R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2010, 01:25 AM   #1726
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YZFAndy View Post
Hi all.
Just got this speedo and looking for some help with brake settings.
I've read about 60 pages of this thread but can't find a decent explanation of the terms for the braking and the manule being a direct translation doesn't seem to work.

can anyone explain or point me to a previous post of these setting?

BrakeMin. I'm guess the minimum that the brakes will come in at. If set to 100% they would work like an on/off switch?
BrakeMax. Guess you can limit the total amount of braking power available?
Autobrake. = Drag brake
Full brake. not a clue
Time to full brake. Guess a build up to full power
SoftBrake. Not a clue

What i'm after more than anything is a build up of brake from say 25% to 95% over half a second. Is that possible with this controller, if so what would the setting be?

Greatfull for any help.
With the AS Genius Tool (PC Interface), there's a clickable question mark where the function is tried to be explained. I agree it's not that clear at the first read cuz' it's tranlated from German and we may loose a bit of quick understandability in the translation process.
__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:56 AM   #1727
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Wrote some pages before

With V8.0 in old gm120/90 is problem with cutt off voltage.

Set it a little lover then 6.0V for 2S

Regards!
m.

ps: very similar shit with gm95 for E12 and 1S racing
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:32 AM   #1728
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

BrakeMin. I'm guess the minimum that the brakes will come in at. If set to 100% they would work like an on/off switch?
To me, if you choose value 30 (for ex), then you have 30% of the maximum braking action right after the neutral. Which make the brake more delicate to control.

BrakeMax. Guess you can limit the total amount of braking power available?
Yep something like that. The maximum amount of brake proportionnaly distributed on 95% of the transmitter brake travel, before the red LED flashes.


Autobrake. = Drag brake
Correct

Full brake. not a clue
It's the value of brake action when the red led is about to flash. You can use this function like this: for ex, let's say you need only 80% of the max brake you can adjust an additionnal braking action (emmergency brake) only when you reach the very end of the transmitter brake travel.

Time to full brake. Guess a build up to full power
Yes, it delays the full brake point...


SoftBrake. Not a clue
Kind of delay too.


Once again this is how I understand things. I'm discovering the material and that's what makes sense to me. But it may not be the truth!
__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 04:59 AM   #1729
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Below is how i understand it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
BrakeMin. I'm guess the minimum that the brakes will come in at. If set to 100% they would work like an on/off switch?
To me, if you choose value 30 (for ex), then you have 30% of the maximum braking action right after the neutral. Which make the brake more delicate to control.
That's how i understand it too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
BrakeMax. Guess you can limit the total amount of braking power available?
Yep something like that. The maximum amount of brake proportionnaly distributed on 95% of the transmitter brake travel, before the red LED flashes.
This is how much brake at full stick travel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
Autobrake. = Drag brake
Correct


Full brake. not a clue
It's the value of brake action when the red led is about to flash. You can use this function like this: for ex, let's say you need only 80% of the max brake you can adjust an additionnal braking action (emmergency brake) only when you reach the very end of the transmitter brake travel.
The amount of brake when you hit full stick travel quickly (think off road where you dab full brakes to change the attitude of the car in the air)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
Time to full brake. Guess a build up to full power
Yes, it delays the full brake point...



SoftBrake. Not a clue
Kind of delay too.
How sharp the brakes are, I have mine over to the right on the slider (the minimum delay setting) but it's more a feel thing rather than changing the amount of brakes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
Once again this is how I understand things. I'm discovering the material and that's what makes sense to me. But it may not be the truth!
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 05:11 AM   #1730
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

Glad to hear it !
__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 05:16 AM   #1731
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

Any constructive/objective comments about these settings are warm welcome.
I used these parameters in Mod Class, lipo 2S, 4.5 Star, rubber tires, 7.5 FR, at RC Addict (same track as the late TITC in Bangkok, Thailand).

