R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 06:45 AM   #2371
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

here is my brake profile
Attached Thumbnails
GM Brushless-brake.jpg  
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:07 AM   #2372
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
here is my brake profile


I would probably reduce your max brake and your full brake. I have experienced the same problems, where I thougt the brakes didn't work. It was all down to the fact that the speedo locked up the wheels so I was sliding into the corners, resulting in understeer.

I run rubber tires, and uses around 70% - 85% based on the traction of the specific track I race at.

Regards
Søren
ssoslot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:27 AM   #2373
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssoslot View Post
I would probably reduce your max brake and your full brake. I have experienced the same problems, where I thougt the brakes didn't work. It was all down to the fact that the speedo locked up the wheels so I was sliding into the corners, resulting in understeer.

I run rubber tires, and uses around 70% - 85% based on the traction of the specific track I race at.

Regards
Søren
definitely not locking up, I mark my rims purposely for this reason to see if the wheels locks up.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:52 AM   #2374
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Reduce "effect new brake software" down to 50. Remove current limit off brake, box checked.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:43 AM   #2375
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

this is offtopic kinda but it is still related to GM so i put it here in this thread instead of making a new one. I am looking for some new saddle packs and saw on the GM website the 5600mAh 60C saddlepacks. In the specification it says:

Capacity @10 A typ. 5300 mAh

What does that mean? Does it mean that when under load the capacity drops off from 5600mAh to 5300mAh? Why would that be? I never saw this in other descriptions so it made me wonder. When looking at other GM lipo's it is stated as well in the descriptions.

Could it be that other brands lipo's have that as well and that gm is the only one putting that in the specifications?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:29 AM   #2376
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

need a new GM software update, getting motored by HW's now. The 119/211 software is just insane.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:13 AM   #2377
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
Reduce "effect new brake software" down to 50. Remove current limit off brake, box checked.
got there before me "effect new brake software" is the one to reduce
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:44 AM   #2378
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
Reduce "effect new brake software" down to 50.
ok, will try this down to 50. So I just assume if I put it to 0, it will become even better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
Remove current limit off brake, box checked.
remove it or select it? I will assume you mean select it, but I'm not sure why you said 'remove'.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:46 AM   #2379
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

actually, come to think of it, I have done the above, as I messaged Ralf from GM, and he gave me this setting below to try, however it was not any better braking. Although he did not tell me to use 'new brake software'.

however I will try all the above again, one at at time.

and yes, we need an update soon as I also came up against some hobbywings today and was not able to keep up in straight line speed.
Attached Thumbnails
GM Brushless-brakeralf.jpg  
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:46 AM   #2380
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
remove it or select it? I will assume you mean select it, but I'm not sure why you said 'remove'.
You remove the current limit by ticking the box. A limit on the brakes can make them feel soft.

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
ok, will try this down to 50. So I just assume if I put it to 0, it will become even better.
I can't say if 0 will disable it or make it better. It will definitely be more like an on/off switch the lower the number you use. What "effect new brake software" does is to make the brakes come in more gentile the faster the motor is revving. This stops sudden lock-up, transmission stress and will help to transfer load on to the front tyres and ultimately give you more braking grip. You just need to find the right level for your needs. Most of the time just locking up all four wheels isn't going to be the quickest way of stopping.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:09 PM   #2381
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
actually, come to think of it, I have done the above, as I messaged Ralf from GM, and he gave me this setting below to try, however it was not any better braking. Although he did not tell me to use 'new brake software'.

however I will try all the above again, one at at time.

and yes, we need an update soon as I also came up against some hobbywings today and was not able to keep up in straight line speed.
Hello can i please ask what your reserved 4 is set to on the telemetery page. Thanks
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:11 PM   #2382
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_S View Post
Hello can i please ask what your reserved 4 is set to on the telemetery page. Thanks
I have heard with the lrp x11 motors changing this to 7 is better, I'm not sure what it's at but I think I saw it was 1 the last time I checked. I'm not using x11's however. Generally epic and novak motors
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:17 AM   #2383
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
need a new GM software update, getting motored by HW's now. The 119/211 software is just insane.
Oh yeah ? I've been racing against the new hobbywing quite a bit. Its really, really quick for sure but my car quicker still

I reckon its all getting pretty even now in the brushless war

Whoever understands set up best will have greatest straight line speed

But one will still lose to a driver with a better set up car. Always

Powerrrrr !
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:01 AM   #2384
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 233
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Default

hi guys,
thx guys for the help with gearing. i used martins program with an x11 13.5T motor and 1:6,1 FDR. MAN THIS THING FLYS!!! no break problems what so ever. i even had to reduce breaking power on the transmitter to 70%. great torque and great top speed. lap times were roughly 15.4s. managed to lay down a 15.0 many times whereas tekins, HWs, lrp's etc did 15.2 best.

cheers
vito
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 10:48 AM   #2385
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitomon View Post
hi guys,
thx guys for the help with gearing. i used martins program with an x11 13.5T motor and 1:6,1 FDR. MAN THIS THING FLYS!!! no break problems what so ever. i even had to reduce breaking power on the transmitter to 70%. great torque and great top speed. lap times were roughly 15.4s. managed to lay down a 15.0 many times whereas tekins, HWs, lrp's etc did 15.2 best.

cheers
vito
Glad its going well. Any more help needed then just ask away

Can't say anyone has been giving me trouble on the straight recently, in fact this weekend I was told by a CML driver that mine was a rocketship

Anyway, its not all about having that extra foot on the straight, I'd sooner be a tiny bit slower on the straight than have to put up with a Tekin on the infield, feel on the GM is amazing.
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net