R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2010, 01:30 PM   #1981
bzb
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: holland
Posts: 142
Default

(o o here is the noob )


hey guys..

im getting a second hand gm 7168 ver. 7.2, i want to put it on my tekin sensored 10.5 motor.

im going to use it in a team associated sc10 ft, 2s lipo

wich mode i should use?
bzb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:20 AM   #1982
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default GM motor sensor

do not have experience on GM motors. Are they a regular sensor, or a special GM sensor like on the speed control?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:25 AM   #1983
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

If you mean the plug on the sensor lead, then it's the same as other motors.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:28 AM   #1984
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
If you mean the plug on the sensor lead, then it's the same as other motors.
yes, thanks, thought so as I have never seen a motor sensor lead just for GM esc to GM motor.

I'm at a loss however to understand why GM have a different sensor plug on the speed control side
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:30 AM   #1985
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

cause we use the port for programming
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:48 AM   #1986
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

couldnt the port be made compatible with current systems?

like tekin and lrp
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:01 AM   #1987
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
wrong it's just a different way of limitation

simply ALWAYS use 4kc with variable current when running sensors and 8kc with var current when running sensorless
Martin, what does that setting alter actually?
Do you have a pretty decent basic setup for sensorless operation?
In case of running a GM 8T Delta sensorless, what should change in the setup?

I'm new to the GM120 and trying to grasp every possibility of it.
Running sensored with the v13 basic setup and changing it with your quick start guide worked pretty well this weekend. But for sensorless (rain car) I don't know how the get the most out of it.

Thanks,
Jonathan.
Jonathan P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:12 AM   #1988
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

How does the GM75 compare to the Tekin in ease of use and programming ? I find the Tekin hard to understand but heard the GM's are even harder.

What are the pre programmed settings like for 13.5t ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:14 AM   #1989
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

How does the GM75 compare to the Tekin in ease of use and programming ? I find the Tekin hard to understand but heard the GM's are even harder.

What are the pre programmed settings like for 13.5t ?

Thanks.
Very easy just follow this - Martin How-to
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:16 AM   #1990
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

How does the GM75 compare to the Tekin in ease of use and programming ? I find the Tekin hard to understand but heard the GM's are even harder.

What are the pre programmed settings like for 13.5t ?

Thanks.
the GM has the most advanced settings of them all, however that does not mean its hard to program. You can make it as easy or as hard as you like, but for spec class's, all you will need to do is use mode 7, 8, 9.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:55 AM   #1991
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default temp sensor

do the older novak ss pro series have the temp sensor?
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:09 AM   #1992
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
do the older novak ss pro series have the temp sensor?
that you should probably ask on the novak thread


as for sensorless ... just untick HST / HST wth switchpoint, Change the switchpoint rpm to 10000 (IMPORTANT) and go
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:26 AM   #1993
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

I dont understand why anyone would want to run sensorless.
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:56 AM   #1994
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Hello, can someone tell me which among these motors have the best overall performance? GM 8-9 delta gm pro 4.5-5.5 and graupner sport 6.5. using with 120 v2 controller. I see power is similar around 700 watt but different rpm. I mean which motor of these have best power in most situations or what are the difference about them?

Thanks and regards
chiottola
chiottola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:00 AM   #1995
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
do the older novak ss pro series have the temp sensor?
I think Novak motors had the temp sensor from the beginning.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net