 s
31) DelayTimeComp : 15; TimeDiff : 0.1233 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 1 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1061 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 44 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1230 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 300; TimeDiff : 0.1230 s
33) AktiveDiodeMaxTime : 110; TimeDiff : 0.1111 s
34) AktiveDiodeMinTime : 90; TimeDiff : 0.1195 s
35) Dead Time Fets : 205; TimeDiff : 0.1187 s
36) MaxRPM : 255; TimeDiff : 0.1197 s
37) Firmware : 46; TimeDiff : 0.1210 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1192 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1182 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1182 s

Can you please explain how the esc is configured to the radio? I mean, full throttle range, brake, idle band, etc... is it done manually through the usb port only?

Concerning the "turbo" function, can you please a little bit how this works?

Thanks in advance,
Helder.
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:20 AM   #469
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hhsilva View Post
Hi there,

I've just bought the GM120 esc and it looks really nice. I never saw so thick PCB board, neither a esc in which both the top/bottom FETs are directly attached to the heatsink. Great work done here!

However the motor cables seem to be too thin... Won't they cause too much voltage drop at high currents?

I'm going to use this esc with a LRP X11 9.5T motor not using the sensor cable with a LiPo battery. Do I need to add additional caps to the esc?

I have one cap, 5600uF but only 10V, which I can add. As I'm only going to use 2s LiPo, 10V should be safe, right?

Will this configuration work Ok with the LRP motor?

0) Receive First Byte11/5/2008 1:45:19 PM
1) AMP Limit : 250; TimeDiff : 0.1464 s
2) Turbo : 9; TimeDiff : 0.1083 s
wrong, set 1 and leave it that way, more doesn't feel good when driving
3) BrakeMin : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1289 s
4) BrakeMax : 80; TimeDiff : 0.1463 s
5) Start Amp : 120; TimeDiff : 0.1108 s
6) Auto Brake : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1468 s
use 0 - 10% not more
7) Frequency : 1; TimeDiff : 0.1108 s
8) PowerCurve : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1291 s
9) Autogas : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1270 s
10) FullBrake : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1280 s
Fullbrake should always be the same as maxbrake
11) MaxReverse : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1282 s
12) Switch : 134; TimeDiff : 0.1272 s
switch either always on or short press on/off
13) ABS : 1; TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
abs off!
14) RPMLimit : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1274 s
15) Reserved : 50; TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
reserved 22!
16) Timing : 19; TimeDiff : 0.1454 s
set 30 / +30 in mode 7
17) Softgas : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1080 s
18) Reserved1 : 128; TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
19) Softbrake : 100; TimeDiff : 0.1271 s
20) FullThrottle : 89 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1264 s
20) FullThrottle : 16 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1266 s
20) FullThrottle : 22800; TimeDiff : 0.1266 s
21) NeutralPoint : 63 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1216 s
21) NeutralPoint : 172 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
21) NeutralPoint : 16300; TimeDiff : 0.1262 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 39 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1197 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 16 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1249 s
22) FullBrakePoint : 10000; TimeDiff : 0.1249 s
23) Neutral Point Width : 80; TimeDiff : 0.1198 s
24) Controller Mode : 32; TimeDiff : 0.1246 s
25) VoltageCutOff : 250; TimeDiff : 0.1253 s
26) PWMStartNoSensor : 128; TimeDiff : 0.1229 s
27) LimStartNoSensor [A] : 30; TimeDiff : 0.1387 s
28) ProgramNumber : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1175 s
wrong! progam 7 or 8
29) Aktive Diode Mode : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1450 s
30) Switch StartMode : 143; TimeDiff : 0.1279 s
31) DelayTimeComp : 15; TimeDiff : 0.1233 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 1 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1061 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 44 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1230 s
32) AktiveDiodeMaxDiff : 300; TimeDiff : 0.1230 s
33) AktiveDiodeMaxTime : 110; TimeDiff : 0.1111 s
34) AktiveDiodeMinTime : 90; TimeDiff : 0.1195 s
35) Dead Time Fets : 205; TimeDiff : 0.1187 s
36) MaxRPM : 255; TimeDiff : 0.1197 s
37) Firmware : 46; TimeDiff : 0.1210 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0 (HighByte); TimeDiff : 0.1192 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0 (LowByte); TimeDiff : 0.1182 s
38) MaxCurrent : 0; TimeDiff : 0.1182 s

Can you please explain how the esc is configured to the radio? I mean, full throttle range, brake, idle band, etc... is it done manually through the usb port only?

Concerning the "turbo" function, can you please a little bit how this works?

