R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2007, 12:07 PM   #31
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default

One more question.... I have an Intellect 3600 mAh battery pack and there is plastic covering it with the sticker on top of that... am I supposed to leave the plastic wrap on?

thanks ;]
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 12:25 PM   #32
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

can you describe the part? I don't have a manual...

Whatever you do, try to avoid stripping screws... it's never good.

There are some screws that will do that, but do not worry so much if it is something like the screw that holds the shocks on. Those sometimes do not screw in all the way for me.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 01:03 PM   #33
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooshu Beef View Post
can you describe the part? I don't have a manual...

Whatever you do, try to avoid stripping screws... it's never good.

There are some screws that will do that, but do not worry so much if it is something like the screw that holds the shocks on. Those sometimes do not screw in all the way for me.
I'll do one better and post a picture of the part! It's A4 and two MA2 screws go into it... it's at the front of the car.. it wiggles because it's loose and so I think the suspension will wiggle if it isn't tight!

The picture's attached
Attached Thumbnails
TT-01 not included parts-rc_01.jpg  
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 01:48 PM   #34
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Looks right... Did you use the correct screws? Double check the screw length.
BTW, careful how tight you go on those screws. Tamiya plastic can be weak and strips very very easy in some spots.
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 02:26 PM   #35
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minicooper View Post
Looks right... Did you use the correct screws? Double check the screw length.
BTW, careful how tight you go on those screws. Tamiya plastic can be weak and strips very very easy in some spots.
yep I used to correct screws... I'm scared... I really don't want to have to order more parts

so... it's called a "tapping screw" .. can/should I tap/hammer it in to make it tight??
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 02:38 PM   #36
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't...

That specific part doesn't really need to be screwed in for the arms to swing correctly. The length of that screw shouldn't be much longer than a centimeter. And no, do not use a hammer, haha

Again, do not worry about screwing them in tightly. You'll see that it still functions.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:13 PM   #37
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooshu Beef View Post
I wouldn't...

That specific part doesn't really need to be screwed in for the arms to swing correctly. The length of that screw shouldn't be much longer than a centimeter. And no, do not use a hammer, haha

Again, do not worry about screwing them in tightly. You'll see that it still functions.
lol phew.... you caught me before I was about to bust it!

okay I hope it works !! trust u
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 02:08 PM   #38
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default ANTENNA PIPE

back on topic... I'm at the point of finishing and I see they have Antenna Pipe on the diagram... but it's not included!!! how come? or is it? anyone know where I can get one from? or make it myself?
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 02:33 PM   #39
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Default

battlecat,

check the bottom of the box. mine rolled up under the lip at the bottom and I had to shake it loose. its clear and very hard to see, but its probably there. if not, u can buy one for about 50 cents at any hobby shop. u could probably run for awhile with the antennae wire just laying in the bottom of the tub, just be careful not to damage it until u can get a replacement tube.

my stock tires lasted 2 days, now i'm looking for replacements that come w/ foam inserts. maybe i can find somebody to tell me a good brand that lasts longer. premounted/glued would be cool, cause my glue skills r lame.
swannco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 02:51 PM   #40
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

HPI I hear are good, and they should come with foam inserts. I have also heard that pre mounted tires are crap...haha!

what are you running in your car? Glue might not be necessary, since not everyone uses it.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 03:32 PM   #41
Tech Initiate
 
battlecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swannco View Post
battlecat,

check the bottom of the box. mine rolled up under the lip at the bottom and I had to shake it loose. its clear and very hard to see, but its probably there. if not, u can buy one for about 50 cents at any hobby shop. u could probably run for awhile with the antennae wire just laying in the bottom of the tub, just be careful not to damage it until u can get a replacement tube.

my stock tires lasted 2 days, now i'm looking for replacements that come w/ foam inserts. maybe i can find somebody to tell me a good brand that lasts longer. premounted/glued would be cool, cause my glue skills r lame.
haha yeah I found it there.. good call

hmm 2 days for tires?? I just cemented them onto the rims kind of... is that okay for changing them? I guess I could rip em off ?

Let me know where you you buy your tires from... I also want quality tires!


_____________________________________

I have another problem!

I installed the servo and screwed it all in.. but I didn't read the part where it says the servo should be in neutral .. so I'm not sure if it is..

In my manual it says this:

"when yo uinstall a servo, always check to be sure the servo is at its neutral position. adjust the servo horn hole position and linkage (?) so both are parallel. when a servo saver is used, place it as close to center position as possible. be sure the steering trim on the transmitter is at the neutral position"

So... I don't really understand what Steering Trim is exactly.. but I guess my s.trim just needs to be calibrated correctly and it's easier if the servo is in the neutral position so I don't have to adjust my s.trim???


can someone explain how to test if my servo is set up correctly and if I don't need to unscrew it all and change it? thanks
battlecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 03:41 PM   #42
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooshu Beef View Post
HPI I hear are good, and they should come with foam inserts. I have also heard that pre mounted tires are crap...haha!

what are you running in your car? Glue might not be necessary, since not everyone uses it.
There are actually a few choices for premounted tires. They are however 24mm. TT-01 tires are 26mm. No big deal you could add 2mm worth of shims or buy a thicker wheel hub or just slap them on there and don't worry about it.
I like Take Off cs-27 premounted tires.
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 03:47 PM   #43
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

About your servo. Turn on your radio and center the adjustment controls/sliders/trims, then turn on your receiver, the servo should then return to its neutral/centered position, then install the servo saver per the instructions. the servo saver will probably not align 100 percent in line with what is pictured in the manual and that is okay. You will later trim that with your radio to get it centered.
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 04:25 PM   #44
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Check this out: http://www.rc411.com/pages/howto.php?howto=19&page=2
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 09:36 PM   #45
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Default

battlecat,

no big worries if u didn't get the servo centered exactly. u will have to read the directions, but u can usually just adjust it on the radio. if the wheels r pointing left, just adjust the trim on the radio to the right until it straightens out. this may slightly effect how far the wheel can turn, but its easier than tearing stuff apart. besides, there is a real good chance that it was in neutral to begin with, so i wouldn't worry. i usually end up having to adjust the trim after smacking the curb a few times anyway
swannco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT TC4 FOR SALE MANY PARTS INCLUDED RCpurplecow R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 11-11-2007 06:07 PM
Losi 8ight w/parts for sale. Pics Included Dustinkeys R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-21-2007 10:04 AM
Excellent! Like new Blade CP Pro (TONS of parts and upgrades included) truraza Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 3 06-18-2007 01:51 PM
FS: Electric sell out!!! plus hyper 7 PBS parts! pics included!!! xxx-ntad2 racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-16-2007 02:23 PM
RC12L4 Parts, Servo and Motor included UnderDaHill R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 05-02-2005 06:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net