R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2007, 04:17 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default spektrum pro vs old

is there really that big of a difference? i know people talk about lag but can u really feel it between the two systems? i currently have a pro system but i was looking into getting another rx for my other car. i would like to hear some options and personal exp between the two systems. thanks for your time.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 05:15 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,232
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

The majority of us cannot notice the differance in the two. A while back there was a latency generator posted (I think it was in "Ask The Eviceratior" thread) and even trying time after time our reflexes were not fast enough to come within the tolerance differance. I rarely came within the tolerance. I have two radios. One with pro series and one with second generation module and I can't notice the differance. I hear the first generation modules were the slow ones. Second and third are suppose to be fine. Hope this helps.
__________________
RC America - Xray - Hudy - Gravity RC - KO Propo - Super Rad Graphics

Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 05:32 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

thanks, so the second gen is the 3500 micro? just wanna make sure i know what i am getting. i know the pros have the clear case.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:35 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

The micro rx has the same latency as the Pro rx I believe.

I can't comment on the difference between the two Spektrums myself, but I do know someone who's been racing for a very long time and he got Spektrum straight away when it came out, and then the Pro when this came out. He was astounded at the difference, but as mentioned above it seems he must have had the 1st gen system.

I have recently upgraded to Spektrum at the same time as getting a new transmitter, and I noticed a quicker response between the two. (Used to have a KO Esprit II and now have the Esprit III).
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 07:29 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Differences between the Original Spektrum Systems (grey cases) and the Pro Series Equipment:

When speaking of Pro Series Equipment, I am talking about the Pro Series modules with the smoked cases, SR3001 receiver and the SR3500 Micro receiver.

The SR3001 and SR3500 receivers feature a conformal coating on the circuit boards. This aids in making them fuel proof and water resistant

The Pro Series equipment features reduced latency

The SR3500 features a wider operating voltage range, eliminating many BEC issues that would have required use of the SPM1600 Voltage Protector

The Pro Series Equipment all feature smoked translucent cases while the Original Series gear has solid grey cases.

The Pro Series equipment has updated firmware to prevent ESD shutdown issues. Original SR3000 receivers that were purchased after May of 2006 have this firmware as well.

The SR3000 and SR3001 are both compatible with the Spektrum Telemetry Modules, the SR3500 is not.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:15 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,232
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898 View Post
thanks, so the second gen is the 3500 micro? just wanna make sure i know what i am getting. i know the pros have the clear case.
No, that's not the case. The 1st and 2nd (#3000) generation are identical and appearance. They differ in software. I believe you can count the blinking on the receiver when you first turn it on. You have to watch real close though. The 2 blinks happen fast.

NO blinks--------------1st gen
2 quick blinks----------2nd gen
continuious blinking----3rd gen

I was told that when you have the first generation receivers you can notice the latency between that and 2nd generation. If you have 1st generation. You should update. 2nd and 3rd generation you'll be fine.

The pro and the micro have newer firmware, software, and are coated to make them fuel proof as RCGaryK stated. Everything else stated by RCGaryK pretty much covers the spektrum receivers.

Hope this helps clear it up a bit.
__________________
RC America - Xray - Hudy - Gravity RC - KO Propo - Super Rad Graphics

Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 01:13 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 393
Default

I'm currently on the old spektrum module and using a mix of old and new(smoked) receivers without problems.
Will I be able to use the pro module with the older receivers?
diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 01:15 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel View Post
I'm currently on the old spektrum module and using a mix of old and new(smoked) receivers without problems.
Will I be able to use the pro module with the older receivers?
Yes, the Original and Pro series equipment are compatible with each other.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:52 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
tenpins77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in a house
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tenpins77
Default an answer

hey, i had the standard grey one that came with my dx2. The Case literally melted cauz of the contact cleaner i was using. Heard the new smoked case had a better coating on it. Went BL and got the pro case, just cause all the kool people have it! thats unfourtunately why i bought most of the higher end stuff!

Did notice it takes a bit longer to get the transponder to conncect with the reciever
tenpins77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 03:16 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

hey frank, talking with the local pro at TRCR, he told me he doesn't need to be told which specktrum system is in the car, HE can tell by driving it.

he also said, there is a difference in the standard size pro and the mini size pro. but not as much as between the old and new models. I bought the pro version for the ko radio right before nationals, I could not tell a difference in the pro version and the ko stuff.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 04:38 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratus Racer View Post
NO blinks--------------1st gen
2 quick blinks----------2nd gen
continuious blinking----3rd gen
Whats it mean if you have one blink and then constant green?
dynamic_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 07:59 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamic_e View Post
Whats it mean if you have one blink and then constant green?
Check to make sure the polarity on the esc lead is correct
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:21 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Another version...

In between the original and Pro versions, there was a software upgrade to the original TX/RX modules that Matt of Spektrum did for me last year at the Carpet Nationals.

That upgrade was noticeable faster because my turn-in was initially quicker after the change.

I still upgraded to the Pro version to get the bigger BEC.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3PKS - Lipo Tx Pack - Spektrum Module - Spektrum Micro Pro Reciever - Case racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-20-2008 09:42 AM
HUGE SALE TONS TC5, Novak Speak Spektrum GTB 13.5, Spektrum Pro, AMB Transponder + mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-08-2008 03:11 PM
Electronics For Sale: M11/Spektrum, Spektrum Micro RX, Futaba Synth etc. johnnyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-30-2007 08:17 AM
swap ko propo helios radio with spektrum pro for 3pk super with spektrum pro willabong Australia Wanted to Buy 0 04-01-2007 05:39 AM
Spektrum receiver...Spektrum 590 Servo...PCR Temp gun...CRT Roto start... SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-22-2006 09:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net