R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2003, 07:03 PM   #1
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default P2K arm in a P2K2 can?

Does anyone know if the P2K2 and P2K have different can designs? I'd like to know if I'll be able to switch out armatures from my K2 with a P2K instead for better torque.
Thanks!
dux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 07:08 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

No the p2k2 and the p2k have the same can, just different color.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:06 PM   #3
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default

Great! Thank you very much.
dux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:18 PM   #4
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

FYI: not legal for racing.....
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:31 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

what fyi????

stupid question..
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 10:06 PM   #6
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default

What happend did you lose your P2K2 can or something?
R C king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 05:36 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Robertw321's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Parma, Ohio
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
what fyi????


FYI = for your information
__________________
Bob Williams
Robertw321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 05:46 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default

The way I understand it, the ONLY differfence between a P2K and a P2K2 is the arm has less laminations making it lighter and more RPM because of that. It gives up some torque because of less steel in the arm.


David Root
David Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 09:02 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

why is it ilegal will it make it faster?
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 10:08 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

in most races, putting a different brand or type of armature in a stock can is illegal. if you have to replace your armature, it has to be the exact brand and type that you had (mvp armature on mvp can, p2k2 armature on p2k2 can, and so on)
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 01:44 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Right, the rule is intended to prevent a bunch of hybrid combos like say an MVP arm in a P2K can, or other odd combos, but it does also apply to motors within one company's designs(like the P2K, P2K 2, GM3 & the Monster), even though using say, a Monster arm in a P2K can won't really make a noticable difference(it should still run like whatever arm you're using). It's just a way to be fair to everyone....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 01:47 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

ok....

i didnt know it was illegal and that you can even do that
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 04:24 PM   #13
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default

The reason I asked is because I'm getting a P2K2 (for touring) and would like to be able to use a P2K arm (for offroad).
dux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:13 PM   #14
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

That's funny..like they would ever know,ever been through a Roar or Norrca tech?They dont have the time to start checking for minor stuff like that,I think they are looking for..say a 19wind in a stock can.I would think that a minor "mistake" such as that would not matter much.I have been to alot of Roar and Norrca "big" races and have never seen them catch anything motor wise.But it must really suck to be that racer that needs to cheat to win.I mean whats the point in a win that you got by cheating.I would rather lose and play it straight than cheat and win.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 12:24 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

19t arms dont work well in "stock" cans. The arms are wound differently from 19t to ROAR stock. if you make one, then you have to reverse the wires for power. + red cable to - terminal, and - blue cable to + terminal. The difference is how the wire is wrapped at the comm. A hemispherical versus cross wind changes the direction the motor turns.
dsrbltoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P2K2 Pro and P2K2 motors - CHEAP! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-03-2006 04:35 PM
Like new Novak Dually, P2K2 and P2K2 Pro - CHEAP !! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-02-2006 04:20 PM
Can MC230 esc be used for P2K2? KillWency Electric On-Road 3 07-13-2005 08:42 PM
Never Buyin A P2k2 again LosiRacerX Electric On-Road 19 11-03-2004 01:36 PM
Tc3 Gearing With A P2k2 J.A.G Electric On-Road 2 03-12-2003 09:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:24 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net