R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2008, 06:57 AM   #451
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No, should i? with what value?
You can see the track size in this link

http://gatekracing.forumeiros.com/ar...10-75.htm#4652

, and some video, i was using final ratio 10.3, the fastes lap was 9.06, 32 laps in 5 minuts.
Give me any idea of what i could do better, in speedo or motor, thanks
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 08:38 AM   #452
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the value of adding caps:

- The esc was designed to be used with 5 cells (therefore 3 caps). With lipo you get a lot more stress for the motor and chances are high to blow up the caps. You should add 1 or 2 just for safety matters

- Once the caps broke the Esc really has to suffer!
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 09:14 AM   #453
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok i will add more 1 or two caps, what voltage should they have, 16V?, and capacity. Should it be place in parallel with the feeding, of the battery? Thanks.
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 11:51 AM   #454
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

add exactly the same caps that are already soldered to the esc
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:47 AM   #455
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok Thanks, Martin
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:00 AM   #456
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
You should add 1 or 2 just for safety matters
where do you put the additional caps
please post a foto or a diagram to explain.

thanks
jopor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:13 AM   #457
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

hope that helps
Attached Thumbnails
GM Brushless-add_caps_gen120.jpg  
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 11:42 AM   #458
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys Looking to get the GM Genius 120. Who will ship to the usa or is there someone in the usa I havent found yet?
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 11:50 AM   #459
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHMOTORSPORTS View Post
Hey guys Looking to get the GM Genius 120. Who will ship to the usa or is there someone in the usa I havent found yet?
I will be ordering one soon, shoot me a PM if interested.
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 02:26 PM   #460
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Excelent diagram, wont you agree Jopor hehe, you should get one GM 120 and a new car hehe so we can work as a team, with your excelent young son as we saw in the indoor race...
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 03:52 PM   #461
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks Martin

Nuno Ive got one GM 120 already.
jopor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:21 AM   #462
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Martin

My car sounds very louder when i use my GM EVO III 7T.Is it normal with the GM motors? I haven't this problem with my other motors (MM7700 and Orion 2008 3T).
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 12:08 PM   #463
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it's because of the fan that is attached to the rotor

it makes the motor sound a little like a 7T brushed
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 05:31 AM   #464
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,106
Default

Martin; I have several questions for you ;

I am going tu use a 13.5 stock motor from Orion, with my genius 95. What programming would you recommend, for a short and slippery indoor carpet track? In a touring car. ( drag brake,etc...)

Also, i have difficult in understanding how to set the timing properly ( I'm new to BL) Do I set it up on the speedo or on the motor? or on both? What is the recommended position of the "head" of the motor? what is the recommended programming for the timing ? I was told that the timing is set diffrently from sensored to sensorless... could you explain ?

( On my GM modified, the " B " letter is placed just under the " C" solder tab. Hope it makes sense.)

I have another problem : Among all the sensor wires given with my speedo + the one given with the motor, I can't find one that fits both my orion motor and my Gm speedo. BUT i found a way to plug one of the GM wires to the orion wire, which is then plugged on the motor. Is it going to work ? On the orion wire, all tiny wires are black + there is heat shrink wrap around them, so it's impossible to check the correspondance between the colors of the wires... I hope i make myself clear, my english is pretty poor...


thanks in advance, and sorry for the long post.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 11:43 AM   #465
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

see below

Quote:
Originally Posted by heretic View Post
Martin; I have several questions for you ;
I am going tu use a 13.5 stock motor from Orion, with my genius 95. What programming would you recommend, for a short and slippery indoor carpet track? In a touring car. ( drag brake,etc...)
There should be a setup posted by me a few pages back but you can drop me an email and I'll send you some setups

Also, i have difficult in understanding how to set the timing properly ( I'm new to BL) Do I set it up on the speedo or on the motor? or on both? What is the recommended position of the "head" of the motor? what is the recommended programming for the timing ? I was told that the timing is set diffrently from sensored to sensorless... could you explain ?
esc timing and motor timing is basically the same but totally different *g*
in Stock we run 30 motor timing (b marking to the middle of the b solder tab) and 30 of additional ESC timing (Updated firmware atleast 0.6 or 0.7 required!)


( On my GM modified, the " B " letter is placed just under the " C" solder tab. Hope it makes sense.)
if it's an evo 3 delta wind motor then the placement is correct ... if it's star wound turn it back to b - b
but as long as you don'T use sensors the motor timing doesn't matter at al


I have another problem : Among all the sensor wires given with my speedo + the one given with the motor, I can't find one that fits both my orion motor and my Gm speedo. BUT i found a way to plug one of the GM wires to the orion wire, which is then plugged on the motor. Is it going to work ? On the orion wire, all tiny wires are black + there is heat shrink wrap around them, so it's impossible to check the correspondance between the colors of the wires... I hope i make myself clear, my english is pretty poor...
the gm esc does have a 8pin socket whilst the motors do have a 6pin socket .... this is why speedpassion/orion/lrp sensor wires won't fit
there's an adaptor cable delivered with the escs in which you can plug in any aftermarket sensorwire and then plug the adaptor into the esc

but that connection is not very safe so I'd recommend to order gm sensor wires which do have a 8pin connector at one end and an 6pin connector at the other
part number 2894.4


thanks in advance, and sorry for the long post.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net