Xray T2'008

Reply

Old 12-28-2008, 08:02 PM
  #1696  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 245
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I ran my new 008 for the first time today (17.5 foam carpet)

I was having odd handling problems and it turns out that the rear shock were maxing out before the droop set screw would hit the chassis. Not by too much but enough to effect the setup.

My friend has the 007 and it has longer rear shock body. My 008 manual leads me to believe all four shocks are the same size now, even the shock shafts. I unscrewed the ball cups on the shock shaft a little but I rather not compromise the shock ends when I think there should be another solution.

Any suggestions????
seabass2500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 10:27 PM
  #1697  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you running adjustable pinions?
adamge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 10:45 PM
  #1698  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by seabass2500 View Post
I ran my new 008 for the first time today (17.5 foam carpet)

I was having odd handling problems and it turns out that the rear shock were maxing out before the droop set screw would hit the chassis. Not by too much but enough to effect the setup.

My friend has the 007 and it has longer rear shock body. My 008 manual leads me to believe all four shocks are the same size now, even the shock shafts. I unscrewed the ball cups on the shock shaft a little but I rather not compromise the shock ends when I think there should be another solution.

Any suggestions????
I emailed Paul L. about this exact issue last year. He orients his shocks so that the locating dog on the adjustable piston drops into the recess in the shock body when fully extended. He also suggested to unthread the shaft ends a bit to get the travel you need. I made the changes and it gave me enough to run my foams to 56mm. Hope this helps.
pcar951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:29 PM
  #1699  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 245
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info

i'll give it a try
seabass2500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 06:44 PM
  #1700  
Tech Adept
 
RC Huligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 181
Default

Originally Posted by ultegrasti View Post
any1 know if the fella on ebay thats sellin 008s 400 obo legit, with all these fake/copy stuff goin on?
I don't know about the eBay guy specifically, but RC America reduced the dealer cost on the T2'008 so they can empty their inventory. If he is just reselling those kits from RC America he's not making anything. Maybe he's a dealer just unloading stock.

Update: I completely forgot to mention that the new dealer price is $400.

Last edited by RC Huligan; 12-31-2008 at 05:22 AM. Reason: I'm an idiot.
RC Huligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:33 PM
  #1701  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,324
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Akhor View Post
I've got what I think is a weird problem.

It seems as though the inside of my pinion (Part on the pinion where the lock nut is tightened down rubs against my drive belt.

Obviously this causes excessive wear on the belt. So I can only get a few races out of them. I've tried re-positioning the motor, but no luck. In order for the right mesh, it has to be where it is.

I'm running a brushed motor with the 2.375 (20 inside pully).

Any ideas?
FYI, apparently this is because of the 2.375 gear ratio. Supposidly if I change to the 1.7 this will no longer be an issue.
Akhor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:54 PM
  #1702  
Tech Apprentice
 
RielTime Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by Akhor View Post
FYI, apparently this is because of the 2.375 gear ratio. Supposidly if I change to the 1.7 this will no longer be an issue.
What are your thoughts or opionions on the topic of gearbox ratio's http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...ox-ratios.html
RielTime Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 01:00 PM
  #1703  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Need some quick info.

I have a 008 EU rubber spec 6 cell on its way to me. I will need to be around a 4.2-4.7 FDR. My understanding is this car will have the 2.3XXX ratio???

Can I get to the FDR I want with this, or am I going to need to change to 1.7?

Do I need to change belts if I change ratio, or do they still fit?

I will get time to read through this whole thread in the next few days and probably find the info, but I would like to get the parts ordered ASAP if I'm going to need them.

Any help would be appreciated.
Stetler17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 01:16 PM
  #1704  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

It will be much easier for you to reach that FDR with the 1.7 ratio.

To change the ratio you need to change the layshaft pullies and the diff/spool pullies... the belts are the same.

Originally Posted by Stetler17 View Post
Need some quick info.

I have a 008 EU rubber spec 6 cell on its way to me. I will need to be around a 4.2-4.7 FDR. My understanding is this car will have the 2.3XXX ratio???

Can I get to the FDR I want with this, or am I going to need to change to 1.7?

Do I need to change belts if I change ratio, or do they still fit?

I will get time to read through this whole thread in the next few days and probably find the info, but I would like to get the parts ordered ASAP if I'm going to need them.

Any help would be appreciated.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 03:13 PM
  #1705  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
ToysRUsKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cinncinati, OH
Posts: 2,621
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
It will be much easier for you to reach that FDR with the 1.7 ratio.

To change the ratio you need to change the layshaft pullies and the diff/spool pullies... the belts are the same.
Rear belt doesn't fit from 38T to 34T. Front belt is the same.
ToysRUsKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:25 PM
  #1706  
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 903
Default

For the belts to fit you have to change both the layshaft pully and the diff pully. You can only run the combination of 16/38 (2.375) or 20/34 (1.7), not a 20/38 (1.9)...
RobS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:38 PM
  #1707  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
corney_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i just got a 008 5 cell and want to run lipos just want to know wat is needed to do so
cheers steve
corney_01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:41 PM
  #1708  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It will depend largely on which LiPo pack you want to run in the car?

Some will fit without modifications, others will require shimming, etc...
ChrisP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:45 PM
  #1709  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
Green Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Coast
Posts: 910
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

im looking at the intellect 5000 lipos
Green Machine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:51 PM
  #1710  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
corney_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

sorry wrong profile but yer intellect 5000
corney_01 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service