R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2011, 07:35 PM   #2311
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
If you hold the brake half on and roll the car by hand the three colour lights will light one by one as the individual sensors are picked up. If they are not lighting you are probably running in sensorless mode.
Cheers Andy. I don't get three lights though. The red led comes on, then the yellow, then they both go out and then the red comes on again. Is this right?

Also does anyone know if mode 3 on the 2009 120 running firmware 8 is ok for running an X11 5.5. And further to that, running this setup outdoors on a massive track, how would you gear it? I have it at 7.5 at the moment but haven't run it yet so want to get it right before I do. This is all old gear cos I'm making a wet car for the ourdoor season. Cheers in advance guys
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:17 AM   #2312
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

One of your sensors is down

It will run sensorless
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 05:13 AM   #2313
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think it is just the green LED that is down as when I change it to mode 8 the motor revs up a lot higher. It wouldn't do that if it was just running sensorless right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
One of your sensors is down

It will run sensorless
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 07:14 AM   #2314
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

I've been running my GM75 with GM13.5t (1300g) for a while now and it's been great it has stalled once though. I've always ran just the 'High Speed timing' Resrved 4-1 does anybody use the 'High Speed Timing from switching point rpm' Reserved 4-3 ?

Will it drive alot different, does it run the motor cooler ? basically what will it do and how will it feel ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 09:15 AM   #2315
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default mamba motor and gm esc

hello, does someone know if the mamba motors, (5700) have problem running with gm 2010 esc? and them performance how are compared to the gm pro motors? novak ballistic are as fast too with gm esc as with the kinetic esc?

thanks and regards
andrea
chiottola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:24 AM   #2316
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by housey View Post
I think it is just the green LED that is down as when I change it to mode 8 the motor revs up a lot higher. It wouldn't do that if it was just running sensorless right?
If one light isn't coming on as hana said one of your sensors is out. That could be dirt on it in the motor, broke sensor, broken sensor wire(most probably) or a bent pin on the controller. And if the controller doesn't sense them in the right order it will automatically switch to sensorless mode.

Mode 9 is a more aggressive setting than 8 sensored or sensorless so one of the profiles has probably been modified. The lights will also work in the same way in all modes, so if you're not getting all three lights its still going to switch to sensorless.

You could just try and spin it up without any sensor cable in mode 8 and see if its still the same speed as it with the lead. If there is a difference between the two then that would suggest that the sensors are working in that mode. Then i would either factory reset the speedo as maybe a setting has been changed or dirty sensors aren't working because of more timing advance in mode 9. Clean the motor!

Just to add something you really don't want to be holding the motor at full throttle free reving. If timing kicks in you could trash bearings if a bit dry or damage the rotor.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:47 AM   #2317
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
If one light isn't coming on as hana said one of your sensors is out. That could be dirt on it in the motor, broke sensor, broken sensor wire(most probably) or a bent pin on the controller. And if the controller doesn't sense them in the right order it will automatically switch to sensorless mode.

Mode 9 is a more aggressive setting than 8 sensored or sensorless so one of the profiles has probably been modified. The lights will also work in the same way in all modes, so if you're not getting all three lights its still going to switch to sensorless.

You could just try and spin it up without any sensor cable in mode 8 and see if its still the same speed as it with the lead. If there is a difference between the two then that would suggest that the sensors are working in that mode. Then i would either factory reset the speedo as maybe a setting has been changed or dirty sensors aren't working because of more timing advance in mode 9. Clean the motor!

Just to add something you really don't want to be holding the motor at full throttle free reving. If timing kicks in you could trash bearings if a bit dry or damage the rotor.
I'm sure its just the green LED thats bust cos I just did what you said, tried it in mode 8 with and without the sensor lead and it revs a lot higher with the sensor lead in, so it must be working but the green LED is just not lighting up for some reason.

It only goes to mode 8 as its a 2009 120, so that is the most aggressive profile there is. I only factory reset it just before I installed it in my wet car so no profiles have been altered.

