R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2010, 02:39 PM   #1996
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiottola View Post
Hello, can someone tell me which among these motors have the best overall performance? GM 8-9 delta gm pro 4.5-5.5 and graupner sport 6.5. using with 120 v2 controller. I see power is similar around 700 watt but different rpm. I mean which motor of these have best power in most situations or what are the difference about them?

Thanks and regards
chiottola
Hey

You can calculate the torque from this formula. I have been using it to find out wich stock motor I would like to use, and it has worked very nice.

T = K P / N

T= torque in inch pounds, P is horsepower, N= revolutions/minute, K is a constant at K = 63 000. You can change the watts (normally you can get them on the manufacturers homepage) to horsepower with google. The same goes for inch pounds to Newton meters if you want that.
More torque equals more acceleration.
The only problem with this calculation is the conditions under wich the data on the motor has been recorded.
As I said it has worked great for me even tough I have compared different manufaturers data.


Søren
ssoslot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:41 PM   #1997
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
I think Novak motors had the temp sensor from the beginning.
excellent, now I need to get the gm/novak sensor conversion as the ss series motors come with their own sensor lead. Cant be bothered soldering and making my own
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 04:58 AM   #1998
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
I dont understand why anyone would want to run sensorless.
Rain racing.

MJ
pajenova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 06:45 AM   #1999
bzb
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 142
Default

what am i doing wrong?

in mode 5 everting is ok

in mode 6-9 it goes fast reverse en slow forward, reversing mij transmitter doesnt help

motor connections are correct according manual

im using a sensor cable and a kopropo mars r
bzb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 01:46 PM   #2000
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default

thanks for your help Søren, I have understand your method, I have used something similar, watt/rpm x volt and it give a torque related number, but if power is the same you just tune the output speed using different gear for each motor. what i need to undestand is how those motor give them power during the whole rpm range, something like average power is the best number...the motor with the higher average power is performing better in most situation, maybe one of those have better high rpm power and another higher low rpm power, but if one have good power at all rpm is a better choice for me.

regards chiottola
chiottola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 03:39 AM   #2001
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

so I've put the start and amp limit to 20, and on the telemetry after pressing the esc button the 'max current' is 29.

How is this possible, as I had set it to 20?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:12 AM   #2002
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
GM made easy – V13.0


The Tempcheck Feature only works with GM, Graupner, Novak, LRP X12 and Corally Motors.
Speedpasson and LRP X11 do not feature a Temperature Sensor so be carefull not to blow those up.

Values for various motors:

GM motors: 115°C
Graupner / Corally motors: 125°C
Novak: 115°C
LRP X12: 120°C

That’s it.
are you 100% on these temp figures?

they seem excessively high.

I have burnt novak/trinity/sp motors 20-30c less than your recommended cut off temps. I know the x12's can handle more temp, but 120c?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:15 AM   #2003
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default error

why am I getting an error downloading data from the esc?

message something like, 'out of the range' or something like that. I need to try a few times before it will download properly with the correct values!
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 10:37 AM   #2004
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
so I've put the start and amp limit to 20, and on the telemetry after pressing the esc button the 'max current' is 29.

How is this possible, as I had set it to 20?
I asked the same question and its to do with using the turbo function which gives you 1A more, every 4ms when you are on full throttle. Full answer is at post #1885
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 03:04 AM   #2005
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
are you 100% on these temp figures?

they seem excessively high.

I have burnt novak/trinity/sp motors 20-30c less than your recommended cut off temps. I know the x12's can handle more temp, but 120c?
I think these temperatures are values measured by the NTC sensor inside of the endbell. The same current temperature will show a lower value on your infrared meter used outside of the motor, maybe about 30° lower.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 10:07 AM   #2006
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

Is the GM75 ok for 13.5 or should I go for the 90 ? Do you need a to run the fan on the speedo ?

What fdr do I need for GM75 or 90 on a T3 using the GM 13.5t, I have 1300 and 1600 rotor's. Track is outdoor with 45m straight mostly open with one chicane and an indoor track with a 30m straight mostly tight and technical.

Is program 9 the one to use ? I have the software lead but just want to set it, gear it, temp it and race no messing with settings please.

Thanks.

Last edited by S.A.W; 10-10-2010 at 03:45 PM.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 11:40 AM   #2007
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
are you 100% on these temp figures?

they seem excessively high.

I have burnt novak/trinity/sp motors 20-30c less than your recommended cut off temps. I know the x12's can handle more temp, but 120c?
Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
I think these temperatures are values measured by the NTC sensor inside of the endbell. The same current temperature will show a lower value on your infrared meter used outside of the motor, maybe about 30° lower.
Temperatures suggested do seem high but as V12 said they are a lot different measure on the can compared to internal sensor. My Gm was measuring 75c on the can today but the telemetry reading the internal temp was reading 95-100C.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:35 AM   #2008
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

yep I played around with it yesterday and set the speed control to cut out at 110, and the outside can temp was 80. I KNOW there is not a 30 degree difference between components on a brushless motor. How do I know?

well straight after a run once, I pulled apart the motor and tested the rotor, stator, endbell, all were within a few degrees of one another.

it would be better if the next software upgrade would have a temperature correction factor.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 07:37 AM   #2009
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default GM 13.5 with a Tekin rs Pro

Has any one run this combo, Im looking to get a new 13.5 motor and im looking at a GM or an Lrp X12. I will be racing indoors on carpet with an Xray T2 009.
Thanks
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 07:38 AM   #2010
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default Gm 13.5 motor timing

What timing does the Gm 13.5 come with as standard ???
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net