R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2011, 10:16 AM   #2281
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
the graupner motors are like 1800 gauss or something, so if you didnt like the 1600, then you will most likely not like the graupners.

I'm surprised you said the 1600 rotors ran hot, as I always thought higher gauss rotors ran cooler, but that may be my mistake in thinking.
Ok I'll stick with the GM's. When I used the 1600g it always got hot no matter what I geared it at. I don't use a fan but don't need one at the moment. I put the 1300g in with the same gearing and it ran 20deg cooler and no fading, excellent performance for the whole race.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 05:38 AM   #2282
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just want to check about the telemetry guys. Do you just have to tap the button at the end of the run or hold it. Surely holding it will send the speedo in to setup mode? Just want to make sure I do it correctly.
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 06:24 AM   #2283
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

just a single press, don't need to hold it
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:04 PM   #2284
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is there any way to tell if you speedo is running in sensorless? Even when the sensor cable is connected?

My old GM120 2009 seems to be the same speed and seems to drive the same whether the sensor cable is attached or not. Its currently in my buggy running a 5.5 X11. Does the difference between sensored/sensorless only show up when you are running dynamic timing profiles?
__________________
Chris Swallow - Team Yokomo - GM Racing - Ko Propo

Donny Racing - http://donnyracing.yolasite.com/forum.php

Poweeeeerrrrr!
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:57 AM   #2285
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

If you hold the brake half on and roll the car by hand the three colour lights will light one by one as the individual sensors are picked up. If they are not lighting you are probably running in sensorless mode.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:35 AM   #2286
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
If you hold the brake half on and roll the car by hand the three colour lights will light one by one as the individual sensors are picked up. If they are not lighting you are probably running in sensorless mode.
How do you change it sensor from sensorless in 1.6.3 software
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:49 AM   #2287
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
How do you change it sensor from sensorless in 1.6.3 software
From what i know of its automatic. If the lead is in and working(i.e no easily broken wires) and the motors sensors are working it will go to sensor mode. If there is no detection of sensors the it will go into sensorless mode.

If you're sure everything is working save your setup, reset everything. Try it on a factory setup and if sonsored works try loading your setup again and see how your settings are different with the highlighted red changes. You might be able to track down what's happening that way.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:00 AM   #2288
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Thank you Andy
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:04 AM   #2289
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

How add timing in mode sensorless, in the 1.6.3???
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:14 AM   #2290
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
How do you change it sensor from sensorless in 1.6.3 software
You don't.. just take the sensor lead out
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:07 AM   #2291
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 188
Default

Hi

we have some problems with one of our new genius 75 speedo's. Both is running 1s lipo and 1/12 scale. One is running a SP 4,5 turn , and 41,2mm roll out , have set fixed timing on 10 and the speedo is getting 85 degress C , no problems. But the other driver have BIG problems with heat in speedo , it's simply shutting down because off heat. Have tried a 3,5 turn GM , a 7 turn delta ,and last a Nosram 4 turn , with a rool out of 29,8mm. We have tried to race with no fixed and up to 12 , with absolut no result , he can only run about 4-8 laps of 100m , until it shuts down.

Both are running without heatsink and fan

Any ideas , maybe regarding fixed timing and/or roll out

thanks in advance

Michael
Denmark
johnsen-dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:33 PM   #2292
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Hi people

I need help I'm running an x12 13.5 with my gm120 fw13.0 I have followed Martins stock how to for fw13 but i can't get the motor to run cool I'm lost for ideas I have geared harder and reduced the fixed timing but still runs very hot

Can anyone please help?

Thanks

James
jameslucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:08 PM   #2293
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

What timing are you running and how hot do you consider very hot? 90c after a five minute run is fine.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:19 PM   #2294
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Hi.

I'm running 18 fixed timing after 5mins esc readout says 97c but come the summer when the weathers warmer the motor will be hotter. I ran at aldershot in the UK today fdr was 6.08 a couple of lads were running x12s with tekins and were coming off around 50c

Thanks

James
jameslucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:05 PM   #2295
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameslucas View Post
Hi.

I'm running 18 fixed timing after 5mins esc readout says 97c but come the summer when the weathers warmer the motor will be hotter. I ran at aldershot in the UK today fdr was 6.08 a couple of lads were running x12s with tekins and were coming off around 50c

Thanks

James
If you are running fix timing that is probably generating a load of unnecessary heat because you're running the timing all the time. If you run variable dependant timing, the timing value you set is relative to throttle input. For example if you set up 20 degrees variable and have only 25% throttle input you're running about 5 degrees timing. If you are at 50% throttle you are running 10degress timing and so on until you are at 100% throttle when you finally hit 100% of your pre-set timing.
What this does is run the motor efficiently(and cool) at slow speed then dumps a load of timing in when you need it. Not to mention it gives a very progress and nice feel to the throttle.

Other than that you may just be running too much timing for your motor as they are not all the same. Personal even though i'm running a x12 i don't like them because they are so fussy when it comes to getting the gearing right.

One final thing is the tekin guys can only be measuring the external temperature of their motor. If you're taking your reading from esc telemetry you're taking it of the rotor which is going to be 20-30c hotter than the can.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net