3300s now 2800s

Reply

Old 04-29-2003, 01:47 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
warlord385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 237
Default 3300s now 2800s

my matched gp 3300s have went from 3300 to only 2800. I know this because my lrp pulsar charger tells me so. I've only had these batteries for two or three months so wuts up. Will cycling help???????

2. Any body use sanyo hv i was think of gettin some
warlord385 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 01:57 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
A little more info please

I have 3300s and have been expermenting with them and would like to know how you have taken care of them.

Thanks D. Root
David Root is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 02:09 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yes, cycling will help but not at the discharge rate of 10 amps that the pulsar has. If you have a buddy with a Turbo 35 or Quasar Pro ask him to help you cycle your packs.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 02:27 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
warlord385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 237
Default

Well i charge 5 amps 20mv delta peak-race them-discharge with the pulsart at 10amps 5.4V cut off-wait one week to race-charge the night before-peak at same charage rate before race. Hope this helps
warlord385 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 02:42 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Charging the night before can have a bad effect on NiMH's, I know it's often unaviodable, I do it myself a lot and have found my 3000's getting closer to 2400 into them. From checking around whilst looking for a new charger for myself I've found that it's probably best to leave your cells as they were afer racing, if you are racing again in a week or less, and then discharge the night before you race and if you can find the time charge the day of your race, maybe you have time to do your best set of cells whilst at the track so it's ready for a good run. 10A discharge doesn't seem to be very good either, but it's better than nothing. I think if you're going to spend a lot on cells then it's worth spending a lot on a charger, the reason I've decided to buy a Pro-Trak
Herminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 09:12 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
warlord385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 237
Default

do you think cycling will help bring them back up to par??
warlord385 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 10:17 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
foampervert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,419
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default erm question...

Salutations Earthlings!
you guys seem rather knowledgeable, so here goes....
-when you say it used to be 3300 and now is 2800, do you get this figure when you charge the pack or discharge the pack?

-i have an integy octane2 single cell discharger and it says to discharge for 168 hours,when i do this, the cells have 0 volts in them, is this fine?

your help in this matter is appreciated!
thanks a bunch!
-FP
foampervert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 10:52 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

You should not discharge NiMH batteries down to 0 volts. The Integy Octane discharger does not have a cutoff device built in so You should remove the cells when the light bulbs go off as soon as possible.

If you're using NiCd batteries then sure discharging to 0v is fine.
itchynads is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 01:21 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
warlord385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 237
Default

i get the 2800 reading on charging and discharging
warlord385 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 01:36 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

warlord:

What peak detect settings are you using for the batteries? If you set the peak too low it may reduce the amount of charge you can fit into the cells.
itchynads is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 03:13 AM
  #11  
BG
Tech Addict
 
BG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: OZ
Posts: 530
Default

A similar thing happened to me........i bought a few ready made packs and used a charger RC Line 250s on them. They were 2500Nimh.....The charger was only putting 1000mah in them, even when i discharged them completely at 5 amps......

So I went out and bought a new Eagle CDC 6B charger. Charged them up at 5 amps and still only took 1000mah.....So I discharged the pack at 20amps. That soon fixed them. The next charge was at peak. It pumped 2500mah at 5 amps with a 20mv peak. Mind you they are only used on a starter box.

They were brought back to life.......

Last edited by BG; 04-30-2003 at 03:45 AM.
BG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 03:42 AM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

warlord385,

I bought 4 packs of GP 3300's back in February from World Class.

I also use a LRP Pulsar charger in the same manner that you do.
Charge @ 5 amps w/ 10mv cutoff for 6 cell packs.
After the race I discharge them @ 30 amps to 5.4 volt cutoff.
I let them cool before I put them away for next week.

When I get to the track for the next week, I discharge them on my LRP @ 10 amps with there 5.4 cutoff.
Then I let them rest a little while before I charge them to race.
I've notice a small increase in my mah reading in the packs.
They range from 3400 to 3500 in one case.

If you go to the LRP site, they give examples of what there team drivers use for charging GP 3300's.
Which is the example I used above.
I have never false peaked on any pack done like this.
And I'm not losing any HP in stock this way.
I am not using any trays either.

Hope this helps.
Tracy
doorman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 06:25 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I get great results from my GP3300's. I discharge to 5.4V than tray them on a realtime 2 till the bulbs go dim. I then charge them on a quasar pro at 6.5 amps with 30 mV peak detection. I get 3700 mAH out of them at 9.15 peak volts and about 8.7 run time voltage. I run them when they're hot and then cool them before charging again. Good luck!
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 06:47 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 444
Default

you need to put them on a discharge tray to equalize the packs ,i've had the same problem after putting them on the tray (indi octane 2) till the lights almost go out has improved them greatly .
sportracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2003, 09:20 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
warlord385's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 237
Default

will any of this help bring my batteries back?
warlord385 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service