R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2003, 07:15 AM   #16
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Grizzbob
To be honest I'm not sure if it's just hype or not, but I do know this...I have destroyed one pack of GP3300's & nearly killed another(both less than a month old, maybe 10 runs or less on each) on mine when the thing for some some reason decided to not stop charging, & this was on the regular "P"(or P1 on mine) mode. It is possible that this is what the newest firmware can help prevent, but I don't know for sure....
which firmware do you have?
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 08:11 PM   #17
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Mine has h27...
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 08:33 AM   #18
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

well, according to the people with H26 and above, you should be OK.

I have the E23 so I need to update mine, I'm surprised I haven't blown a cell or 2
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 09:27 AM   #19
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

I got H28, and it charges nimh fine. everything from my mobile phone battery to those AA ones in my trannie.

thanks for the kind words about my website mike

sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 09:32 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have H28, the sticker on the box says it's suits NiMH just fine.

A friend of mine has a BC112A that has only one P mode (P0 or P1, i'm not sure but the P choice is only one ) (only one choice )

Anyway, I'm curious as to what version his charger is. He's not using it anymore and I'm too shy to ask him to go looking for it.

rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 11:13 AM   #21
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

The one that I have, BC112A, with the E23 firmware has PF, P1, P2. P3 and CS. When it's upgraded it'll only have P0, P2 and CS. P0 is for NIMH batteries, according to what Jose told me at Express Tech.

Sanj, no problem, it's very informative
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 11:54 AM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
JohnnyRotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 63
Default

Hi I have a 112a with H28 , profiles P P2 CS.

this charger give me false peaks on every charge, on every pack


Last edited by JohnnyRotten; 09-08-2003 at 10:38 AM.
JohnnyRotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 12:14 PM   #23
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnnyRotten
Hi I have a 112a with H28 , profiles P P2 CS.

this charger give me false peaks on every charge, on every pack,

whether it is nicad/nimh . quite hopeless
I've never had any problems with mine false peaking, but then again I don't have the new firmware either.

Do you have the AC version? How old or new are your packs. What's the settings on your charger when your getting false peaks?
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 01:19 PM   #24
Tech Apprentice
 
JohnnyRotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 63
Default

112a DC


all profiles false peaks , p p1 cs , pf1 pf2 pf3


batts are 1 week old , 1 month , few months and years.
JohnnyRotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:06 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rough512
I have H28, the sticker on the box says it's suits NiMH just fine.

A friend of mine has a BC112A that has only one P mode (P0 or P1, i'm not sure but the P choice is only one ) (only one choice )

Anyway, I'm curious as to what version his charger is. He's not using it anymore and I'm too shy to ask him to go looking for it.

I have H31, I just checked this morning.

rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 09:46 PM   #26
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

Hi Mike F

Do u know the difference between H30 and H31?

Thanks/Loman


I have both 112a with h30 and h31, work fine on 5-6Amp charge my GP3300 by P0 mode with Power Flex PF1 and just little warm after charging complete so that I don't think this charger will get hurt to batteries. Besides, I used same cell to test by two difference charger 112a h31 and pulsar , the 10A discharge result as below:

112a : Averge Vol 7.14, time 1015s, IR 6cell 30moh
Pulsar : Averge Vol 7.09, time 1076s, IR 6cell 30moh

you can see the 112a can let cell more punch output but less time , the IR has no increase compare with pulsar.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 06:17 AM   #27
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnnyRotten
112a DC


all profiles false peaks , p p1 cs , pf1 pf2 pf3


batts are 1 week old , 1 month , few months and years.
That's is very strange. Have you tried to send it to Express Tech or have you just given up on the charger?
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 06:21 AM   #28
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Loman
Hi Mike F

Do u know the difference between H30 and H31?

Thanks/Loman
No but I can find out if you like. Jose at ExpressTech just mentioned that the H31 is the latest software that Tekin released.

Quote:
I have both 112a with h30 and h31, work fine on 5-6Amp charge my GP3300 by P0 mode with Power Flex PF1 and just little warm after charging complete so that I don't think this charger will get hurt to batteries. Besides, I used same cell to test by two difference charger 112a h31 and pulsar , the 10A discharge result as below:
Power flex? Is that not used for NICAD's only? I thought str8t linear charge was to be used for NIMH only? Maybe I misunderstood what powerflex really is.
Quote:
112a : Averge Vol 7.14, time 1015s, IR 6cell 30moh
Pulsar : Averge Vol 7.09, time 1076s, IR 6cell 30moh

you can see the 112a can let cell more punch output but less time , the IR has no increase compare with pulsar.
I'll take more punch over run time anyday, just as long as I can get 5 minutes .

It's amazing so see a charger this old performing this good. Tekin was ahead of the game when they made these chargers.
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 05:40 PM   #29
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No Mike, flex charging is definitely NOT a good idea for NiMh's, it may not really hurt them, but it will at least limit their performance. As you originally thought, the best way to charge them is with a linear charge mode. Oh, & to clarify something about my overcharging incidents, I did notice that ProMatch(whom I bought those packs from) did mention that in their early life, a charger MIGHT miss the peak & try to overcharge a pack(applies to most any charger, not just a Tekin BC112 series), & to keep an eye on them for awhile(which you can't always do, of course, that's why I toasted one & got close to killing another)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 08:01 PM   #30
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike F
No but I can find out if you like. Jose at ExpressTech just mentioned that the H31 is the latest software that Tekin released.
Thanks for your help.

U can see the power flex charging methord fm the latest 112a manual . they said u can turn on the PF1 to charge NIMH. In fact, I have no problem by this way for my GP3300(4pack match cells, average vol 1.14x) many times and get very good performance for completed 10min stock & 8min modify racing.(there are my charger : turbo35,pulsar,yokomoBCS,millPro) If any one have the h31version, I suggest u charge NIMH cells by PF1 , P0mode over 3-4times fully charging, u may be feeling the punch increase I hope.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~~!!Near New TEKIN BC 112A CHARGER for sale!!~~ fadedmindz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-07-2008 09:47 PM
Tekin BC 112A question oldschool rcr Electric On-Road 4 02-05-2007 04:50 AM
Novak Cyclone ESC, Tekin 112a Charger, Excellent sbales R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-04-2007 02:56 AM
Tekin 112c and 112A Chargers doug57013 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 02-15-2004 06:46 PM
WTB: Tekin BC-112A Loman R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-03-2003 06:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net