GM Brushless

Reply

Old 03-14-2011, 02:04 PM
  #2386  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

For the advanced braking of the v13 firmware to take effect at its strongest form, you need to make sure value 3 in reserved 4 is ticked or you will not see the brake advantages that v13 firmware gives . Value 1 in reserved 4 is for timing and value 2 is for switching point, value 2 is user preference but value 1 and 3 should be ticked for stock racing. If you want i can send you a stock profile to try that has good brakes and speed.
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
I have heard with the lrp x11 motors changing this to 7 is better, I'm not sure what it's at but I think I saw it was 1 the last time I checked. I'm not using x11's however. Generally epic and novak motors
John_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:59 PM
  #2387  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
actually, come to think of it, I have done the above, as I messaged Ralf from GM, and he gave me this setting below to try, however it was not any better braking. Although he did not tell me to use 'new brake software'.

however I will try all the above again, one at at time.

and yes, we need an update soon as I also came up against some hobbywings today and was not able to keep up in straight line speed.
Also try your initial brake higher, which motor are you using ? I tend to run around 40 initial unless I'm running a 12th scale, where I don't want to strip a spur !
chris_dono is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:16 AM
  #2388  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Originally Posted by John_S View Post
For the advanced braking of the v13 firmware to take effect at its strongest form, you need to make sure value 3 in reserved 4 is ticked or you will not see the brake advantages that v13 firmware gives . Value 1 in reserved 4 is for timing and value 2 is for switching point, value 2 is user preference but value 1 and 3 should be ticked for stock racing. If you want i can send you a stock profile to try that has good brakes and speed.
I could do with some stronger brakes but I haven't played with any of the brake settings, I just use v13 and changeed the things Martin said. What do you mean about the above ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:45 AM
  #2389  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

the value in the box i have marked should be either 7 for max brakes and a switching point, or 5 for max brakes and no switching point. Value 3 in reserved 4 is to be ticked for max braking effect. Also note that the amount of brakes you have is very dependant on your ratio. A ratio of for example 7.1 will have more brakes than 6.5, but they may feel similar for speed because of the motor revving harder at 7.1 to compensate for the higher ratio. This is just an example though so i am not suggesting these ratios for anyone to try.
Attached Thumbnails GM Brushless-brake-settings.jpg  
John_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 01:43 PM
  #2390  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Thanks John. I understand the first bit as I run Reserved 4 @ 5 no switching point, but not sure what you mean by
Value 3 in reserved 4 is to be ticked for max braking effect.
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 02:54 PM
  #2391  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails GM Brushless-brakes.jpg  
John_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 03:07 PM
  #2392  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Ah ok I see, I have Value 1 and 3 ticked but not number 2 ? is that to do with brakes as well ?
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:35 PM
  #2393  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by John_S View Post
hope this helps
How do you get that little pop up to appear?
008-Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:40 PM
  #2394  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by 008-Racer View Post
How do you get that little pop up to appear?
Ignore me found it!!
008-Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:41 PM
  #2395  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Originally Posted by 008-Racer View Post
How do you get that little pop up to appear?
On the telemetry page next to Reserved 4 click on the little hand symbol.

Last edited by S.A.W; 03-16-2011 at 04:42 PM. Reason: Spelling
S.A.W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:00 PM
  #2396  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

Number 2 is for switching point
John_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:12 PM
  #2397  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Posts: 134
Default

hi all, been running my gm 90 2010 for 8 weeks with pretty good success but the hobbywing is now as quick. I am on FW 13. Does anyone have a good setup and gearing for a medium carpet track please

many thanks, john
Grindog001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 06:34 PM
  #2398  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grindog001 View Post
hi all, been running my gm 90 2010 for 8 weeks with pretty good success but the hobbywing is now as quick. I am on FW 13. Does anyone have a good setup and gearing for a medium carpet track please

many thanks, john
Have you followed Martin's setup advise? What class are you running? With a 13.5 on a medium sized carpet track I am around 6fdr. Martin suggests down to around 5.5, I tried that low but it didn't feel much different to where I am now.

I've just been given another setup to try, if it turns out to be a beast I'll let you all know.
housey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:24 AM
  #2399  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Posts: 134
Default

hi, i run a 10.5. i am geared quite a bit lower though at 9.5. Is it that easy then, just gear up? I just like the yurbo coming in so early. Apart from being the same speed as the hobbywing on the straight, its excellent. Loads of punch, breaking and motor comes off pretty cool.
Grindog001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:45 AM
  #2400  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Originally Posted by Grindog001 View Post
hi, i run a 10.5. i am geared quite a bit lower though at 9.5. Is it that easy then, just gear up? I just like the yurbo coming in so early. Apart from being the same speed as the hobbywing on the straight, its excellent. Loads of punch, breaking and motor comes off pretty cool.
9.5 seems extremely low...

which motor and which speedo settings are you using ?
chris_dono is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service