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
GM Brushless-ludo2-1.jpg   GM Brushless-ludo2-2.jpg   GM Brushless-ludo2-3.jpg   GM Brushless-ludo2-4.jpg   GM Brushless-ludo2-5.jpg  

__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:02 AM   #1732
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

after reading the manual again i must change my view on the brake settings!
regarding the brake settings
I thought:
max brake is indeed the brake level at max stick travel.
wrong max brake is the limit brake level available before full stick travel

full brake level is initiated after the time to full brake delay.
according to the help file used for coming to a full stop in the pits or correcting the flight of the off road vehicle in a jump. and possibly as emergency brake for onroad.
very wrong!
full brake is the brake power available at full stick travel
so if you limited max brake to 80 but set full brake at 90 you will have a step up from max brake to full brake as soon as you reach the full brake stick position.

the reason the example uses full brake at 90 is because the last feature time to full brake is actually a last step of the controller
it activates full brake power (100%) after the time delay


so full brake would only make a difference if you set it higher then the max brake. other way round i guess or a bit the same

sorry for the confusion but i hardly set other values for the two brake settings.
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers

Last edited by tomracing; 08-11-2010 at 07:14 AM.
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:09 AM   #1733
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomracing View Post
so full brake would only make a difference if you set it higher then the max brake.
Got it !
__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 09:35 AM   #1734
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slideaway View Post
Any constructive/objective comments about these settings are warm welcome.
I used these parameters in Mod Class, lipo 2S, 4.5 Star, rubber tires, 7.5 FR, at RC Addict (same track as the late TITC in Bangkok, Thailand).

Thanks
I have things slightly different (start amps lower, frequency lower)
Lipo discharge is set to 4000, is that the capacity of your battery or have you just not changed it ?
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 03:55 PM   #1735
Tech Adept
 
Slideaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sinceny, France or Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
I have things slightly different (start amps lower, frequency lower)
Lipo discharge is set to 4000, is that the capacity of your battery or have you just not changed it ?
Ok about the Start Amp and Frequency, will give it a try.
About the 4000mAh, nope, it is not the capacity of my batteries (I run 5400).
I didn't set this value. Actually, after a 5 or 6 minutes run, when I recharge the batteriy, it takes around 2400mAh to be full again. Anyway, I never run more than 6 minutes for safety reason.
__________________
Ludo
Thai Ride Tech Support.
Slideaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:31 AM   #1736
Tech Adept
 
JonboyGB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Hi all,

Some of the clubs here in the UK are starting to run 'Truestock' classes in 13.5 and 17.5. ie, no advanced timing or turbo effects allowed.

On my GM90 2010 the last four modes are for timing (6-9), is mode 5 then with no timing? If not, is it possible to run my GM in these classes or am I going to have to find an alternative?

Cheers ears.
__________________
www.zen-racing.co.uk
JonboyGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:39 AM   #1737
Tech Adept
 
*SBH*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 139
Default

Hi Jonboy
If You update the software to the newest version 12,4 there is a setting without advanced timing and the LED in the speedo will blink. (It was installed in version 11,9)
Mode 4 and 5 should be without timing as far as I read
*SBH* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:48 AM   #1738
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

as far as zero timing i'd say
reserved = 0
reserved2 = 0
reserved4= 0

then all timing options are off.
with the new software the led should blink in neutral.

careful with modes 4 and 5 as the default settings have a reverse activated!
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 03:21 PM   #1739
Tech Adept
 
JonboyGB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Cool, cheers SBH and Tomracing.
__________________
www.zen-racing.co.uk
JonboyGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:00 PM   #1740
Tech Adept
 
JonboyGB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMMRC/KevinK View Post
Hi I am a member of Mendip(Weston Supermare,UK) which is a large out door asphalt track with a main straight of about 70 meters long and I need some help on what settings I should be using with my GM 90 2010 PRO speed controller as Iam new to electric raceing as i normaly race 1/10th nitro touring.
I am running a GM 10.5 motor and am running with standard internal gearing(1.9) on a Xray T3 and the problems I am getting is that the motor is fine for about two minutes of a five minute run (good acceleration and good top speed) them the motor seems to loose a bit of power. The motor dose seem a little warm when it comes off track after five minutes. I have tried different 64dp gear ratios and cannot get the motor to run consistently for full five minutes could anyone give any advice on what settings for speed controller and what gearing would be a good starting point to try and solve my problem.

Hiya, I race at Kemble, similar-ish size track to Mendip I think (not raced at your track yet). I've got a GM90 2010 with this years GM 10.5 motor. Settings are on standard mode 9 only. Not played with anything else. Gearing is on 6.8. Car absolutely flies and the motor comes off between 60 and 70 degrees C whixh is fine. Never had any drop off in power - I use Demon Power 5000 40C lipo's.
__________________
www.zen-racing.co.uk
JonboyGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net