Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TA tc4 new, with problem? >

TA tc4 new, with problem?

TA tc4 new, with problem?

Old 08-15-2007, 07:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default TA tc4 new, with problem?

ok so i picked up a TA TC4 today, it was a RTR kit which is my first RTR kit, i usually build my own, so i set it all up and get the batteries all charged up and nothing, it moves but its slow as dirty... any ideas? new batteries that are new? maybe a 7 cell instead of a 6? thow some ideas out there for me... thanks

sry im a noooob
zx360 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

7 cell wont help. it should be plenty fast out of the box but i guess it depends on your definition of "slow as dirt"
or8ital is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:06 PM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

i mean i have bad knees and can crawl faster then the car moves..... maybe the old battery packs are just dead?
zx360 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

probably your batteries... get new ones
RCpurplecow is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

thats the plan for tomorrow, suggestions on a good long lasting battery???

here are some pics of the car... also anyone know where to get a ford focus body for the 1/10 scale car?







zx360 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:07 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (85)
 
leerjet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plover, WI USA, Planet Earth
Posts: 1,842
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zx360 View Post
thats the plan for tomorrow, suggestions on a good long lasting battery???

here are some pics of the car... also anyone know where to get a ford focus body for the 1/10 scale car?
IB4200WC are the newest cells.
Here is your body; http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMX00&P=7
See you sat. if you come out to Galaxy hobby racing.
Larry.
leerjet1 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:07 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

awesome, will that 200mm body fit my 190mm electric tho? i may have to stop by sat for the races if the car gets running
zx360 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 06:46 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

One of the Orion Lipo batteries are your best bet if you have a charger for them and if the place you race (if you race) allows them.
or8ital is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 08:14 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

i got 2 dyna-fun 2400 2400mAh 6cell Ni-Cd hi cap pack batteries by dynamite... guy said they were the best he had and would power the hell out of my car, so far ive charged them both and the car moves about 5 feet and dies.... :-(
zx360 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 10:03 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmm maybe check the brushes on the motor and make sure they are sitting right on the comm.

Maybe post a close up of the electronics so we can see if there is anything miswired.

Dunno...
or8ital is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 10:48 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (100)
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Far away from Covid19 but close to 20
Posts: 4,107
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

agree with orbital..
check the brushes first
then maybe the speedo or any shorted wires...

if the batteries are shot...dropping another pack should be easy enough...
if you don't have one...go to the LHS hopefully they should have a practice pack or similar they can just hook up to check

good luck...sure it will be an easy fix.
olhipster1 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:13 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,402
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

well before the 5 ft and dies comment i was going to say to check your controller settings. theres a high and low throttle setting for beginners to get the hang of the car.

that said the stock motor isnt bad but my new 14x2 serpintine motor is pretty nice
mkiiina is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:46 AM
  #13  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (-1)
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Basically the same as what happened with mine!
I e-mailed Team Associated and they told me what was wrong!
They sent out some cars with the kit motors that only had one capacitor so basically the car would just start off fats then in about 5-10 feet it would look like it was glitching and just die, post up a picture of your motor at all angles, endbell and top and bottom side of the motor, or if you know what the capacitors are then just check yourself haha!

There should be three capacitors on the motor if there is less then thats your problem!
Tucker101 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.