R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2007, 01:46 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

had a blast today at the regional champs.

Car was hauling and i had a good few tight dices.
Got a 3rd in the Amain for 27T.

car is getting dialed in.
Still have a few things to tweek and some batteries then its bumper to bumper racing.
I found the CO27 to be perfect at our track at a 28mm roll out while the fast guys ahead of me were running 27mm and 27.5mm.
Thanks for some of the advice and big shout out to QuickRC
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 02:31 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a F8 hauler bag
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I have to agree that testing the amp draw of a motor with no load is useless. I was running a co27 with F-brushes for a while, and it was pulling about 8 amps with no load. I just switched the same motor over to 767 brushes, and I am now down to 4 amps no load. However the motor seemed a little faster on the track. It really comes down to how the motor performs on the track.
TimV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 03:23 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimV View Post
I have to agree that testing the amp draw of a motor with no load is useless. I was running a co27 with F-brushes for a while, and it was pulling about 8 amps with no load. I just switched the same motor over to 767 brushes, and I am now down to 4 amps no load. However the motor seemed a little faster on the track. It really comes down to how the motor performs on the track.
agreed
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 10:24 PM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey I know I should place this in the reg Stock motor thread. but I just finished reading this, and oh well.

My question is this. How much float should a co-27 have. I heard somepeople say very little. some say's I should have some as it will naturally float in the magnetic feild. I'm still learning how to properly shim my motors. So anyhelp would be great.

Oh one other what is the best way to break in a set of brushes.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 10:12 AM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

.010" or less without binding.

You can shim a motor middle, up, or down in the magnetic field for different results.
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 07:26 AM   #21
Tech Apprentice
 
QuickRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrrus View Post
Hey I know I should place this in the reg Stock motor thread. but I just finished reading this, and oh well.

My question is this. How much float should a co-27 have. I heard somepeople say very little. some say's I should have some as it will naturally float in the magnetic feild. I'm still learning how to properly shim my motors. So anyhelp would be great.

Oh one other what is the best way to break in a set of brushes.
.010" or less is what you want for axial play like Desolas memntioned. If you can be right around .005" that is probably ideal since it leaves a little wiggle room but keeps the armature in place so the brushes can seat consistently in the same spot.

For break-in of brushes I personally run a 1volt, then 2 volt alternating cycle for 2 minutes, cool for 2 minutes then repeat the 1 and 2 volt cycle again for 2 minutes. I then run the motor at 5 volts for a short period of time - say 15 seconds to get an ideal of how the motor is revving and ampdraw. I let the motor cool completely then put it back on a motor checker and run at 2.5 volts and watch amp draw go up and when it is peoked out I call the brushes seated. This is just MY method and it is a little tedious but it works. The main thing is to not let the motor get hot and be sure to break in at a low voltage for at least 3 minutes - probably more. What you are doing is letting the brushes gently wear in to the shape of the comm.
__________________
Brad
www.QuickRC.com
QuickRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice needed... IanWright Electric Off-Road 34 09-09-2008 12:52 PM
Help and advice needed ajac Australian Racing 4 12-30-2007 04:17 PM
Motor Brush Advice gaza121 Electric On-Road 0 12-10-2006 10:05 PM
Need brush and comm advice fordman86 Electric Off-Road 6 11-21-2006 03:34 PM
Brush & Spring combo for CO27 For A T4 RED-LINE M03 Electric Off-Road 8 08-26-2006 02:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net