R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2007, 12:52 PM   #31
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

new and old 95er escs:

as said, there was a production stop due to a part beeing manufactured wrong. and a new series of that paticular part would have taken more time than making a completely new esc

so combined with the new software it is an overall new esc, that stays cooler, still works after you connected the battery wrong (tested by ralf :-) ), and can handle every motor on the market.

I use a 95 with additional heatsink on top and tested motors with even less than 3,5 T. Works fine.

regarding the genius 100:

the 100 escs are waterproof and have a new case with additional cooling ribs. the additional heatsinks are not needed, but it is slightly bigger.

other than this it is the same as the new 95.

the new series of 95ers comes with a capacitor curcuitboard attached. there are some without those, but the new ones all do have those boards.

the esc programm that is included in the new software works fine in nearly every class on every track. just do a radio setup and you are ready to go.

feel free to ask me anything you want to know about gm products.


Greetz.

Martin Hofer. Team GM-Racing R&D Team.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 01:00 PM   #32
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

this is a pic of how i installed the esc in my car.
Attached Thumbnails
GM Brushless-dsc00353.jpg  
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 05:38 PM   #33
MSB
Tech Adept
 
MSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 191
Send a message via Yahoo to MSB
Default

Hi Martin,

That new 95 and 100 uses a different case in size?

By your BD photo, it seems that the transversal position of the esc is smaller than mine. Or is just my "point of view" literal said?
MSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 11:59 PM   #34
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

95 = old case that is used since the very first genius 80 was released

100 = new case with additional cooling ribs for lower temperatures + waterresistant
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 02:46 PM   #35
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 444
Default

I have the Genius 95 with the new software and a heat sink attached to the side. I race 5-cell with 4.0-4.5T motors indoors on carpet. Do I need the heatsink?
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 03:06 PM   #36
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

As I do not know your throttle finger it is hard to tell if you will need the heatsink or not.

You can try to run the esc without the heatsink and if it termals you can just put one on, or a fan or something.

varies from driver to driver
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:01 PM   #37
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, got my gm genius 100. Just squeezes it into my mi3! its quite huge really with the heatsinks fitted and the capacitor plate it sticks out nearly as far as the motor.
Tested it with a 27T brushed motor on the bench as my speed passion 13.5 bl only arrived today and seems fine, will test it in anger on the track tomorrow and friday. Using the factory setup so any recommendations as to thinks i might need to alter using these 2 motors?

Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:13 AM   #38
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001 View Post
Well, got my gm genius 100. Just squeezes it into my mi3! its quite huge really with the heatsinks fitted and the capacitor plate it sticks out nearly as far as the motor.
Tested it with a 27T brushed motor on the bench as my speed passion 13.5 bl only arrived today and seems fine, will test it in anger on the track tomorrow and friday. Using the factory setup so any recommendations as to thinks i might need to alter using these 2 motors?

Paul
Paul,

I unsoldered mine and fliped it over so it goes over the speedo rather than sticking out - saves loads of room, just make sure that it doesnt touch any of the speedo though.
stuartb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:47 AM   #39
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Any pics ???
Please
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:39 AM   #40
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartb View Post
Paul,

I unsoldered mine and fliped it over so it goes over the speedo rather than sticking out - saves loads of room, just make sure that it doesnt touch any of the speedo though.
Thanks Stuart, just done that on your suggestion and you're right it does save a lot of room!

Right then, what's the best setup for a co27 brushed motor and a 13.5 brushless on this speedo -any suggestions?

Cheers

Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:18 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

stock setting should be quite good
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 08:43 AM   #42
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, first run last night using a co27 brushed motor with the genius 100 - great! performed really well. Second run - nothing! Had power to the steering but nothing to the motor at all. Had to swap to my spare speedo to salvage the 3rd run and finals. Really disappointed. Going to have to pospone the test with the brushless motor until i've either sorted the problem (Any ideas guys???) or returned it for repair.

If anyone can point me in the direction of where im going wrong then please...post away!
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 08:52 AM   #43
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

sometimes it happens that the ecs does not boot correctly, then the steering works but you don't have any throttle what so ever.

just pull the batterie connector out, and put it back in and it should boot normaly
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 11:30 AM   #44
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Martin

Ahhhh, that makes sense, just had to reset it to the transmitter throttle again and it seemns to be fully functional again (breaths a huge sigh of relief!).

Is it possible to change the capacitor board for a regular capacitor as this thing is really unsightly and large!

Cheers

Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 11:41 AM   #45
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it ispossible, but if you do so ONLY USE GM-RACING CAPS

either at least 4 470s

or at least 2 4700s

it's your choice what you like best.
you can have a look at my car, i have a cap.-board with only 4 caps attached

but it is recommended to use the cap.-board.

you can dremel away 3 caps, this makes it much smaller
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net