R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2012, 04:05 AM   #2911
Tech Apprentice
 
Teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 56
Default

Hi all,

next season i will switch to modified class and i want to try a GM 8T delta wound (with 12mm rotor) that i have in the box.
Someone can tell me the final ratio i have to start with, for a mid size track and using turbo software?(speed passion speedo)

thanks a lot
Teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:48 AM   #2912
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tilky View Post
Hi Guys!
Was not racing for two years and decided to revive a bit of the past for this winter season.
I have GM Genius 120 controller with v7.2 firmware and GM Pro Motor 17.5T

Do you have any idea where I can get As-Soft for my Firmware?
Is there any possibility to upgrade firmware version in my speedo?

T tried to use current programming tool v 1.6.5 but it seems that I can't change a lot of functions with it.

Thnks for reply in advance.
I prefer 1.6.3 but have you checked 'Version' on top left? You can select for FW>=7.2 or FW>=10.0. Don't know how well it works though, but it should work.

Sadly GM site is gone so its not possible to download older PC software. I deleted all FW7.2 stuff unfortunately but maybe someone here has the software
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:16 AM   #2913
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 106
Default

Hi,

I have sometime a problem with my Genius 120.

If a stop my car on the track(waiting someone,grid start), when i put throttle, the motor doesn't start. But if someone push my car, all is working back...

Radio : Futuba
Servo : Savox
Motor : GM 4.5/10.5
LiPo : Nosram 6700
__________________
Team Awesomatix / Team Roche / Team Corally / Wild Turbo Fan
nicoo2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:15 AM   #2914
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicoo2k4 View Post
Hi,

I have sometime a problem with my Genius 120.

If a stop my car on the track(waiting someone,grid start), when i put throttle, the motor doesn't start. But if someone push my car, all is working back...

Radio : Futuba
Servo : Savox
Motor : GM 4.5/10.5
LiPo : Nosram 6700
This is a problem with the GM, particularly with the first 2010 120s. The solution is to move your throttle trim forwards as far as possible without the car actually moving fowards. This stops the ESC sitting in neutral and seems to prevent whatever the bug is.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:14 AM   #2915
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

Hi,

What is the bearing size of gm pro ? Like 97305 or 97350 with timing setting by screws

Thanks
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:02 AM   #2916
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 21
Default

Do anyone have setups (gearing and esc setup) for genius75 with timed 13.5 1:12 racing? Any setup, no matter what size track etc.
MickeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:19 AM   #2917
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default Graupner GM120

Hi, bought me this one recently.
http://hk-modellbau.com/default.asp?...734&kat_id=298

Using it for Pro10 235mm outdoor asphalt.
motor Corally Red Series Delta 7T sensorless

Done some testing.
But what puzzles me is how to work option 11 Amp Limit (current drain limitation).

I hear and read all sort of things as to the preferred setting.

What setting best to use?

Is it: the less grip the tires have on the surface the lower the setting should be? Or not?

Do I have to take into consideration the amp draw of the motor?

Should the setting be equal or lower than the max Amp of the motor? Or not?

This is from the manual option 11 "AMP LIMIT"
"The current limitation can have an influence on the torque of the motor. AMP LIMIT should
be set so as to avoid that for instance the wheels of a car do not or only slightly grind on the ground."

This second sentence I don't understand. I think what is said here is that it's ones aim to avoid the wheels of the car to not or only slightly grind on the ground. I thought that it was a good thing that the wheels don't or just slightly grind on the ground. Because than there would be no wheelspin. Me no understand..... :-(

What is the influence of the amp limit on the torque of the motor?

Last edited by Kensei; 08-20-2013 at 05:29 AM.
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:03 AM   #2918
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 137
Default

We are a couple of guys having trouble with some throttle glitches... When we drive it gives max current to the motor, even more than full throttle on the transmitter. One guys is running Genius 120 and Spectrum, i am running Genius 90 and Futaba and we have the same glitches. I have changed reciever and moved it further away from ESC with no luck...

Have anyone heard of these glitches before? If yes how do we correct it?
Foodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:50 AM   #2919
Tech Adept
 
NItrox416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foodie View Post
We are a couple of guys having trouble with some throttle glitches... When we drive it gives max current to the motor, even more than full throttle on the transmitter. One guys is running Genius 120 and Spectrum, i am running Genius 90 and Futaba and we have the same glitches. I have changed reciever and moved it further away from ESC with no luck...

Have anyone heard of these glitches before? If yes how do we correct it?
Yes I have a sort of cogging at high speed, I correct partially it trying to separate the wires of the servo from the esc one as much as possible.
NItrox416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:55 AM   #2920
Tech Adept
 
NItrox416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 169
Default

I have lack of top speed in every boosted situation whatever the motor is (10.5,5.5t) reaching high temperatures from esc and motor, I have enabled the high speed timing, someone have some setup tips or should I buy some cheap chinese esc with double top speed?
thank for help
NItrox416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 04:00 PM   #2921
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NItrox416 View Post
I have lack of top speed in every boosted situation whatever the motor is (10.5,5.5t) reaching high temperatures from esc and motor, I have enabled the high speed timing, someone have some setup tips or should I buy some cheap chinese esc with double top speed?
thank for help
i think your fdr is too low try raising it to around 6.5 and work from there
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 11:00 AM   #2922
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 230
Default

How do you control "Punch" on this esc? I have CS Rocket Comp 120A but its relabeled GM Genius 120.,
I have shortcourse car and 6,5t 2 pole motor and 4 pole motor. Both have way too much power on beginning. I know that it is esc problem because I have tried same motor/car with different esc and they are way smoother.
Bigbearfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 03:08 PM   #2923
Tech Adept
 
NItrox416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbearfin View Post
How do you control "Punch" on this esc? I have CS Rocket Comp 120A but its relabeled GM Genius 120.,
I have shortcourse car and 6,5t 2 pole motor and 4 pole motor. Both have way too much power on beginning. I know that it is esc problem because I have tried same motor/car with different esc and they are way smoother.
Try to reduce the frequency or the soft start value
NItrox416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 09:27 AM   #2924
Tech Regular
 
Kajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ok guys, years have passed, I came back to hobby with my kid, but infortunatelly I can't find AS Genius Soft for USB interface anywhere! Can somene help me with install file download link?
__________________
XXX-S G+, XXX-S, TRF 415MS, SCTE 2.0, SCTE TLD, Kyosho DRX VE
Kajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 06:59 PM   #2925
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 223
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I'm having some crazy problems with a GM 120 Pro esc I recently picked up.

I'm using a Graupner X-8N radio, and a Fantom brushless motor.

It seems like the ESC thinks it's connected to a sensorless motor or something....it just stutters my motor back and forth. The car just stutters, doesnt go forward or backwards.

Any idea what's going on? Also, when I connect it to the programming box, it's saying "Connection Fail", and doesnt seem to be saving the changes I'm making.
xjwolfpacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net