R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2007, 05:09 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default 12 gauge or 14 gauge wiring?

Hi everyone...

I've been thinking lately about rewiring my car with 14 gauge wires. Most electronics these days are done with 12 gauge, but my old KO speedy had 14 gauge. I prefer the 14 gauge for general neatness, but if it's going to sacrifice overall performance, then I wont go down that road.

What are your thoughts? Any findings? any input?

Thanks in advance!

Shev
__________________
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
XRay T4... F104X1... M11X... SMC... FANTOM...
"fast.... but rough!"
http://www.actionrc.com.au
Shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 05:39 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

i went from 12 gauge to 14 gauge, and didnt notice any diff at all, i race in 27turn stock brushed, I think in mod it might make a diff since the more amp draw of the motors.



My theory for changing was based on the brushless sytems
as they all run 14 gauge and them still pull heaps of amps.

And if it was noticable i am sure the high end brushless systems would come with 12 gauge and not 14 gauge. correct?


also 14awg is lighter and easier to work with (providing you get the right brand)
, novak 14 gauge is called super flex but i think it is stiffer than deans 12 gauge.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:10 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
jo90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 125
Default

I think Losi asnwered this above. To be fair you could go to 12 if your using mod as it will certainly transfer the voltage better, but to the point where you simply would not notice it.

14 is just easier to install as well and I have always found a neat car is easier to work on if you get a fault.

check around the pits to with the top drivers, see what they are running to
__________________
Sponsored by SerpentUK, ModelTech & MTroniks

S400 / MTroniks IP6 / Team Brood / KO Propo = Loads of fun
jo90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 07:41 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

LRP's brushless system comes with 12ga.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:11 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

9 times out of 10, 14g will install easier and neater and perform flawlessly. I'd only use 12 for some crazy 14.4v tractor puller or something.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:56 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

There should be no noticeable difference in terms of performance between 12gauge and 14 gauge wiring.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:58 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used to use 12 gauge and switched to 14 when i went 5 cell to save weight.
With 5 cell didnt feel any difference, but with 6 cell and hot engines (3,5 and 4.5 BL) i did notice the wires got warm, wich didnt happen before.
Given this said, i didnt really felt any power loss.

For stock 12 gauge seems overkill to me.
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:20 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks everyone for your input. It's exactly what I thought... just thought it would be nice to have another opinion (or six!). Thanks again... 14 gauge it is! We'll see what happens from here!
__________________
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
XRay T4... F104X1... M11X... SMC... FANTOM...
"fast.... but rough!"
http://www.actionrc.com.au
Shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Camber Gauge , TOE , Ride Height GAUGE s13evo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 08-09-2008 04:44 AM
buying 2nd hand angle gauge, ride height gauge n board hachoo Singapore R/C Racers 1 05-20-2007 07:05 AM
Toe In/Out Gauge DNQ Singapore R/C Racers 10 08-04-2002 02:18 AM
MATT FRANCIS Set-up Board,Integy Droop Gauge&Hudy Ride Height Gauge olewarrior R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-23-2002 08:23 AM
Matt Francis Set-up Board,Integy Droop Gauge&Hudy Ride Height Gauge F/S olewarrior R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-26-2002 03:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net