Thanks in advance,
Helder.
1. when running 9.5T use a sensor wire and mode 7 or 8, then it will be A LOT faster

2. you set the mode you want to use via the throttle of your radio, while doing so the esc saves fullthrottle/fullbrake/idle band etc.

in your case you will want to use mode 7 or 8

means

mode 7: connect to batt, wait for the esc to boot, press button till you hear a long beep

then fullthrottle (1beep),
fullbrake (2beeps),
fullthrottle (3beeps),
fullbrake (4beeps),
fullthrottle (5beeps),
fullbrake (6beeps),
fullthrottle (7beeps) -> mode 7 -> leave trigger in fullthrottle position till the esc does one long beep and 7 short beeps, then mode 7 is set correctly

or if you do

fullbrake (8beeps) once more you'll have mode 8 set -> leave trigger in f-brake pos. till you hear 1 long and 8 short beeps

Important: always wait for the esc to finish beeping between trigger position changes! and when you reached the mode wanted leave the trigger in last positon

the wires are thick enough ...
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:09 AM   #470
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks a lot Martin.

So, this means that you can only change modes through the radio and through the usb cable the only thing you can do is to personalize each mode (and not change modes). Is this correct?

And if I do some change through the PC and then switch between modes using the radio, the PC configuration is lost and when I go back to that mode it will have the default values, right?
Unless I use the mode option when programming through the PC, right?

And about the extra capacitor? Do I need one?

Cheers,
Helder.
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:28 AM   #471
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

see below

Quote:
Originally Posted by hhsilva View Post
Thanks a lot Martin.

So, this means that you can only change modes through the radio and through the usb cable the only thing you can do is to personalize each mode (and not change modes). Is this correct?
you can do it with the pc software too, but then background information gets transfered too and can mess up the modes so I recommend to use the transmitter to switch between modes, this way you also get a fresh tranni setup too :-)

And if I do some change through the PC and then switch between modes using the radio, the PC configuration is lost and when I go back to that mode it will have the default values, right?
Unless I use the mode option when programming through the PC, right?
once you changed a mode it stays that way .. you can switch between modes as often as you want ... the modes themself are not unfluenced by that

And about the extra capacitor? Do I need one?
you don't need an extra cap

Cheers,
Helder.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:36 AM   #472
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

More question... (being a pain in the a**),

If using mode 8 with sensor cable with the LRP X11 9.5T it will have +30 of timing in the GM120. Normally I use 0 timing in the motor. Do you advice to increase the timing also in the motor (rotating the sensor board)? If yes, how much?

After changing a mode configuration through the PC USB cable is there any way to revert the esc to the factory values in all modes?
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:45 AM   #473
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

1. mode 8 doesn't have 30 ... but more

2. the gm motors do feature a 30 hardwaretiming the lrp do have hardware timing too

3. yes there's the possibility to do a factory reset ... please see instruction manual ..
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 09:56 AM   #474
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Found the factory reset! Thanks for the great support!
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 10:18 AM   #475
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

glad I was able to help you
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 03:56 PM   #476
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Hi again Martin,

I've intalled the GM120 in the car. It's a little big but it fits quite nice in the Mi3.

As you said, the 9.5T motor is a lot faster with the sensor cable than without it.

I used to use the LRP TC with it. Because the controller is different, do you thing I need to change the FDR or should I use the same as used with the previous esc?

I also noticed that it doesn't slip. Starting from stop with full throttle or hitting the brakes hard it doesn't slip at all, behaving very smooth (when compared with other escs). Is this something expected?

Thanks,
Helder.
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 06:05 PM   #477
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Campinas
Posts: 362
Send a message via ICQ to piorc
Default

Hey guys, where could i buy the new Gm esc , the 120A one?
i need a on line store, unless graupner.

tks
piorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 06:20 PM   #478
Tech Adept
 
fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Default

In 4WD offroad 6cells. 5.5T evo 3
I was gearing 18/87

Now I put a 12mm sintered.

Should I keep the same gearing, go up or down?
(It s rainning can t test yet)
fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:55 AM   #479
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

hhsilva

when using the sensor wire and mode 6 or 7 you can use the same gearing

when using mode 8 multiply the gearing by 1,5!!!!!!


fifi

which magnet did u use before the 12?
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:53 AM   #480
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Hi Martin,

I did some tests with the GM120, just smalls start/stop tests in my kitchen floor.

I'm using the sensor cable.

Then, when I do full throttle (as quick as I can) there is a delay around 0.3s (in which the car remains stopped) and only then the car starts. Is this normal? This can be an issue at the start grid (being a disadvantage). Is there any config I can change to reduce this time?

Also, sometimes the car doesn't start smoothly but rather pulsed sometimes moving backward and forward (just for a very short time), like trying to find the correct motor phase (but it starts moving forward after this). This is weird because I'm using the sensor cable. Should I change something in the configuration?

Thanks,
Helder.
hhsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net