New Battery

Old 08-03-2007, 04:51 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Default New Battery

Hi all, I am new to battery. May I know what is best method to brake-in new battery. I am palnning to do as cycle the battery for 5 times with 0.2a charger and 0.2a discharge. Do this method good enough or you have any good method to advise me. By the way, the new battery need to discharge 1st or charge 1st? Thanks.
Old 08-03-2007, 06:32 AM
Tech Apprentice

equilize, charge 5amps, run it on the track fpr 5mins, then equilize.
Old 08-03-2007, 06:36 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Lipo or Nimh?

For Nimh, use an equalizing tray to discharge the pack so that each cell reaches .9v/cell, then peak at 6.5 amps and run. When the car gets slow, put the battery back on the tray down to .9v/cell, let cool, then charge again. Cycling batteries only serves to decrease it's useful race life.

Lipo, you need to pray to the voodoo gods and bless with some bat blood and nat ass hair mixture, combined with an Indian rain dance... Actually, I will let those with Lipo's answer that question.
Old 08-03-2007, 07:25 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by timmay70
Lipo or Nimh?

For Nimh, use an equalizing tray to discharge the pack so that each cell reaches .9v/cell, then peak at 6.5 amps and run. When the car gets slow, put the battery back on the tray down to .9v/cell, let cool, then charge again. Cycling batteries only serves to decrease it's useful race life.

Lipo, you need to pray to the voodoo gods and bless with some bat blood and nat ass hair mixture, combined with an Indian rain dance... Actually, I will let those with Lipo's answer that question.
Hi, I am sorry that I not mention what type of battery. Actually is Ni-Mh AA size battery for my Tx. I only have Ripmax Prodigy II charger. I will charger 8 battery per time. Please advise and thanks.
Old 08-03-2007, 08:53 AM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by tkhoo