I'm pretty satisfied that its just the LED thats down as it does everything it should do in terms of modes and runnning with and without the lead in, as in, it reacts as it should to any changes I make and it must be running sensored of the motor revs would be the same with or without the lead.

Cheers for the help with the lights showing up the sensors anyway, problem all sorted now.
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:51 AM   #2318
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

I've been running my GM75 with GM13.5t (1300g) for a while now and it's been great it has stalled once though. I've always ran just the 'High Speed timing' Resrved 4-1 does anybody use the 'High Speed Timing from switching point rpm' Reserved 4-3 ?

Will it drive alot different, does it run the motor cooler ? basically what will it do and how will it feel ?

Thanks.
You will not need a switchpoint with the 13.5 1300g rotor. Only really needed for lower turn motors to prevent timing coming in too soon

To minimise chance of stalling take the motor apart, clean it, and if possible put 1mm shims behind the sensor board and use spacers on the rotor to give a clearance of about 0.5mm. Having the rotor really close to the hall sensors helps to prevent miscommutation
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:31 AM   #2319
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

You might want to be sure that the old ESC actually had 3 lights...........cos I don't think it did!!

My memory was that the 3 states of sensors was each light individually, and then both together.

If changing from profile 3 to 8 made it a lot faster, then i'd be confident that the sensors are working fine.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 01:37 PM   #2320
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Default Torque vs. timing

Hey all

I am going to race a really tight track in the weekend and thought about something.
Does the motor deliver more torque when i am below the switch point??? Then I guess it would be smart to have a high switchpoint for technical tracks, right??? Or am I just supposed to keep the switch point at 10.000 rpm? I am running super stock with 17.5 T.

I thought about it, because at another race I forgot my sensor cable for a final. The car was extremely fast out of the corners, but i reach top speed 1/3 down the straight. This could be because of a high gearing or because the speedo delivers more torque when it is in sensorless mode, I guess.

Another question. What sort of fixed timing are you guys using i 17,5. Currently I am running 30 and then gearing accordingly. Any one with other ideas???

Any help would be appreciated.

Sųren
ssoslot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:11 PM   #2321
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Hi I have just come back to the GM75 and was looking for some help

I have read this post from Martin -http://www.rctech.net/forum/7908081-post1851.html

But my 75 has 12.4 Firmware installed can anyone please point me in the direction of the firmware upgrader and in particular the instructions on how to flash the firmware correctly

Thanks for your help in advance :-)
008-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:43 PM   #2322
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 008-Racer View Post
Hi I have just come back to the GM75 and was looking for some help

I have read this post from Martin -http://www.rctech.net/forum/7908081-post1851.html

But my 75 has 12.4 Firmware installed can anyone please point me in the direction of the firmware upgrader and in particular the instructions on how to flash the firmware correctly

Thanks for your help in advance :-)
Hi,

you can get all the software and driver here http://www.racing-cars.com/pp/Produc...t/GM97163.html
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:49 PM   #2323
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

you can get all the software and driver here http://www.racing-cars.com/pp/Produc...t/GM97163.html
Thank you found those but there don't seem to be any instructions on how to upgrade the firmware using the upgrader?
008-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:57 PM   #2324
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

It's a little unusual, ususally everything is within the zip file - however, for v13 doesn't seem it is.

However, it is part of the v13.1 download - so you may as well use that!!

http://www.gm-racing.de/rwdownload/index.php?dl=155
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 02:59 PM   #2325
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 008-Racer View Post
Thank you found those but there don't seem to be any instructions on how to upgrade the firmware using the upgrader?
Sotware update,

Download and install usb driver
Downolad and save V13 to your desktop
Download and run Software V1.6.3

Run the GM Genius Software updater (V1.6.3)

When this opens click browse and open the V13 file.

Plug usb into pc and speedo

Hold the button down on the speedo and click Program as soon as you click this press the button on the usb cable and release the button on the usb and then the button on the speedo, it should now say

'Start Firmware upgrade'

Did that help ?
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net