Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Whats better lrp 7.1, tekin g-12c, Or novak cyclone tc2 >

Whats better lrp 7.1, tekin g-12c, Or novak cyclone tc2

Whats better lrp 7.1, tekin g-12c, Or novak cyclone tc2

Old 07-17-2007, 05:16 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 41
Default Whats better lrp 7.1, tekin g-12c, Or novak cyclone tc2

Which is a better speed control?
berlincam86 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 10:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hara Twister 2.1 or 2.2 basically a KO VFS-1 compitition.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 03:59 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

if you can get a pit wizard, go for the cyclone TC2, lots of adjustments possible with this esc
marvi is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 04:50 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

if we limit the choices to the one's you've moentioned, i'd go with the cyclone tc2. aside from the adjustability of the profiles, novak are just so realiable. my 2 cents ...
ROBORAT is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 07:02 AM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 41
Default

Ok how bout ones i didnt mention? Im looking for the best one i can get speed wise. But i do like the durability too.
berlincam86 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 07:39 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
ray3619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: glendale az
Posts: 1,000
Default

looks like your looking for used ? whats it going in ? type of racing ? ray
ray3619 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 04:56 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 41
Default

yes im looking for used. Its going in a tc3. I just want the fastest and maybe the best durable wise. I know im asking alot but im just trying to find out what i can.As for racing i dont right now but maybe in the future.
berlincam86 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 05:50 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

The ESC is not going to effect your top speed so none of them are the fastest. Other then that it comes down to responsiveness and adjustability which really go hand in hand. All 3 are good ESCs but if I had to choose between the 3 I'd go with the Cyclone. I have 2 Atoms that have been through hell and back and still run very well.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:27 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

berlincam86,

Of the three you mentioned, my pick would be the Tekin. As has been said in this thread already, none of the three would have any speed advantage at full throttle, but having driven all three I am of the opinion that the Tekin has the most linear feel at partial throttle... I always found Tekins to haved a sweet driving feel, many other speed controls offer numerous adjustments to get the feel the way you like it, with the Tekin, I never felt the desire to change anything about the feel.

The fact that the Tekin does not require an external capacitor or schottky diode is another plus... but it is a bit on the large side compared to some tof the modern speed controls.

Bottom line... If it will fit in the car, I'd go with the Tekin. The G12c3 does fit into a TC3, I had one in mine.
Trips is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:42 PM
  #10  
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

Yeah... It looks like the guy wants a used speedo so don't give any crap on suggesting the newest and greatest esc...

I would go with the novak if you want to keep it inside a touring car running 6 cells. The tekin is smoother but didn't feel as punchy. (I had them both). I remember the tekin having some crazy specs (high cell count) so you can do weird things with it. And it has a solder fuse (tough sucker to kill). But just driving TC.... go for the novak.... Absolutely no problems ever with either...
TEM is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:59 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

With the pit wizard or PC interface you can get the Cyclone to feel as smooth if not more so as the Tekin. The pre-programmed profiles are setup for a bit more punch that most TC drivers like. But with the programmer you can adjust the drive frequency higher then pretty much anything out there even today to get a more smooth linear feel.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:09 PM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 41
Default

ok so as far as i understand now a speed control does not have any affect on top speed. Ok so whats the newest and greatest out there? I want to build the fastest car with 6 cells and i thought that the speed control had something to do with top speed. So i guess i can just use what i got then. I have the tekin in the car now and i won a lrp 7.1 on e-bay and its on the way. So i guess ill just use the one that i like as far as adjustability.
berlincam86 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:31 AM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
 
Jpelosi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Default

I have a LRP v7.1. I've been using it for the past 6 years or so. I've also had the Tekin. The 7.1 is a very sturdy unit but I feel that it lacks the punch of the Tekin. Plus the 7.1 is huge! It barely fits in my TC. I also don't like the fact that it's plated with a conductive material which can make it prone to static discharge. Don't get me wrong, it's a good speedo. If I wasn't happy with it I would have replaced it by now but I do think you can do a lot better for the money spent. I think they're still selling for $135.00 or so. The newest ones look really sweet. Where's that R1, Tekin?!!
Jim
Jpelosi is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:42 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hi,Jpelosi i think the 7.1 is discontinued and just got replace with 8.1

EngTat
EngTat is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:48 PM
  #15  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 41
Default

well i got the 7.1 for $40 on e-bay so i think i did good but now im thinking on selling it and getting something better.
berlincam86 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.