Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
novak gtb esc false temp shutdown >

novak gtb esc false temp shutdown

novak gtb esc false temp shutdown

Old 08-05-2007, 12:12 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default novak gtb esc false temp shutdown

i have a novak gtb esc that shut down at 12-130 f , i have tried two diffrent motors on this esc but same shit happens . any who know if i can turn off the temp sensor on the esc
tomin is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:14 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Get the Novak black fan

My Novak fan (the stocker that came with it) is missing a tooth and basically, is on its last legs. For the first time, I thermalled! It happened at 136 degress. I am running a taller gear ratio (9.375) on a 3.5, but I wanted blistering speeds (thank you car action speed run!). If your ratio is tooo tall for your motor, expect thermals. I read on another post somewhere, that the Novak black fan is much stronger, lessening chances of thermals on the speedo. In addition, cut a hole or two in the body (like nitro) to get that extra cooling. I ran a body with no holes, taller gearing and I thermalled...everything that is against my grain...but I had to try it. And if anyone wants to know, my motor hit 136 degrees...well into its safe zone.
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:01 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

did a little test now and the esc dont shutdown with my 4.5 motor , and the 3.5 motors dont shutdown with my 4.5 esc
tomin is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:34 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tomin View Post
did a little test now and the esc dont shutdown with my 4.5 motor , and the 3.5 motors dont shutdown with my 4.5 esc
WHAT????
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:51 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

..so if we read that right - you have 2 systems.

One GTB w/ a 3.5 and one GTB with a 4.5

You switched the motors, and used them with the other speed controls and the problems didn't occur? (Wa- La - sounds like you fixed it)

Could there have been something...from ESC Mounting or gear MESH causing the original combination to generate too much heat prematurely?
SWTour is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.