R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2007, 09:39 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default (quik response needed)LRP IPC V7.1 Motor supressing (caps) Q

Hey all,

I bought a LRP IPC 2day, and am stuck, b4 i even started.......i have a Integy Jettv8.0 (15x2 machine modded)

The ESC guide says i need to hook up 2 caps (capacitors) to the motor (1 from negative to ground(guessing??) and the other from positive to ground) but the motor has only got 1 hook thing...not 2.

do i have to get another hook and put it on the other side or will the motor work as efficiently with only 1....

cheers
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:44 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
ooliganRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Under that rock you just kicked over!!!!
Posts: 1,040
Send a message via MSN to ooliganRC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wog....supraman View Post
Hey all,

I bought a LRP IPC 2day, and am stuck, b4 i even started.......i have a Integy Jettv8.0 (15x2 machine modded)

The ESC guide says i need to hook up 2 caps (capacitors) to the motor (1 from negative to ground(guessing??) and the other from positive to ground) but the motor has only got 1 hook thing...not 2.

do i have to get another hook and put it on the other side or will the motor work as efficiently with only 1....

cheers
ok solder both to the tag (hook) on the endbell screws. the solder one to the pos+ and one to the neg-.

The Schokky diode need to be soldered to the motor pos and neg, with the silver band at the pos+.

then your sorted.

i wouldnt bother at first, try the motor and speedo with out the caps. a well looked after motor does cause interference.
ooliganRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:48 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ooliganRC View Post
ok solder both to the tag (hook) on the endbell screws. the solder one to the pos+ and one to the neg-.

The Schokky diode need to be soldered to the motor pos and neg, with the silver band at the pos+.

then your sorted.

i wouldnt bother at first, try the motor and speedo with out the caps. a well looked after motor does cause interference.
Yea i figured the schokky diode bit out.....soo just hook both caps to the same tag (hook)(thingy)....ok kool thanxs for the QUIK response
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:52 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 834
Default

Novak has a great webpage explanation for capacitors....

http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/h...aps/index.html

and for schottky diode installation....

http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/h...tky/index.html
Scrubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:58 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrubb View Post
Novak has a great webpage explanation for capacitors....

http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/h...aps/index.html

and for schottky diode installation....

http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/h...tky/index.html
Cracked, damaged, or missing motor capacitors must be replaced to avoid radio interference or possible speed control damage.????

Does this mean I NEED to run caps.......coz they only help reduce radio intereference???

so they arent really a NEED if u know wat i mean
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 10:09 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 834
Default

.
Scrubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 10:10 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 834
Default

I'm not going to tell you to run without them if your speed control instructions tell you to run with them. I've run without caps before, but the schottky is required.
Scrubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 10:44 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default

thanxs guys

i found a way to put the other tag on the endbell...so 2 caps are hookd up and the schokky is also on......time for the test now

cheers
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 11:00 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
Jpelosi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Default

So if I'm reading the Novak link above correctly, the Schocty Diode only helps keep the braking feature from being overloaded? Or will it also affect the speed control's overall performance? I've never quite understood the whole thing.
Jim
Jpelosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 11:37 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 834
Default

further information about the schottky diode from the novak site (the "more info" link at the bottom of the page....

http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/m...o/schottky.htm
Scrubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 12:49 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default

.

double post...soz
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 12:51 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
wog....supraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PERTH
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to wog....supraman
Default

wow...that "more info" link is REALLY informing.....from wat it says on the ESC users guides the Schottky diode increases the efficiency of the motor/ESC....and is only for use in a forward/brake only esc.


thanxs for the help guys....all works....havent tried it outside as it is 2:45am

but i will try it b4 work :P

Now all i gotta do is rice up my shell with plenty of LRP stickers.....have to find space on this shell first

remember if u c a guy driving a bunch of stickers on wheels, it is most probably me!!
wog....supraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caps and diodes 4 motor wog....supraman Electric On-Road 3 11-19-2007 12:52 AM
Quik Q bout my IB4200 wog....supraman Electric On-Road 13 10-15-2007 01:45 AM
Duratrax quik pit rotostart for Traxxas engines marojato R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 09-05-2007 07:53 AM
Motor Caps & Glitching Troubles....>>> NitroJohnnyD Electric On-Road 23 12-20-2003 12:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net