R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2011, 05:04 AM   #2641
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Martin,

you test my file from speedo?

Also, http://hofaaa.files.wordpress.com/20...eg?w=640&h=478 this bag you take to plane as hand bag? No problems in airport?

Regards!
m
yes, it just is within the maximum size of easyjet!

As for your speedo file:

@everyone, please don't use the file previously posted.

@M. I can't believe you are suggesting such a setup to other drivers. I'm pretty sure you have never had a proper read through the V13 guide and I'm not sure you actually understood what you changed on your speedo settings when you did them. Best example is 90C for speedo and motor temp. This is the internal temp! 140 inside the speedo is 70 on the outside! so with 90 set, you can barely leave the line before it reaches this temperature. Even with a 17.5 it goes above 90.

When you will have a look at the file I am going to upload as attachment to this post, you will realize how much it differs to yours.

I really really suggest that you put it on your speedo, gear the motor somewhere between 7.0 and 8.0 depending on the track and run it with no modifications at all!

I'm sorry to be this direct but after having seen your setup I think it is necessary.

So see attachment (change the .zip ending to .gd2):
Attached Files
File Type: zip abram_fixed.zip (1.2 KB, 114 views)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:21 AM   #2642
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
yes, it just is within the maximum size of easyjet!

As for your speedo file:

@everyone, please don't use the file previously posted.

@M. I can't believe you are suggesting such a setup to other drivers. I'm pretty sure you have never had a proper read through the V13 guide and I'm not sure you actually understood what you changed on your speedo settings when you did them. Best example is 90C for speedo and motor temp. This is the internal temp! 140 inside the speedo is 70 on the outside! so with 90 set, you can barely leave the line before it reaches this temperature. Even with a 17.5 it goes above 90.

When you will have a look at the file I am going to upload as attachment to this post, you will realize how much it differs to yours.

I really really suggest that you put it on your speedo, gear the motor somewhere between 7.0 and 8.0 depending on the track and run it with no modifications at all!

I'm sorry to be this direct but after having seen your setup I think it is necessary.

So see attachment (change the .zip ending to .gd2):
Dear Martin,

I read your guide but how y can say that it is ONLY ONE PROPER WAY?

It is file from last run:
http://abram.eu.org/after-race-mode3.gd2

I know what is internal temp, I know even how to put ntc thermistor to older GM engine I reach only limit on 90C in speedo when I put 5 DELTA engine (GM made mistake and send is as STAR).
This setings are safe for my friends and me, especially when I put 5 delta engine . Maybe we race too slow in modified to get higher internal temps

Also me and my friend said that using HST and HST with switching point sucks, it drive fast and start drivin faster when use max th and hold it.
On short track it sucks, no place for this feature.

Also just try move with GM engine (I know that y use it) from 0 to 30 deg with sensor. It drasticaly change behavior of engine, it starts working.

I was looking for better performace, it is some ways to do it, but when y think that your way is only way to go, I will switch to hobby wing, simple stupid working fast without too much features speedo.

I saw on track that my car on same gearing, with normal mode 3 (after reset) and 5.5T was slow. Then only change from 0 to 30 with sensor, start drivin faster, when I add power curve 1 (soft additional timing to modified ble ble) it start drivin much faster. On 8T delta, same gearing, same settings was much faster

I try HST but it sucks, it broke my skils, because car drive fast and sudenly start driving faster.

I prefer it like driving normal car, add some th, some speed, at more th, more speed, at max th, max speed, which was faster then my friend on 4.5T.

Anyway, thank you for your time.

Good luck.
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:05 AM   #2643
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
I will switch to hobby wing, simple stupid working fast without too much features speedo.
Yeah but then you'll have to read the endless drivel posted on the Hobbywing threads. It's just not worth it, I'd rather push the car round.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 01:54 PM   #2644
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Sorry to ask a silly question again!!

Running 13.1 and cannot for the life of me remember how to get the GM into blinky mode??

And how do you do a factory reset?
008-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 04:01 PM   #2645
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 008-Racer View Post
Sorry to ask a silly question again!!

Running 13.1 and cannot for the life of me remember how to get the GM into blinky mode??

And how do you do a factory reset?
Factory reset:
Hold setup button down to go into "mode picker" release button, then hold again until you get the long beep

Blinky: Standard Mode 2
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 04:42 PM   #2646
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Factory reset:
Hold setup button down to go into "mode picker" release button, then hold again until you get the long beep

Blinky: Standard Mode 2
008-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 03:48 AM   #2647
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 465
Default

I have been offered a GM 90 speedo - can I ask how many versions there have been (I see the latest one is 2010) and also what is the latest software that can be installed on it?
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:39 PM   #2648
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
I have been offered a GM 90 speedo - can I ask how many versions there have been (I see the latest one is 2010) and also what is the latest software that can be installed on it?
Basically if it's not a 2010 don't buy it.

The 2010 introduced user-updatable firmware, so you can install the latest 13.1 firmware on it. Previous models had to be sent back to the factory for upgrades and can only go upto something like v8 firmware which won't be quick enough for any kind of boosted classes.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 03:07 AM   #2649
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
Basically if it's not a 2010 don't buy it.

The 2010 introduced user-updatable firmware, so you can install the latest 13.1 firmware on it. Previous models had to be sent back to the factory for upgrades and can only go upto something like v8 firmware which won't be quick enough for any kind of boosted classes.
It is the 2010 version... so I just follow the instructions here to set it up to the latest software?; http://www.rctech.net/forum/7908081-post1851.html
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:45 AM   #2650
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
It is the 2010 version... so I just follow the instructions here to set it up to the latest software?; http://www.rctech.net/forum/7908081-post1851.html
There's one better than that now, again thanks to Martin H. Clicky Here
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 05:29 AM   #2651
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Ah yes I was wondering when it would be available.

Hope you like it
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:27 AM   #2652
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
Ah yes I was wondering when it would be available.

Hope you like it
Do You know why Marc Fisher used a low FDR like 6 for a 5t motor?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 02:59 AM   #2653
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Because he likes to do full throttle out of every corner and he found that the super low gearing enabled him to use full throttle out of corners as the motor was bogged down a bit. But it got so hot, that he broke one even though he used 2 fans to cool the motor down! so not suggestable.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:16 AM   #2654
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It is possible to get Marc's speedo setup file?

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:49 AM   #2655
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Very easy:

Do a factory reset. Pick mode 2. Done.

Marc always uses factory mode 2 with no changes at all.

Actually he used an old version 1 firmware 4.6 speedo until Sunday because he runs sensorless a lot and the old speedo is better off the line sensorless. But the wires where no good anymore and instead of changing them he used a v2 speedo in factory mode 2 then.

You see no magic.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net