R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2011, 07:50 AM   #2341
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan P. View Post
Housey, you should look around page 133 in this thread.
My rain car is running an GM 8T Delta. The tips from Martin in this thread, gave the car similar speed as a 4.5t in normal sensored mode.
Which is fast enough for a rain car

J.
I don't really understand why unticking the hst and changing the switchpoint etc will make a difference. I thought that as soon as you unplugged the sensor cable the speedo went into a standard sensorless mode with 30 degrees fixed timing and that was it. I'm sure when I asked about sensors not so long ago that Martin himself said that. He said there isn't (obviously) any dynamic timing in sensorless so why the need to untick stuff and change switchpoints?

How are you gearing your 8T Jonathan? I'm wanting after an indoor gearing now with it sensorless, I was thinking around 8-8.5ish?

I know Martin's how to would suggest that with it sensored you should run timing at around 12ish right? How does that change the gearing, how many teeth am I going to drop once I have it sensored and timed?

Thank the lord for everyone on rctech, dunno where I'd be without all this info!
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:10 AM   #2342
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by housey View Post
I don't really understand why unticking the hst and changing the switchpoint etc will make a difference. I thought that as soon as you unplugged the sensor cable the speedo went into a standard sensorless mode with 30 degrees fixed timing and that was it. I'm sure when I asked about sensors not so long ago that Martin himself said that. He said there isn't (obviously) any dynamic timing in sensorless so why the need to untick stuff and change switchpoints?
No idea, I believe it's better to be safe than sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by housey View Post
How are you gearing your 8T Jonathan? I'm wanting after an indoor gearing now with it sensorless, I was thinking around 8-8.5ish?
On an outdoor asphalt track which was really wide open, I ran it with 2 more teeth on the pinion than I did with a 4.5 on an LRP SXX TC.
Jonathan P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 12:00 PM   #2343
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I actually liked it this way outdoors, I did plan to re test it at the end of the year, but didn't get round to it. Very smooth and easy to drive.

At Ardent, I run 7.9 with 8t and no timing. Sometimes I run 12mm rotor indoors as well, to smooth the power at the bottom end.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 12:22 PM   #2344
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
I actually liked it this way outdoors, I did plan to re test it at the end of the year, but didn't get round to it. Very smooth and easy to drive.

At Ardent, I run 7.9 with 8t and no timing. Sometimes I run 12mm rotor indoors as well, to smooth the power at the bottom end.
Thanks Matt, I just popped the motor in yesterday and guessed the gearing at 8, but that sounds bout right so I'll leave it there. Its in mode 3 so thats no timing isn't it.
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 04:38 AM   #2345
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi!

Can anyone download data from speedo and tell me what is in
Armature of poles: 2 or 4? from V13.0 or V13.1?



Regards!
m
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 04:48 AM   #2346
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

Can anyone download data from speedo and tell me what is in
Armature of poles: 2 or 4? from V13.0 or V13.1?



Regards!
m

haven't seen that box before, but mine is set to 2
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 05:44 AM   #2347
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
haven't seen that box before, but mine is set to 2
Thanks!

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:31 AM   #2348
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Tell me chris_dono, do you update to V13.1 or still have 13?

And pc software is 1.6.3 or the new one 1.6.5?

Regards!
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:45 AM   #2349
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Tell me chris_dono, do you update to V13.1 or still have 13?

And pc software is 1.6.3 or the new one 1.6.5?

Regards!
v13.1 on 1.6.3 software
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:02 AM   #2350
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Tell me chris_dono, do you update to V13.1 or still have 13?

And pc software is 1.6.3 or the new one 1.6.5?

Regards!
1.6.5?? Where i can find it?
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:09 AM   #2351
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
1.6.5?? Where i can find it?

http://www.graupner.de/fileadmin/dow...n_II_1_6_5.zip

at DE version of site: http://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=97164

regards!
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:05 AM   #2352
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Thanks mate.

BTW - will be joining Associated soon we will have to talk again.
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:03 AM   #2353
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Thanks mate.

BTW - will be joining Associated soon we will have to talk again.
seems like 1.6.5 isn't finished yet
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:09 AM   #2354
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
you can solder a NTC tempsensor on Speedpassion sensor pcbs aswell, if you want to have the saftey option at say ETS races

not going to do Warsaw ..
Hi again!

Martin do you know part number for NTC tempsensor?
Or maybe you know what it is exactly

Regards!
m
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:27 AM   #2355
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default GM ciao

As far as onroad goes, my GM is dead. The brakes are crap! I am speaking from someone who has been using GM for 2 years, so I know pretty much the ins and outs with this speedy.

So many times I crawl my car slowly, like less than walking pace and I cannot even stop on the grid without overshooting. Yes, I have played with ALL brake settings. In a high speed section on our track, braking to nearly a complete stop, I am giving up 0.5sec on 1 corner alone, as I need to brake alot earlier than others, and even then I'm overshooting turns.

I also cannot use a setting on mode 9, unless its less than 20c ambient temperature, otherwise the motor will overheat. Yes, I have played with all the different FDR's, swithpoint, frequency etc. I can then put my tekin esc back in, and my motors come off 20c less!!

offroad, this esc is perfect, the smoothest speed control I have ever used. But onroad, brakes are not efficient, motors are running hot.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net